We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel, nothing special, great staff, overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #6 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“nice hotel, nothing special, great staff, overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

We stayed at the George for two nights while on holiday, paying about $400 NZ dollars per night, including breakfast (about $300 per night Cdn or U.S.D). The hotel is just on the edge of the downtown, within easy walking distance. Their are a number of larger hotels right in the downtown that are more conveniently located, but perhaps noisier.
We booked an executive king room and were supposedly upgraded to the king unit in the adjoining cottage section. The room, while quite large and with a modern bathroom, was dated and somewhat disappointing for a hotel of this reputation and cost. The rooms and common areas in the hotel were also not up to par for a high end boutique hotel.
The service and staff at the hotel, however, were absolutely top notch. The restaurant facility was very nice and the breakfast included in our room rate was also extremely good.
Overall, The George is a nice hotel with excellent staff and food. However, the quality of the hotel is certainly not commensurate with the price charged. We certainly stayed at nicer places during our travels in New Zealand at better prices.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    262
    90
    24
    6
See reviews for
136
721
61
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

This is a beautiful hotel, the staff are friendly and the rooms modern and clean. There is only four floors and it is a small and quiet boutique hotel.

We did not eat in the hotel but walked the five or six blocks into the middle of Christchuch where all the restaurants are.

This is the only downside of the hotel, if you can call it that. It sits opposite the park and the river and therefore you are in a very quiet, leafy part of town and not in the heart of it all.

The hotel provides nice toiletries along with a kettle, mugs and a selection of teas and coffee.

We did splurge out on the wifi but there are a couple of computers in the lobby for the guests to use.

The hotel has a sign on the front which states ’SLH’ which is Small Luxury Hotel and I would totally agree. I loved this hotel and found it very comfortable.

I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Japonicastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

Quiet and comfortable hotel. Service was friendly yet professional. Only complaint was our reservation - initial approach made direct to hotel by 'phone. Was told only rooms available were expensive suites. Immediately went to hotel website and booked the (less expensive) room we required. Strongly recommend both the hotel restaurants restaurants. Would have been nice to have free wi-fi available.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

Was just here for the one night after arriving in New Zealand, but everything we experienced would make us stay again. The concierge pointed us in the right direction for the rest of our trip, and just set the tone for a good trip.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enfieldrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and were really charmed by the place. Good amount of parking....to park our cars. Bang opposite Hagley park....15 minute walk from the center of town...and excellent rooms and toilets and a great selection of breakfast. Other than free wifi which they should introduce it has everything that a good hotel should have. Service is very warm and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amazingclick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

Our second stay. Location, location, location – the George has it. Right next to beautiful Hagley Park and within easy walking to the Arts Centre, downtown Christchurch, and the Botanical Gardens. Rooms are comfortable. Very eco-conscious about resources. Service and staff are excellent and very helpful. No worries here, mate.

Gary and Nancy from Seattle

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MtRainierTrampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

The George gets everything right and thoroughly deserves its 5 star rating. Excellent facilities, attentive (but not obtrusive) service with a choice of two first class restaurants. Location on the park and a short walk in to town is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carianmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Property: The George Christchurch
Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing