We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best views, all in one day!”
Review of TranzAlpine Train

TranzAlpine Train
Book In Advance
More Info
US$378.01*
and up
Arthur's Pass National Park with TranzAlpine Train Small Group Tour from...
Ranked #4 of 233 things to do in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The TranzAlpine scenic train journey travels between Christchurch and Greymouth, from one coast of New Zealand to the other. From the comfort of world class carriages you'll see the fields of the Canterbury Plains and farmland, followed by the spectacular gorges and river valleys of the Waimakariri River. Your train then climbs into the majestic Southern Alps to Arthurs Pass National Park, before descending through lush beech rainforest to the West Coast town of Greymouth - a great base for visits to Punakaiki and the always-popular glaciers. All services feature state award winning carriages including panoramic side and sky-view windows, GPS triggered at-seat commentary, a fully licensed cafe, and open air viewing decks. The TranzAlpine operates a daily return service throughout the year.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best views, all in one day!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Being pressed for time to see as much of the natural wonders of New Zealand in our short holiday, we were impressed by the views from the Christchurch to Greymouth and return. We went through valleys, mountains, rivers, and fields all in one incredible train ride! The train was very comfortable and the open car was the best place to take pictures so that we could preserve the memories of a once in a lifetime adventure.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ArnoldEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,384
    637
    173
    35
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“By Train & by Sea.”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A great way to get to the south Island, and you get a sea voyage thrown in.
Very good observation cars with inside glass and also outdoor viewing areas.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Tamborine, Queensland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“What courage to build this railway!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The scenery was simply grand with the viewing car adding another exhilarating aspect to the viewing. A cyclone had caused delays and the last hour of our trip from Greymouth to Christchurch was in darkness due to a major delay. There was still enough light to gasp at the chasms straddled by viaducts and bridges.Mountains hug the railway. I loved it but would also like to repeat the trip in winter.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Delle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
525 reviews
306 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 827 helpful votes
“Comfortable Journey”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The TranzAlpine is run by New Zealand train operator Kiwi Rail which runs once daily between Christchurch, Arthurs Pass, Greymouth and back, passing the mountain scenery of the Southern Alps, the journey takes 4½ hours.
Our train was delayed for 40 mins so we had to wait outside till the train was ready and finally the train took off.The seats in the train were very comfortable with clean glass windows for viewing the scenery, there were open viewing platforms to look at the lovely scenery and to take pictures; we passed mountains, valleys, Sheep, lake and rivers. We had to get off the train and ride a bus before the tunnel for 15-20 minutes, the bus views near Arthur`s Pass were lovely especially of the valley and it was better than going through the dark tunnel in the train.

Though the scenery was amazing, I would not describe it as the most spectacular in New Zealand especially after seeing the Milford sound and Glaciers, but then the train is the most relaxing way to see the Southern Alps so I was pleased that I took the train.

We arrived at Christchurch, 45 mins behind schedule.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Smeets P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not That Great!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This train ride is strongly recommended by many. Unless you are new to train rides and would like the experience,use the bus. It's as pretty, if not more so and much cheaper!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rashdahod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TranzAlpine Train also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to TranzAlpine Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing