We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'small luxury hotel of the world'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #6 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“'small luxury hotel of the world'”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We've stayed in other hotels that fly under this banner, but this one really is exceptional. The staff are incredibly helpful, the decor of the rooms is excellent. The complimentary laundry facilities (including free detergent) are a touch of genius. One of the best hotels we have ever experienced.

Room Tip: Our corner suite, 316, was hotel heaven: double-aspect, really nicely furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel50_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Rachel,

Thank you for the kind comments you have made regarding our staff, decor and complimentary laundry facilities. Thank you also for your continued support of Small Luxury Hotels of the World and for taking the time to post this review.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    888
    274
    92
    25
    6
See reviews for
142
760
63
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
230 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Absolutely delightful and charming hotel located close to the Botanic Gardens and downtown Christchurch. The staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The room we had (502) was essentially a three-room, well appointed suite. There were lots of thoughtful little touches which add to the hotel's charm, for example providing with its turn-down service an eponymous teddy bear. Wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in Christchurch. Highly recommended, give it a go, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 502 is essentially a suite tucked away at the back of the main hotel. Recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry Lynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Barry,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with and in particular our friendly and helpful staff. Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for your recommendation to other travellers.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to The George on your next visit to Christchurch.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harker Heights, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The George was fantastic, first rate customer service and the concierge was very helpful with any questions or directions we needed. The room was beautiful and they had excellent food for dining in the evening. We only got to spend 2 nights there but after the first night would not have minded spending an additional night there to see more of Christchurch's rebuilding efforts. Loved the whole concept of George bear and will be taking him on other trips in the future. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Christchurch. Cathy and Mary

Room Tip: All the rooms where good, we had a double non-smoking room. As for view ,your right in the middle of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Time2paint2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Cathy and Mary,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our service levels, rooms and food. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and are glad George Bear is in good hands.

Thank you again for taking the time to post this review.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The George sets high standards and achieves them. Guest rooms are thoughtfully and immaculately appointed with facilities that go beyond the norm. This is a highly enjoyable place to stay. Breakfast, however, is a ‘could do better’.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theinspectorcalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear theinspectorcalls,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our room facilities and standards. We have noted your comments regarding our breakfast offering and will continue to work on this aspect.

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This hotel is really charming. The rooms are very nicely done with an nice upscale bathroom. The food was also very good. What really set this hotel apart was everyone we dealt with here was so very nice. They really went over and beyond to be helpful. We were only here one night and I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southernmell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Croeh,

We are delighted you found our rooms, bathrooms, food and service lived up to your expectations. Above and beyond is the attitude we continually aim for with our staff and I am extremely glad that we delivered this for you during our busiest time of the year.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Kind regards,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

It really doesn't matter what you're looking at: rooms, bathrooms, attitude of staff, location - The George is superb.

Of course, as there is no perfection, there is always room for improvement. However, it's hard to think of any suggestions here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank fcapm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear fcapm,

We appreciate your compliments on our rooms, bathrooms, location and staff attitude. We continue to strive for the always elusive perfection and are very glad that you found us to be lacking in any obvious areas for improvement.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I have stayed at the George Hotel on several occasions and cannot rate it high enough, from the time you walk in the door I was welcomed by genuine staff, then once I had settled in my room I received a call and asked if I would like a complementary drink. At around 6.00pm Rose came to turn down my bed and gave me a bottle of water, a George Teddy Bear and chocolates, what a lovely person and an asset to the Hotel. I am very particular about where I stay and I believe that the George Hotel is faultless from the attention to detail in the rooms to the quality of the furnishings, cleanliness, extras in the bathroom and room presentation. My stay at the George was so enjoyable that had to tell as many people about this fine establishment as I could.
I have travelled the world and stayed at all the big brand hotels which may have a size advantage and feel like a factory however The George made me feel like a VIP from the time I arrived until the time I departed. What made the George stand out from the rest was not the customer service it was the OUTSTANDING customer service and attention to detail. To all of the staff at the George I thank you, you simply took my breath away. I will be returning soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great however the Park View Suite is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Graeme H,

Thank you for your wonderful comments on everything from our facilities and service to the attention to detail we focus on every aspect of our operation. It is the continued satisfaction of our regular guests like yourself that motivates us to continually strive for perfection. We really appreciate your loyal support and look forward to welcoming you back to The George on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Property: The George Christchurch
Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing