We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day outing for all.”
Review of Canterbury Museum

Canterbury Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.04*
and up
Christchurch Hop-On Hop-Off Tram
Ranked #6 of 238 things to do in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Free entry (donations appreciated) where you can experience New Zealand's rich cultural and natural history heritage. Rare Maori artefacts and the stories behind them will fascinate you. See the famous Paua Shell House recreated in the Museum. Walk down the Christchurch Street and be transported back in time with the sights and sounds of pioneering days. Discover the heroic age of exploration and discovery in the Antarctic subcontinent.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great day outing for all.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I went to the museum a couple of times on my recent visit to Christchurch. While I was there I was amazed with the art work as it didn't just stay within the museum it started to appear around the city.(forward thinking) creating something new in a old exterior. It had a exhibition on the Antarctic on the past and recent activities. I love the location as it's along Avon river and Botanic gardens. Great little souvenir shop. Great place for everyone. The added bonus its free.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,069
    680
    115
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great museum!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Really nice museum with friendly staff who were more than willing to introduce me to the exhibitions. With a horse and bike that children can ride on, and a snow mobile for the bigger people it's a really entertaining place to spend an afternoon. A wide range of attractions, I really enjoyed the Maori stuff.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JeannineBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“**Best Museum in New Zealand**”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This has to be one of the best museums in NZ with FREE entry! In a historical building which there arn't many left since the earthquake. You could spend hours walking around - info on all things from Christchurch and Canterbury to the Early Maoris and settlers. Cafe up stairs in okay no much selection but great view !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Chick_242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just Great”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Went with extended family (ages 10 to 65) to the Banksy Exhibition, which in itself was fantastic. Overall a great museum with lots of different sections and genres to look over. Some parts are a tiny tiny bit wee bit tired post quakes. Highly highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendanArrowtown2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A nice surprise!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I had not planned the museum trip, but after walking in the Gardens I stopped in to see what the museum had to offer. There was a large exhibit about the Maori, the early European settlers which were very interesting. Then I found the exhibit of the explorers to the South Pole which was also good. I was very interested in the photographs of the Earthquake taken by the police and rescuers.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaimie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canterbury Museum also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Canterbury Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing