We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to refuel while traveling!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #5 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 January 2010

My wife and I just got back from a trip through New Zealand and while we were in Christchurch, we stayed at The George Hotel. Don't let the dated exterior fool you, because the interior has been updated to a sleek, contemporary, comfortable place to relax and refuel for more traveling. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by friendly gentlemen who sweep our luggage away and made checking in feel like a social meeting between old friends. Our Park Suite was perfect after long days of traveling with a sitting area, beautiful bathroom with heated everything, and a full fridge to quench any thirst. The location is several block away from the city center; however, we enjoyed being away from the large groups, plus Hagley Park is a stones throw is truly an asset. What a way to start your morning with a walk or jog around level trails with beautiful views. I have to mention the staff, once again, because every question was not just answered. They went far above with maps, suggestions for shops and restaurants. My wife will kill me if I don't comment on the FREE guest laundry. There are several washers and dryers on the third floor and they were a God send at this leg of our trip. Just to be able to through a few loads in at night and to start your journey with clean clothes the next day made The George Hotel a true gem, and I will keep it in my address book for future travels.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rspennington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,338 - 1,344 of 1,451 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2010

This is pretty easy review. Fabulous place to stay in every respect. Wonderful room, great attention to detail and located in a divine part of town. At first it seems you're too far from the action, but Christchurch is actually smaller than it looks on the map. The short walk to Victoria Street is perfect for the best coffee and brunch in town (great for meeting friends), and the downtown area is easy find by following the park until you hit the museums and gallery.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Ewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

Terrific hotel within walking distance to almost all major sights in Christchurch. We loved the contemporary decor. Our room overlooked the small garden. Be sure to ask for it otherwise most of the rooms face parking lots or a busy road. Staff is attentive without being obsequious. Good food and ---- complimentary laundry services, a good thing to find in the middle of a long trip.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank fussylady001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2009

Don't judge a book by its cover. From the outside, The George is a little unprepossessing, plain at best. Once inside it's a different story. The service provided was excellent; reception, concierge, bar staff and restaurant personnel, all were very accomplished and pleased to make our stay one to remember. The room was tastefully and stylishly decorated and had everything you could ask for and more! Blissfully comfortable bed and luxury linen. Wished we could've stayed longer.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich-n-Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2009

Can not fault this hotel!! Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant!! Awesome staff, helpful, patient (thanks Nick - we drank at the bar into the wee small hours and he looked after us so well) and they know their city! Fantastic newly fitted out modern room....do not judge this boutique hotel by the outside, it doesn't give away just how great it is!!

And thank you for the George bears....little treasures we took with us!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truebro70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

We stayed here for one night, while in transit through the south island. The room was modern (similar to what you would find in a W Hotel), and the staff friendly and attentive. We did not have time to have to dinner at the hotel, but we did manage to have breakfast. I would recommend it. Overall a very pleasant, relaxing stay.
if in Christchurch, definitely consider staying here

Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank ekartash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Wow, what can I say about this property? I can say that, as it was our first stop in New Zealand, it ruined all other hotel stays for us on our trip. None of the other hotels we stayed at, while nice, could compare to our experience at The George. The staff really treat all guests like royalty. The rooms are wonderful:understated elegance. They make for a comfortable stay and provide luxury and comfort without being the least bit gawdy. We had the priveledge of staying in one of the Executive suites. Amazing sitting area with a view of the river, along with a fireplace and OUTSTANDING sound system. The bathroom with doulble shower and tub is awesome. The restaurants offer outstanding, modern cuisine with only the freshest ingredients. The location is on a small street, and is about a 10-15 minute walk from the city center. Our stay here was magical. If you want to feel pampered an treat yourself to a one-of-a-kind experience that you won't get anywhere else in the world, The George is defiinitely for you!

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
711 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 146 in Christchurch
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#8 of 146 in Christchurch
245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
4.1 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £186 - £442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing