We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time....can't rate it highly enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #5 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed at The George a couple of week ago and can't rate the place highly enough.
The staff are superb- absolutely nothing is too much trouble for them.
Lovely room - spacious, modern ( perhaps the light switchboard controlling the whole room a tad too modern and confusing!) and always impeccably clean.
Foyer and lounge are really intimate, trendy and luxurious.
Fabulous food - superb breakfasts and beautiful bistro cuisine in the evenings.
Will definitely return - thank you to everyone there who made our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebraHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear DebraHerts,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on our staff, rooms, cleanliness, lobby and food. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit with us and would be delighted to welcome you back to The George if your travels bring you back to Christchurch.

Kind regards,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

957 - 963 of 1,424 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

To be quite honest we were disappointed with this hotel.

Although the lobby area is welcoming the rooms were about 3 star. Indeed the room cost was very expensive for what you got. Perhaps the other rooms are better but I suspect not.

Staff overall were OK but quite underwhelming.

Our evening meal in the Hotel Restaurant was excellent

This is considered one of the better hotels in a limited market. I think they need to offer more.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterDAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear PeterD,

We are very glad you enjoyed your meal in our restaurant. However we are sorry that you found the rest of the experience did not live up to your expectations.

It is difficult to comment specifically on the room you were in as without more information we are unable to identify which room type you booked and were allocated. However all of our rooms have been assessed by NZ's official, independent rating agency and have been classified as 5 star.

We will certainly discuss your comments with our team to reinforce the need to go the extra mile for every guest as we aim to create a much better impression than "underwhelming".

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We spent a fantastic night at The George. The room was large and very comfortable, with a very modern and luxurious bathroom. The staff went out of their way to make us comfortable, even giving us great dining suggestions and making reservations for us. Breakfast was delicious, a notch above most hotel breakfasts. Would love to return!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EAndreev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear EAndreev,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular the room and bathroom facilities. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our breakfast offering.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The George should your travels bring you back to Christchurch.

Kind regards,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We've stayed in other hotels that fly under this banner, but this one really is exceptional. The staff are incredibly helpful, the decor of the rooms is excellent. The complimentary laundry facilities (including free detergent) are a touch of genius. One of the best hotels we have ever experienced.

Room Tip: Our corner suite, 316, was hotel heaven: double-aspect, really nicely furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel50_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Rachel,

Thank you for the kind comments you have made regarding our staff, decor and complimentary laundry facilities. Thank you also for your continued support of Small Luxury Hotels of the World and for taking the time to post this review.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Absolutely delightful and charming hotel located close to the Botanic Gardens and downtown Christchurch. The staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The room we had (502) was essentially a three-room, well appointed suite. There were lots of thoughtful little touches which add to the hotel's charm, for example providing with its turn-down service an eponymous teddy bear. Wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in Christchurch. Highly recommended, give it a go, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 502 is essentially a suite tucked away at the back of the main hotel. Recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry Lynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Barry,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with and in particular our friendly and helpful staff. Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for your recommendation to other travellers.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to The George on your next visit to Christchurch.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The George was fantastic, first rate customer service and the concierge was very helpful with any questions or directions we needed. The room was beautiful and they had excellent food for dining in the evening. We only got to spend 2 nights there but after the first night would not have minded spending an additional night there to see more of Christchurch's rebuilding efforts. Loved the whole concept of George bear and will be taking him on other trips in the future. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Christchurch. Cathy and Mary

Room Tip: All the rooms where good, we had a double non-smoking room. As for view ,your right in the middle of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Time2paint2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Cathy and Mary,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our service levels, rooms and food. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and are glad George Bear is in good hands.

Thank you again for taking the time to post this review.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The George sets high standards and achieves them. Guest rooms are thoughtfully and immaculately appointed with facilities that go beyond the norm. This is a highly enjoyable place to stay. Breakfast, however, is a ‘could do better’.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theinspectorcalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear theinspectorcalls,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our room facilities and standards. We have noted your comments regarding our breakfast offering and will continue to work on this aspect.

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
703 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,070 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#9 of 146 in Christchurch
233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
4.1 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £185 - £453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing