We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“creaky bunk beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Christchurch Rolleston House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The staff were helpful, the kitchen and communal area are big and clean, good central location. Unfortunately the dorm room I was in had the most creakiest bunk beds ever, even just turning over in bed was very noisy, so none of us got much sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clsw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

I could stay here only one night because the hostel was always fully booked, and I can understand why. Big and clean kitchen, big and clean bathrooms (even if their location was not the best: you have to pass through the kitchen to go to the showers), nice rooms, just beside the botanical garden. Friendly and helpful staff. It is the place where I would stay again in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed in the hostel for 3 nights (2x in 4-mixed dorm and 1x 6 mixed dorm, both rooms had the similar standards). Located near the cantenbury museum and fantastic botanic garden, the hostel was really tidy, the linen and bed really comfortable, good facilities, big well equiped kitchen, great lounge room with games, books, a guitar and big screen tv, perfect internet connection. The staff was one of the best during our 2 weeks trip in NZ, really helpful and giving excellent tips. I would gladly stay there again!

Room Tip: Rooms have all the same standards. But for a nice breakfast i would recommend a small cafe with thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Touchka_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

The YHA had only recently reopened, and it was looking super clean and tidy. I was really impressed by the helpfulness of the staff: they gave me excellent directions and help getting around, for which I was really grateful.

My room was clean and tidy, and the shared dining/cooking areas well equipped and clean.

The hostel itself is very handily located near the museum and park, and not far from the CBD.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bluecastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Good space in rooms, clean showers, toilets & kitchen. Great kitchen and lounge area. Good location. Friendly staff. Small car park at back. I would definitely recommend for you're stay in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EbronDoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

I loved staying here, it's absolutely the best location in Christchurch. Right next to the Arts Center Markets, and a short walk down the Pretty Tram Route into the center of the city. This YHA Hostel has a family home feeling, with big sofa chairs and lots of stuff everywhere in the common room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank New_Zealand_Travel_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Having stayed in 4 different hostels in Christchurch, and this one definitely wins the location contest, due to its quiet, historic surroundings and yet right next to the town center. We had a twin room upstairs that faced onto the (rather quiet) street, so we enjoyed the views over Christchurch’s historic old buildings, and the old tram that went by from time to time during the day.

The actual room was very small but provided enough space for two people plus one big piece of luggage each, so it was ok. However, the decor and furniture was very modest and rather dated. The walls were also quite thin. Luckily it wasn’t a party place when we were there, but sleeping with earplugs always helps when you’re in an old building with creaking floors and thin walls. The beds were not the best but we slept ok. As in many other hostels in New Zealand, the tiny little heater on the wall left a lot to be desired, and we were cold in our room in early spring.

The common room was nice, and there were enough internet terminals.

It’s a charming place to stay, but has the disadvantages of any old house, and it could need a bit of modernising in terms of furniture and decoration. Nothing beats the great location though, next to the Art Gallery, the entrance to the Botanic Gardens and a 5-minute walk to Cathedral Square!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristinaHegele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#23 of 146 in Christchurch
2,100 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 108 in Christchurch
210 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Old Countryhouse
The Old Countryhouse
#20 of 108 in Christchurch
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#10 of 108 in Christchurch
239 reviews
0.9 mi away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#12 of 108 in Christchurch
129 reviews
1.1 mi away
All Stars Inn on Bealey
All Stars Inn on Bealey
#9 of 108 in Christchurch
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Christchurch Rolleston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Christchurch Rolleston House

Address: 5 Worcester Street, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: £18 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Christchurch Rolleston House 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Christchurch, Rolleston House is centrally located opposite the Christchurch Arts Centre with its colourful weekend art and craft market and along the famous Christchurch tram route. Rolleston House is a gorgeous character home which has been converted into a comfortable hostel offering multi-share, double and twin rooms. Facilities include a TV room, self-catering kitchen, internet access and library exchange. The hostel provides late night entry for pre-bookings arriving on late flights and buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA Christchurch Rolleston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rolleston House Yha Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing