We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #6 of 147 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

I have always tried to stay at this hotel. But never again. This was a rushed trip that I booked on line. I chose the most expensive room available. I'm now in that room which is 501, it's 10.30 - 11.00 PM and below me is a function taking place and I cannot sleep. Completely unacceptable for the amount of money I've paid. Never again. Next stop Copthorne Commodore.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Bruce S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I understand that (possibly just after you posted this) you contacted our reception. Our staff then had the music turned down at the event (a dinner party of 12 people) and closed the doors to the function room where much of the noise would have been escaping. I believe this took care of the noise issue.

We do have a very strict curfew for functions in that part of the building and the guests departed as planned just after 11pm.

We truly regret that you were unable to get to sleep when you wanted and agree that a basic expectation at any hotel is to be able to get a good night's sleep. We will certainly take more care when allocating rooms in future and also have plans to further soundproof this part of the building. As you were in a separate part of the building to the main hotel, this issue only affected the room you were in.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    262
    90
    24
    6
See reviews for
136
719
61
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed at The George a couple of week ago and can't rate the place highly enough.
The staff are superb- absolutely nothing is too much trouble for them.
Lovely room - spacious, modern ( perhaps the light switchboard controlling the whole room a tad too modern and confusing!) and always impeccably clean.
Foyer and lounge are really intimate, trendy and luxurious.
Fabulous food - superb breakfasts and beautiful bistro cuisine in the evenings.
Will definitely return - thank you to everyone there who made our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebraHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear DebraHerts,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on our staff, rooms, cleanliness, lobby and food. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit with us and would be delighted to welcome you back to The George if your travels bring you back to Christchurch.

Kind regards,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

To be quite honest we were disappointed with this hotel.

Although the lobby area is welcoming the rooms were about 3 star. Indeed the room cost was very expensive for what you got. Perhaps the other rooms are better but I suspect not.

Staff overall were OK but quite underwhelming.

Our evening meal in the Hotel Restaurant was excellent

This is considered one of the better hotels in a limited market. I think they need to offer more.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterDAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear PeterD,

We are very glad you enjoyed your meal in our restaurant. However we are sorry that you found the rest of the experience did not live up to your expectations.

It is difficult to comment specifically on the room you were in as without more information we are unable to identify which room type you booked and were allocated. However all of our rooms have been assessed by NZ's official, independent rating agency and have been classified as 5 star.

We will certainly discuss your comments with our team to reinforce the need to go the extra mile for every guest as we aim to create a much better impression than "underwhelming".

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We spent a fantastic night at The George. The room was large and very comfortable, with a very modern and luxurious bathroom. The staff went out of their way to make us comfortable, even giving us great dining suggestions and making reservations for us. Breakfast was delicious, a notch above most hotel breakfasts. Would love to return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EAndreev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear EAndreev,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular the room and bathroom facilities. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our breakfast offering.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The George should your travels bring you back to Christchurch.

Kind regards,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We've stayed in other hotels that fly under this banner, but this one really is exceptional. The staff are incredibly helpful, the decor of the rooms is excellent. The complimentary laundry facilities (including free detergent) are a touch of genius. One of the best hotels we have ever experienced.

Room Tip: Our corner suite, 316, was hotel heaven: double-aspect, really nicely furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel50_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Rachel,

Thank you for the kind comments you have made regarding our staff, decor and complimentary laundry facilities. Thank you also for your continued support of Small Luxury Hotels of the World and for taking the time to post this review.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
227 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Absolutely delightful and charming hotel located close to the Botanic Gardens and downtown Christchurch. The staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The room we had (502) was essentially a three-room, well appointed suite. There were lots of thoughtful little touches which add to the hotel's charm, for example providing with its turn-down service an eponymous teddy bear. Wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in Christchurch. Highly recommended, give it a go, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 502 is essentially a suite tucked away at the back of the main hotel. Recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry Lynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Barry,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with and in particular our friendly and helpful staff. Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for your recommendation to other travellers.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to The George on your next visit to Christchurch.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harker Heights, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

The George was fantastic, first rate customer service and the concierge was very helpful with any questions or directions we needed. The room was beautiful and they had excellent food for dining in the evening. We only got to spend 2 nights there but after the first night would not have minded spending an additional night there to see more of Christchurch's rebuilding efforts. Loved the whole concept of George bear and will be taking him on other trips in the future. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Christchurch. Cathy and Mary

Room Tip: All the rooms where good, we had a double non-smoking room. As for view ,your right in the middle of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Time2paint2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Cathy and Mary,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our service levels, rooms and food. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and are glad George Bear is in good hands.

Thank you again for taking the time to post this review.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 147 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 147 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 147 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Property: The George Christchurch
Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing