We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YHA Christchurch Rolleston House
Montara, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Not only was the staff friendly and helpful, they had an elevator and the room was very clean. It was really quiet and the beds were so soft and comfy. Being it was centered in town, we were able to walk everywhere. I only wish we could have stayed there another night.

Room Tip: try to get a private bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank otter94037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    44
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
15
51
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

A great central place to stay and very welcoming staff. However there are a few things which would make such a difference and could be achieved so easily. When we arrived the hostel was not full but even so, there were so few saucepans we had to wait until someone had finished using theirs. The supplying of non-stick pans is not good in any hostel - they are abused and possibly a health risk. Why should Rolleston House be so short of stainless pans? - other hostels have plenty! And PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE can ALL hostels have somewhere to put your soap when having a shower - the lack of a soap rack is so annoying, costs so little, and seems to be almost a universal problem! Solve these problems, maybe improve the door fitting so sounds and light ingress are reduced (and maybe a spot of oil on hinges?), and a full 5 star rating would result.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nelsonkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is generally speaking a good hostel if you expect to get hostel quality: cleanliness is not perfect, rooms are not amazing but you have a good location and it is quiet. As of most YHA in New Zealand you get free wifi if you have a YHA membership. It definitely sweeten the deal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mounir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I would not recommend this hostel at all, it was for sure the dirtiest YHA hostel that we haved stayed in 3 weeks on the south island.
We decided to pay a little more to get the comfort of having a private room. However, the bedsheets were covered with long black hair and short curly hair, it was disgusting. I had to change the sheets around midnight, no way I would have slept a single second in these bed sheets, so be careful.

Also, the showers are limited (3 for girls in the entire hostel) and they were not clean either. Also the kitchen looked like a big mess and cooking in these conditions were not fun at all.

If you like to sleep in a clean bed and use clean facilities, better choose a different hostel!

Also, it was impossible to find a email address of the hostel, and since we had to leave very early and complaints are inpossible to make!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cornelia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA N, Manager at YHA Christchurch Rolleston House, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Cornelia,

Thank you for taking time to review our hostel and for your comments. Cleanliness of the hostel is very important to us and I’m disappointed to hear that your room, the kitchen and showers didn’t meet your expectations, especially with the bed sheets.

We haven’t had this problem before but I have spoken with our cleaning staff who will now double check all bedding once the beds of been changed. We change sheets after each guest so bedding is clean and ready for every new guest.

Because our hostel is 100% full every day, the kitchen is in constant use. Since your stay with us, we have increased our kitchen cleans to four times a day so that present and future guests will find it tidy and ready for cooking.

Our hostel does have three female showers. YHA Christchurch Rolleston House is a heritage building and we are unable to make any major renovations or additions. We do, however, have an additional shower which is our disabled shower. This can be used by all guests. Our shower to guest ratio is appropriate to the hostel’s Qualmark star rating. Again, I have discussed the cleanliness of the showers with our cleaning staff and we plan to begin cleaning the showers more often.

In addition, our reception staff monitor all of these issues daily and throughout the day to ensure YHA Christchurch Rolleston House maintains a high standard of cleanliness, a standard that you expect at all YHAs.

Hostel contact information can be found on our website at www.yha.co.nz, this includes phone numbers and email addresses of each hostel as well as our central Customer Services contact phone number.

I hope you enjoy the rest of your trip

Kind regards,

Chris Dumicich, Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

The location is great and walking distance to city center. It has a carpark for free parking but it can only be access from Rolleston Avenue and not from the street where YHA is located. The room is clean but the floor has those squeaky sound when stepped on them.

Looks like the counter shutter are always down when I passes them few times. However, the staffs are generally friendly.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sunnytan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA N, Manager at YHA Christchurch Rolleston House, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Sunnytan30,

Thank you for taking time to review our hostel and for your comment about the shutter being down. Because we run a small hostel, our reception only has one person working on reception at a time. Because of that, we sometimes need to shut reception.

When our shutter is closed it’s usually because we are cleaning to maintain a high standard. We do leave out an intercom for guests to contact staff when we’re away from the desk. We have made new signs to make it easier for guests to see this and to understand what to do if we are not at reception.

Because our hostel is a historic, heritage building some of our floorboards do squeak! Thanks for letting us know about this. It will help us to identify, repair and preserve our heritage building.

I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and the free car parking that is provided to guests.

Kind regards,

Chris Dumicich, Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
322 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I chose to stay here because of its location: few steps to the Canterbury Museum, Naked bus stop, Botanic garden, Cathedral square. But seems that all YHA Christchurch can give. My room was ok but sharing room with a man who snored all nights made me sleepless. Worse, it didn't have any fan in room, thus, it was very hot during the daytime. We had to open the only window that also allowed flies and mosquito (perhaps???) attacking the room.
The kitchen was so small but looked good. The bathroom was not clean. And the staff? Not really nice, worse than any other YHA's whom I have met.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiet Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA N, Manager at YHA Christchurch Rolleston House, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Hello LQK2010,

Thanks for taking time to review our hostel. We appreciate your feedback as we’re always looking at ways to make our guests’ stays more comfortable.

I’m sorry to hear about the snoring guest in your room. Unfortunately, this is out of our control. However we do now offer earplugs at reception for guests to use. In regards to your room being hot, I am looking into purchasing fans.

Our cleaners work extremely hard to maintain high levels of cleanliness and we do apologise that you found our bathrooms unsatisfactory. We will continue to closely monitor these standards.

We have never had problems with staff friendliness before, but I have spoken with them again about the importance of providing excellent service to our guests.

Kind Regards

Chris Dumicich
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed at this hostel as I was getting the NakedBus early the next morning and it is a good location to get the bus as its a two minute walk across the road. When I arrived at the hostel there was quite a big queue to check in as only one computer was working. However the reception girls were very friendly and there was a lot of guides and leaflets in the reception area that are free to use. As I finally got into my room there was 2 bunk beds which was a good thing as there was only 3 other people sharing the room which is not a huge amount. There is a big kitchen located downstairs of the hostel and a seating area with sofas. However the only bad thing I found about this hostel is the shower facilities are situated downstairs only which means you have to walk through the kitchen area to get to the showers. This made me feel quite uncomfortable when having to walk through the kitchen area.

Overall I would say this is an okay place to stay if you are going to stay no more than a few nights. There is not a huge amount to do in Christchurch due to the earthquake and there is not many shops nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA N, Manager at YHA Christchurch Rolleston House, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Hi Katie,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We appreciate your feedback, especially regarding the location of the showers.

YHA Christchurch Rolleston House is a beautiful historic heritage building, and because of our heritage listing we cannot change the location of our bathrooms. We now have bathrobes available at reception for guests to use and I’ve let our staff know the importance of passing this info on to our guests.

I’m glad you enjoyed our helpful staff and our convenient location to the bus stop.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Chris Dumicich, Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.0 mi away
The Classic Villa
The Classic Villa
#25 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.8 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.8 mi away
Parkview on Hagley
Parkview on Hagley
#60 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 103 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Christchurch YMCA
Christchurch YMCA
#17 of 103 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#2 of 132 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Christchurch Rolleston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Christchurch Rolleston House

Property: YHA Christchurch Rolleston House
Address: 5 Worcester Street, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Christchurch Rolleston House 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Christchurch, Rolleston House is centrally located opposite the Christchurch Arts Centre with its colourful weekend art and craft market and along the famous Christchurch tram route. Rolleston House is a gorgeous character home which has been converted into a comfortable hostel offering multi-share, double and twin rooms. Facilities include a TV room, self-catering kitchen, internet access and library exchange. The hostel provides late night entry for pre-bookings arriving on late flights and buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your YHA Christchurch Rolleston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rolleston House Yha Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing