We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel, but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #5 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We stayed at the George over the weekend, and it is a beautiful hotel. Rooms are lovely and the bathrooms very spacious with heated towel racks and floors ( it does get cold in winter). We ate at the ground floor bistro and also had breakfast in the hotel, and found both meals very expensive. At breakfast, the selection is very limited with supermarket yoghurts and a small fruit selection - for such a boutique hotel, you do expect a better standard. Staff were very friendly and the location is good, opposite a beautiful park and a few blocks into the centre of town. I am likely to give another hotel a try next time I am in Christchurch. Again, no free wifi - when will hoteliers give up on charging for this - it is infuriating.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CassGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,309 - 1,315 of 1,451 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2010

We were fortunate to stay here for two nights and we were treated like the most important people to have ever stayed here. Our room was immaculate. I loved the linden leaves toiletries a touch of luxury. handmade chocolates every night in our room, minibar prices are reasonable. George the teddy was a lovely touch. We dined at the restaurant Piscatore in the hotel and had the best dining experience. The staff were attentive, pleasant, knowledgeable, professional and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Australia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

My husband and I stayed for 1 night 2 weeks after the earthquake. It's a boutique hotel without a large lobby except for a desk at check in and a bar and nearby sitting area. It makes for a more personal experience. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The room was not very spacious but were very modern and tastefully decorated (as was the rest of the hotel). The bathroom was actually quite large based on the size of the room. It is right across from a large beautiful park and only about 5-7 blocks from all the action (cathedral square, etc). Would stay here again.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Leo2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We booked this hotel as we were stuck in Christchurch an extra night due to earthquake. Booked via wotif and got a package for room and 3 course dinner. Was great value compared to just room price.

When we arrived I must admit I was a bit worried looking at the hotel from the outside - it does look like a dodgy old hotel - but my worries were all put to rest the moment I stepped inside. This boutique hotel is amazing. No big reception area just a friendly face at a desk to check you in.

Check in was simple and we were shown to our room for the night. Must say I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel has recently been renovated and has been done very tastefully. The room wasn't massive but big enough for the two of us and all our luggage including ski's. Colour scheme was very neutral and the bathroom was similarly decorated.

The guy who carried luggage to the room was very friendly and stopped for a bit of a chat about the days events (earthquake) and gave us a run down on what was happening that night if we were interested. He then offered us a drink (on the house) which was delivered to our room in no time. Was such a lovely touch and was definitely needed after the day we had had.

Since nothing in Christchurch was open we were pretty much stuck in the hotel so we made the most of the fabulous room and chilled out with a few drinks and watched tv and relaxed.

Later we went to dinner at the restaurant on bottom floor (50 on park) our package included the 3 course grill menu. Great choices and we both thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. The service was wonderful and everybody was so very friendly and laid back. We had our entree and main course and decided we weren't quite ready for dessert so headed back to our room and a little while later our dessert was delivered to our room, which again was a lovely touch.

Had a great nights sleep but must say the bed was king but a very small king (more like a queen) but very comfy. Room service for breakfast and yet again fabulous food and friendly staff delivered.

Check out was simple and easy. I am very glad that we decided to stay at the George and if I am ever back to Christchurch I would hope to stay at the George again.

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and can't fault at all. Thanks for the great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We traveled throughout southern New Zealand and Sydney for two weeks, and The George was by FAR our favorite hotel. The staff was incredible, and they completely ensure all of your needs are met. The rooms are fantastic - and the only hotel to give us to double beds instead of twin size! It was all the little things that made it perfect, including heated bathroom floors and a non-steam portion of the mirror that was completely useful even immediately after a hot steamy shower. And of course - the bear!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baker621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

If only everything was based on The George's service, we'd live in a fantastic world. I picked this place out of the rest for it simply sounded good, and in a good location. However, from the moment you arrive at the front door, you realize its not a normal hotel. The staff are absolutely amazing, and the little quirks you get during your stay just make it so damn memorable. Feel like royalty and stay at The George. The place is kept extremely clean and maintained, the rooms are great and again kept immaculately. With a 7-8 minute walk to Cathedral Square, and lovely botanic gardens just down the road, it located in a great spot. I really cannot recommend this place enough, we had such a fantastic experience. Well done.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZhimmyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We stayed in the Park Suite with the balcony. Amazing views into Hagley Park over the River Avon. Within 15 minutes of checking in we received a courtesy call from reception to check the room was ok & to offer a complimentary drink - shortly thereafter we received 2 glasses of chilled white wine. The room had an integrated sound system throughout including the bathroom. The bathroom included a double shower and jacuzzi bath. There was complimentary port and sherry in the room as well as the standard mini bar options. We dined in the 50 On Park Restaurant which served top class food with excellent service. Getting the George Bear was a beautiful touch from a truely outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _Ange_WH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
712 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 146 in Christchurch
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#8 of 146 in Christchurch
245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
4.1 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £186 - £442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing