We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #5 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We had only one night in Christchurch and selected The George for the location. Location was great, across the street from North Hagley Park and walking distance to everything else we were interested in visiting.
The staff were wonderful throughout and really added to the experience.
The outsdide of the hotel is quite underwhelming but we really enjoyed our contemporary room (we were upgraded to a junior suite) and surprised us when they delivered a complimentary fruit bowl after we arrived. We didn't try the restaurants there, but they seemed to be quite busy on a Friday evening. We would definately return.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lislandlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,277 - 1,283 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2009

Gorgeous room with a nice sitting area and a great roomy 2-headed shower. Our room overlooked the park and had a private balcony- unfortunately it was too cold or it would have been a perfect breakfast spot. The fireplace was cozy - perfect for a chilly Christmas day. The Christmas dinner was disappointing (turkey foam? not quite what we were looking for) and littered with foams and gelees, but it had some good flavour combinations. The location is perfect and the staff are friendly, though they forgot or lost our room service breakfast order we'd submitted the night before. Highly recommended, just eat elsewhere.

Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rdkanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

It was difficult to find a hotel in Christchurch that met our requirements. Being our first holiday in many, many years (too many) we wanted luxury. Nothing over the top, just a reasonably sized room, a king bed, decent sized bathroom and peace and quiet.

We looked on Trip Advisor and most of the highly recommended places were motels. We wanted something more.

I’d read an article in a popular Australian travel magazine where the writer had stayed at The George. I looked up their website and it seemed like it fit the bill.

The staff were excellent, absolutely 5-star without being pretentious. They made you feel welcome. They made some excellent suggestions about where to eat, including their own restaurant. The food in the downstairs restaurant was excellent (we only had dinner but it was great).

We’d booked a King Executive Suite (not cheap) but our King bed was the size of a normal queen size bed (later we found out that NZ has different bed sizes from other parts of the world), the room was pretty small as was the bathroom (no ventilation, so the room can get quite stuffy). Nothing King Executive, nor Suite, about it.

The location opposite Hagley Park is great but the noise from the road at peak hour on weekday is NOT. No sleeping in here.

We were due to come back here at the end of our trip but decided to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TheWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2009

We contacted the hotel directly after going further that planned on a very long day in the car driving up the coast of New Zealand from the Otaga Peninsula. It was our last night in New Zealand and tried a couple of other hotels in Christchurch without any luck. We were able to obtain a basic room and loved it. The staff bent over backwards to help us and the location provided a chance to make the best of our remaining time before flying home the next day. The room was great, across from the park, and everything was within walking distance. We loved it.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank shortlady77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2009

We spent new year's at the george and even went for their best suite (room 416) for 2 nights. The room was well appointed and very cozy, however, it was absolutely not a room that deserved the amount we paid. First and foremost, there was a known mildew issue with the room (see attached photos that shows the water between the two double paned windows) and the staff never offered us another room nor were they able to do anything to help the smell (candles or something!) There were spider webs all over the UNWASHED windows and the outside patio had not been cleaned.
The staff however was courteous, albeit a bit too much 'yes sir' and not enough results from requests, such as obtaining dinner reservations.
Overall, this was one of the worst places we stayed in NZ out of a good dozen.
I would like to also add that the hotel itself is a hideous 70's design - we almost drove right by it the first time, thinking we were staying in somewhat more of a prestigious place.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank xelareihted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
specialbru, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2009

I am highly disappointed that this reviewer did not enjoy their experience with us and their resulting dissatisfaction is very unfortunate. This is not the type of experience we want any of our guests to have and take all feedback extremely seriously.

We certainly did not deliberately place guests in a room with known mildew problems. None of our rooms have any such problem and if our rooms do develop any faults we place them out of service until the issue has been rectified. This is what happened after the departure of these guests which was the first time I was aware of any complaint of an unusual odour which was quite slight and intermittent.

One of the smaller sections of glass in the window had suffered a break in the outside seal, allowing some moisture to build up between the two panes of glass. This occasionally happens with double glazing and we replace the affected glass as soon as practical. Unfortunately over the Christmas period it is difficult to get tradesmen especially for non-urgent work. There definitely was no smell generated by this.

I would like to point out that while any cobwebs are obviously unacceptable, the ones shown in the photos are on the exterior of the building, on the 4th floor. These windows are commercially cleaned on a monthly basis. There is no suggestion of there being any cobwebs or dirt inside the room. It is also not a question of lack of staff or laziness since it is not possible to just “pop outside” and clean windows four floors off the ground.

These guests have complained directly at the hotel about being unable to dine in our signature restaurant on New Years’ Eve, hence the comment above regarding restaurant reservations. However despite the fact that we were already fully booked that evening in this restaurant, following their request earlier in the day, we did manage to move things around and find some space for them. This was advised to the guests mid afternoon however the guests then decided that this timing wasn’t convenient for them and elected to dine in our other restaurant anyway.

Again we regret this reviewer did not enjoy their experience but have taken their feedback on board for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

After having staid at some fantastic and cosy hotels over the South Island of NZ we've been really shocked when entering the car park of "The George", a member of "Small Luxury Hotels".

"The Georg" is a building from the late 70's - without any charme. The room is rather small and dated (light wood furniture with white walls). The wall and the ceiling have been party painted new and you see colour differences at some spots. The bathroom is very standard and also dated.

There's only one elevator for the guests. The restaurant (which should be good) has been closed during our stay due to public holidays, a thing that shouldn't happen in a "5* hotel".

The high of the hotel is clearly the staff. They're very friendly and helpful, meet all requirements of a standard 5* hotel without being as personal as in a 5* lodge.

Also the location, directly at the park but in walking distance to the beautiful city center is very good.

Finally I want to say that there's no reason "The George" has been appointed as NZ no. 1 boutique hotel 2008. There're much better once such as the Queenstown Park Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
specialbru, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2009

Firstly I am delighted that the reviewer enjoyed the service levels from our staff and the location of our establishment.

I would like to say that although the building was indeed constructed in the 70s and it is difficult to do much with that, in my experience it's the inside that counts and the interior has had numerous refurbishments since then.

I would also like to point out that the hotel has two excellent restaurants, only one of which is closed on public holidays so we were indeed able to cater for all of our in-house guests who wanted to dine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2008

The best place to stay in Christchurch. Wonderful rooms, great staff and perfect location.

Stayed: December 2008
1  Thank lookingtobewet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
662 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,943 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#10 of 146 in Christchurch
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
648 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £195 - £482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing