We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well regarded” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #6 of 147 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well regarded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Little competition unfortunately.any hotel with a shower curtain cannot be highly rated.Our food order at the bar was lost and had to be served in our room.Their signature restaurant ,highly recommended not open Sun/Mon.Why would any hotel give you a Teddy Bear?Put your effort into service and accommodation.

Room Tip: Do not bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Russell,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. Yes, one of our two restaurants is closed on the two quietest days of the week and we do try to make this clear on our website and all booking confirmations where people book directly with us. I note you made your booking through a third party website so I have requested that they also include opening days in their information.
Our other restaurant however is also very well regarded and is also considered one of the top restaurants in the city.

I would like to apologise for the fact that, due to an issue with equipment failure, your order for bar snacks did not transfer through to the kitchen and the subsequent delay was unacceptable. I see that our team apologised at the time and appropriately did not charge for the snacks.

Our George Bears are extremely popular and we are definitely going to continue giving these away to our valued guests. They are not a gesture to make up for any other service compromise and we will always strive to deliver the highest level of service.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    262
    90
    24
    6
See reviews for
136
719
61
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

For my partner and I, this was our last stop before heading home and deciding to use the last of our holiday money in The George's Park Suite, was the best decision.
the facilities were first class
the layout was perfect
the view was picturesque and relaxing.
the staff service and complimentary "George" bear made our stay complete.

Standout was the use of modern facilities such as heated floors, gas fire place, dual occupant shower and a bed that felt like you were sleeping on a cloud! (a very large cloud).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Mitchell,

Thank you for your kind comments on our facilities, view, service and George Bear. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit with us and that we were able to cap your holiday off on a high note.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and we hope to welcome you back to The George should you have another opportunity to visit Christchurch again in the future.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed at The George hotel in an executive room. It was lovely for a nights getaway from the kids. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was beautiful - nice big bed, and good bathroom. A great location for a stroll through the gardens. The breakfast was delicious, and it was wonderful to eat dinner at Pescatore and be only a few rooms away to walk home at the end! Food and service there was amazing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Gemma,

We are delighted you enjoyed the room, location, food and service and that we were able to provide a lovely haven for your night away.

Thank you for taking the time to post this feedback and we hope to welcome you back to The George next time you need another night away.

Kind regards,

Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

What a great property,
It's a short walk from Victoria street where all the restaurants are located

The staff is so very friendly and very professional

The rooms are modern and nice very comfortable

We have taken two rooms interconnecting to be able to manage our two boys and they were able to accommodate this for us

The rooms are very practical and they also have free wifi Internet

I am very happy with this hotel and I will recommend it to everyone passing through Christchurch

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vivek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Vivek A,

We are thrilled you enjoyed our rooms, friendly staff, free wi-fi and location. We are always more than happy to accommodate families and have a number of interconnecting room combinations so we can find the best fit for our guests.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for your kind recommendation.

Kind regards,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Only had one night to stay on a very brief visit to Christchurch, I would definatly reccomend staying here. Rooms and hotel were very contemporary, heated floor in bathroom (we were there in winter and New Zealand has a much small carbon footprint that USA), Breakfast buffet was good, nothing over the top. I noticed that the gift store had very reasonable prices for very high quality goods.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HowieCanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear HowieCanoe,

Thank you for your recommendation. We are delighted you enjoyed our rooms and breakfast and some of the little touches like our heated bathroom floors. Hopefully if you get to visit again it will be longer so you can thoroughly explore Christchurch and the surrounding area.

Thanks for taking the time to post this review.

Kind regards,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

The bed was the most comfortable bed i have slept on in a while (pillows not so much), 50 bristo food is amazing highly recommended, good views of the park. Not in town but only a 20min walk into town centre. Apart from being woken at 8.10am by housekeeping wanting to clean our room was a great hotel. Very modern, loved the bathroom doors!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Laura,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the room, bed, food in 50 Bistro and location. We are very pleased you enjoyed your visit with us. I am sorry to hear that our housekeeping team woke you early, this should not have happened so we will definitely investigate this to see what went wrong with our systems.

Thank you again for taking the time to post this feedback.

Kind regards,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Otago
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

As a freelance writer, I've been fortunate enough to have stayed at many SLH properties in Asia, Australia and New Zealand ---- but none exceed 'The George' in Christchurch when it comes to all-round excellence. Adjoining Hagley Park, a spacious inner city green belt, and close to the city centre, The George offers every thing a discerning traveller could wish for ----superb accommodation, comfortable and relaxing, with memorable dining, both in its '50 Bistro' and in its world-class fine dining restaurant 'Pescatore', A warm, welcoming and attentive staff make a large contribution to a truly memorable experience.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MikeyNorthOtago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear MikeyNorthOtago,

We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and appreciate your kind comments on our location, our accommodation and dining offerings and our warm, welcoming and attentive staff.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for your strong recommendation.

Kind regards,
Bruce Garrett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 147 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 147 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 147 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Property: The George Christchurch
Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing