We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view”

Christchurch Gondola
Book In Advance
More Info
US$21.20*
and up
Christchurch Gondola Ride
Ranked #10 of 250 things to do in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For a “top” experience in Christchurch (15 minute drive from central city), enjoy a relaxing ride to the summit of the Port Hills. Spectacular 360 degree views of the city, Lyttelton Harbour, the majestic Southern Alps and Canterbury Plains. Plenty to see and do - experience the Time Tunnel Ride, go shopping, relax and enjoy a snack or beverage at the Red Rock Cafe.
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Have been there at nice weather. Therefore the was not perfect (could not see the southern alps) but to get an overview it was great. The view is good and the ride with the gondola great. Go there to get an impression and if if you dont have much time it is a place to get a good impression :-)!!!!

1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our attraction. We are glad that you enjoyed the views, even though it was a little cloudy. It is a great place to view the whole city from. Thank you for visiting the Gondola!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,397 - 1,401 of 1,625 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

We enjoyed the views as we rose up the mountain side and also from the observation deck. It was a lovely sunny day so we could see across the city & all the way to Mt Hutt & other southern alps etc. We got discount vouchers on 'bookme' that made this a very affordable attraction to visit. The 7 minute "Time Tunnel" ride was an interesting experience.

1  Thank Mims-memories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

We are happy that you had great weather for your visit to the Gondola so you could see the views at their best! Thank you for your feedback, and for taking the time to review our attraction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We take all our Christchurch visitors on the gondola, and have lunch at the cafe. There are great views, especially from the top. Go on a nice day and walk around outside. The Time Tunnel is entertaining for children, maybe for adults too. Although the gondola feels quite high up, you are never far from the ground. It's quite expensive but visitors would probably only do it once. We live here and have an annual pass. There are combo tickets to go on the tram too (opening again soon).

Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for being a frequent Gondola visitor! We're glad to hear that you enjoy the Time Tunnel and the cafe fare. The Tram re-opened in November 2013, and yes we do now have Tram and Gondola combos available once again. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The gondola ride up the hill is very nice and provides many photo opportunities both up and down. The viewing station is more than I expected with a very nice large facilitiy with open air platforms, cafeteria, gift shop, and tunnel ride (do not miss it as I almost did). We spent over two hours there just taking the surroundings. This was a nice experience. It helps to put it all into geographic perspective.

Thank MPatrick33629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

We hope that you could take lots of photos during your time at the Gondola. There are many different vantage points to view the beautiful scenery from! We are glad that you enjoyed your time at the Top, and thank you for taking the time to review our attraction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

I went with my mother and niece (6) we had a great day, amazing views, history train in the centre was great, didn't eat in as we brought a packed lunch and had it sitting out on the steps. I felt the shop was too over priced like most tourist shop, turns out I bought most of my gift here.....

Thank door34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for visiting the Gondola. It's lovely to sit out in the sun to have a bite to eat and take in the views! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the Time Tunnel experience, and that you found lots of gifts at the Shop at the Top. Thank you for posting your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Christchurch Gondola also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Christchurch Gondola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing