We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a lovely city.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #5 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We stayed at The George Christchurch for 4 days in January 2011. We had a room on the first floor, overlooking a beautiful garden. The room was great, with floor-to-ceiling windows, nice bathroom with heated floor, and of course, George the Bear waiting for us to take him home (they leave one teddy bear in each room for you to take home as a souvenir - nice touch, my daughter loved it!) The hotel is quite simple, nothing fancy, but with good service and attentive staff. Its location is great, right in front of Hagley Park and a 10-minute-walk to the CBD. I recommend it to anyone visiting ChCh, it is truly a nice and quiet place to spend a couple of days. I would like to take this opportunity to send my love and prayers to The George staff and to the people of this beautiful city, take care and be safe. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudiaspiandorim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,348)
There are newer reviews for The George Christchurch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,187 - 1,193 of 1,348 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2011

Despite having to deal with the imense tragedy of the earthquake, the staff and management at The George remained calm, supportive and professional throughout an incredibly challenging period. Fortunately the hotel was largely spared from the impact of the quake and was able to make its stranded guests still feel very comfortable and secure. This is a hotel that consistently excels in normal times; the remarkable people who work there make it unique. Never stay anywhere else in Christchurch (and go back soon)!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We stayed at the George for two nights while on holiday, paying about $400 NZ dollars per night, including breakfast (about $300 per night Cdn or U.S.D). The hotel is just on the edge of the downtown, within easy walking distance. Their are a number of larger hotels right in the downtown that are more conveniently located, but perhaps noisier.
We booked an executive king room and were supposedly upgraded to the king unit in the adjoining cottage section. The room, while quite large and with a modern bathroom, was dated and somewhat disappointing for a hotel of this reputation and cost. The rooms and common areas in the hotel were also not up to par for a high end boutique hotel.
The service and staff at the hotel, however, were absolutely top notch. The restaurant facility was very nice and the breakfast included in our room rate was also extremely good.
Overall, The George is a nice hotel with excellent staff and food. However, the quality of the hotel is certainly not commensurate with the price charged. We certainly stayed at nicer places during our travels in New Zealand at better prices.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

This is a beautiful hotel, the staff are friendly and the rooms modern and clean. There is only four floors and it is a small and quiet boutique hotel.

We did not eat in the hotel but walked the five or six blocks into the middle of Christchuch where all the restaurants are.

This is the only downside of the hotel, if you can call it that. It sits opposite the park and the river and therefore you are in a very quiet, leafy part of town and not in the heart of it all.

The hotel provides nice toiletries along with a kettle, mugs and a selection of teas and coffee.

We did splurge out on the wifi but there are a couple of computers in the lobby for the guests to use.

The hotel has a sign on the front which states ’SLH’ which is Small Luxury Hotel and I would totally agree. I loved this hotel and found it very comfortable.

I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Japonicastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Quiet and comfortable hotel. Service was friendly yet professional. Only complaint was our reservation - initial approach made direct to hotel by 'phone. Was told only rooms available were expensive suites. Immediately went to hotel website and booked the (less expensive) room we required. Strongly recommend both the hotel restaurants restaurants. Would have been nice to have free wi-fi available.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Was just here for the one night after arriving in New Zealand, but everything we experienced would make us stay again. The concierge pointed us in the right direction for the rest of our trip, and just set the tone for a good trip.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enfieldrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and were really charmed by the place. Good amount of parking....to park our cars. Bang opposite Hagley park....15 minute walk from the center of town...and excellent rooms and toilets and a great selection of breakfast. Other than free wifi which they should introduce it has everything that a good hotel should have. Service is very warm and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amazingclick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
654 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,904 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £155 - £472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing