We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The George is a gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #5 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 March 2010

The George in Christchurch is a very elegant small hotel, located right across the street from a beautiful park. The room was large, very well decorated and very clean. The bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom was large, had all the amenities and was spotless. The room had a desk with a high speed internet connection for fifteen dollars a day. However, there were two computers in the lobby that were surprisingly available for broad band internet. We never had any trouble getting a computer – it seemed like one was always free. There were two easy chairs and a large television in the room.

The staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful. The George does not have a reception counter as such. Instead, there is an office desk right as you enter the lobby, where you sit down on comfortable easy chairs for check in or anything else you want to talk to the receptionist about. The concierge arranged taxis down to Cathedral Square (the main part of town), a tour of the city and transportation to the airport for us in the most friendly manner imaginable.

The prices I saw advertised for the hotel restaurants were surprisingly high. The meal prices I saw advertised in the elevator for their Pescatore Restaurant was ninety-nine dollars (1 New Zealand Dollar = .7 U.S. Dollar) per person, per meal, one hundred twenty nine dollars per meal and one hundred ninety dollars per meal, with wine. We decided that was a bit rich for our blood. So, we took a ten dollar each way taxi ride downtown, where there is one restaurant after another. Downtown (the area around Cathedral Square) is about a fifteen minute walk, if you need the exercise, want to take in the sights or want to save the cab fare. We had very nice seafood meals in a restaurant located a short way from Cathedral Square within sight of the Avon River, in a row of restaurants, for a total of $53 for both meals as the amount of U.S. dollars that showed up on our credit card. The mussels were especially good in Christchurch. There are also several restaurants and a mini mart on Victoria Street, which is about two blocks from the George (you can get a map in the lobby). We ate one supper at the casino on Victoria Street where the buffet was reasonably good (for a buffet) and well stocked and was thirty eight dollars a person, plus the 12 1/2 per cent sales tax (unlike most restaurants in New Zealand, the Casino does not include the sales tax in the prices they advertise).

Overall, it is hard to say too much good about the George. It is a really great place. We recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoneColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,249 - 1,255 of 1,372 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2010

Nice hotel, but really not that special for what you have to pay.

They offer views of the park and most of the rooms look out on to the car park.

Staff are friendly and polite, however the restaurant service was poor.

The showers are rubbish and a so called 5 star hotel should really get that sorted if they want to keep them.

I think this hotel gets 5 stars because nothing else in Christchurch really competes, no serious complaints except it is not worth the money.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lonely_Plankton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

We tried 24 hours at The George in Christchurch, New Zealand: utter bliss.

2.30pm: My wife and I book in to one of the South Island’s best boutique luxury hotels – The George in Christchurch. The reception area feels so tranquil, with a single desk and chairs to relax on while we checked-in. I eye the bar and lounge across from the reception with its cream leather seats and soft lighting. This is the place where many celebrities, entertainers, top executives and household names stay when visiting Christchurch. The George has a policy of not saying which stars have slept here. But Princess Anne had a choice when she stayed in Christchurch a few years ago and guess where she picked!
We book into a junior suite which has been stylishly refurbished by Warren and Mahoney.

3pm: We sip tea brought to our room overlooking leafy Hagley Park. The concierge directs us where to get a feel of the mood and atmosphere of the city. We walk down Park Tce, catch a tram down Armagh through the Spanish style buildings and cafes of New Regent St and down Cathedral Sq. We get off by the Public Art Gallery check out the William Morris designs, stroll through the Arts Centre, walk down past Christ’s College and back to The George.

6pm: We soak in the bath quaffing a delightful little Veuve Clicquot champagne before heading to the hotel’s state of the art Pescatore restaurant for our meal.

7.30pm: The setting is divine – across from the park and Avon River. Pescatore was really top of the range high quality dining. It has won restaurant of the year awards at the national hospitality show and numerous beef and lamb awards. I enjoyed Kaikoura crayfish - coriander risotto cake, baby vegetables & champagne sabayon; and for dessert: Fang au chocolat - white & dark valrhona mousse, berry compote and raspberry coulis. The service was exceptional, room was great, food was excellent.

10pm: We retire to our room, watch a movie on the wide-screen tv, then cuddle and enjoy in divine luxury!

8.30am: We are in the downstairs restaurant 50 on the park for breakfast after a lie-in and reading the paper in our giant king size bed. So serene.

10am: We go walk about around the park and find the front desk so helpful again. They have 100 staff here for the 53 rooms so it’s almost one-to-one guest staff ratio. That’s why they are one of just 10 places in New Zealand part of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. The George won the 2007 Best Boutique Hotel in NZ.

1.30pm: We reluctantly pack up and book out but stowed away in our bags is ‘George Bear – a cuddly golden teddy bear gifted on our pillow when they turned down our bed while we were dining. George was the resident teddy bear and he asked to go home with us - how could we refuse.
This is just a great hotel, contemporary, great service and fantastic food.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WordChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Very good location and fine hotel. No complaints other than our room looked onto the hotel car park. Made us very welcome and our meal in the restaurant was very good. CG

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Lovely stay - rooms very modern and very clean. Staff very helpful at all times and had time for everyone. Loved "George" teddy and chocs great extra. Thanks for lovely stay in this beautiful city. Free internet also a good plus point

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Very comfortable, pretty, and excellent service. Terrific location. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

We were fortunate enough to get into the The George for our stay in Christchurch. The hotel was everything we were looking for; a professionally run, pristinely clean boutique hotel, that offered a high quality of food and wine, with good service. We travel often and it's rare that we find little gems like this. Keep up the good work George!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank repoolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,944 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
649 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £193 - £482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing