We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tries to be a fun and cozy park but it isnt.”

Ferrymead Heritage Park
Ranked #41 of 230 things to do in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The park is comprised of an Edwardian township, which includes buildings from a church and a police house to a bakery and a railway station, as well as an exhibition area.
Lincoln, Canterbury
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tries to be a fun and cozy park but it isnt.”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My girlfriend and I visited the ferrymead today and was deeply dispointed! When we arrived we tried the London double decker and the taum which was funny and enjoyable, but soon we both felt that something was wrong and reliaesed that the park didnt fell very heritageish. The park is too big compared to the number of houses and gallries, some buildings seemed to fall apart, the streets is asphalt/concrete instead of just dirt(maybe only me that think it should that way) and from time to time you are uncertain whether you have left the park due to the change in the surroundings(in the middle of the park there are cars parked and staff buildings).
Soon the illusion of a fun and nice heritage park was gone as well as our coziness.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank J_Boutrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    37
    12
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice Tram and Stream Train ride but a little rundown”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Went to Ferrymead Heritage park after looking at the brochure plus 1st Sunday of the monday has the stream train ride. The place is a little rundown but price wise, personally feel not too expensive given almost unlimited train/tram ride. Distance is quite short for the ride but the park is not too big in the first place and my two little girls still enjoys it. This is something worth doing in my opinion but the ride cannot compare to the puffing billy in Melbourne.

It is like a museum with lots of historic items (antique vechicle, press printing, bus, train, old houses and etc) but overall the park is not in excellent state and looks very rundown. Perhaps due to the impact of earthquake so by more people visiting the place. They could have more funding to rebuilt the place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DracoLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great on festival days”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This place is fantastic, but only on festival days, on other days it's like a ghost town. The wind can really blow through here so make sure you wear a coat.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank heykuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the wonderful trams and trains at Ferrymead”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Ferrymead is amazing place visit people can ride on the trams and also the steam train and visit the museum as well it is a place that will take old and young and i really injoyed my visit their a while ago their is heaps to see.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cassey2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable - especially Alan's Trolleybuses”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

The whole experience was very enjoyable - old houses, shops & businesses as they were around 100 years ago, together with various transport items. Buses, Trams, Fire Engines, Aeroplanes etc. What made it extra special was the attitude of the staff. It was late afternoon on a dullish Tuesday & we were virtually the only ones there (in contrast to the thousands on the previous weekend, apparently). In some places the staff would have been keen to close up but not here. We came across Alan tending to his beloved Trolleybuses & he put himself out to make sure we saw all of the exhibits including explaining the history of some of the work-in-progress restoration projects. We got a long ride on the Tramcar even though it was close to closing & had a chance to see the restored Trams at the far end of the line. The reception staff could not have been more welcoming and the overall impression was of a very well organised & friendly place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ferrymead Heritage Park also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Ferrymead Heritage Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing