We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Modern Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #5 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 November 2009

We stayed here for one night, while in transit through the south island. The room was modern (similar to what you would find in a W Hotel), and the staff friendly and attentive. We did not have time to have to dinner at the hotel, but we did manage to have breakfast. I would recommend it. Overall a very pleasant, relaxing stay.
if in Christchurch, definitely consider staying here

Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank ekartash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,344 - 1,350 of 1,452 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2009

Wow, what can I say about this property? I can say that, as it was our first stop in New Zealand, it ruined all other hotel stays for us on our trip. None of the other hotels we stayed at, while nice, could compare to our experience at The George. The staff really treat all guests like royalty. The rooms are wonderful:understated elegance. They make for a comfortable stay and provide luxury and comfort without being the least bit gawdy. We had the priveledge of staying in one of the Executive suites. Amazing sitting area with a view of the river, along with a fireplace and OUTSTANDING sound system. The bathroom with doulble shower and tub is awesome. The restaurants offer outstanding, modern cuisine with only the freshest ingredients. The location is on a small street, and is about a 10-15 minute walk from the city center. Our stay here was magical. If you want to feel pampered an treat yourself to a one-of-a-kind experience that you won't get anywhere else in the world, The George is defiinitely for you!

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Very nice hotel indeed. Staff very attentive, very nice and clean room, good location in Christchurch.\
Free internet access through kiosk PCs in lobby.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WallyGreenblatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. I've travelled a bit, and this is certainly one of the best experiences I have ever had, both in NZ and overseas. The biggest asset to the hotel is the staff. To an individual, they were courteous, friendly, and most importantly, *genuine*. Not once did it seem like these guys and girls were just doing their jobs. They really seemed to enjoy meeting guests, and providing great service. I'd like to particularly mention Tim and Mark as examples of awesome hotel staff.

I don't understand the comments of reviewers complaining about "70s" style. Our room was modern, luxuriously appointed, warm, comfortable, and a delight to return to after a long day of wandering around Christchurch. The bathroom in particular felt palatial.

The dining experience was excellent, with the food and service at Pescatore in particular being worthy of awe.

The bar was fantastic, with a selection of local craft beers, which really stands out in a country usually dominated by bland beer from two giant breweries.

It might sound like I've been paid to write this review, but I honestly just can't think of any way our weekend could have been better at the George. We shall certainly be back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreigM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

I was lucky and got a room on one of the top floors and newly renovated. Had a flatscreen unlike other so called 5 star hotels. Very roomy, styley with bathroom and closet 'hidden'around the corner. I'm glad work paid for this one.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleepyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

As of our stay during September 2009, the hotel is undergoing refurbishment. We were woken up *each morning* by the sound of building tools and hammering on the floor below us.
Before booking at this place - check directly with the hotel to ensure that they have completed renovations, otherwise your stay will be disrupted like ours was.
When we booked via email we were not alerted to the renovations, nor when we checked in. And when we mentioned our dissatisfaction to staff after our first night they were not empathetic at all.

Before booking we asked around about good hotels in Christchurch, and everyone said that The George was the standout. We agree, with the exception of our above comments.

Both of the restaurants at the hotels are fantastic - great food and great staff. The location is just outside the city centre, but being a small city it's only a 10-15 minutes walk into the CBD. The surrounding streets are quiet and safe.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

We have stayed at SLH properties all over the world but our stay at The George was by far the best. We will definitely recommend your property to our friends and family who visit Christchurch. The brazilian young man at the desk certainly make the difference from the moment we arrived. Ivan want out of his way to make our stay remarkable. The restaurants are fantastic (The Pescatore and The 50 on Park). Perfect service and staff.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbarbara2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
712 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#8 of 146 in Christchurch
245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
4.1 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £185 - £434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing