We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and homey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Christchurch Rolleston House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We took the double room plus rollaway for one night. The room had a separate exit at the back as it is also a wheelchair accessible room. The room had towels for us three, a TV, a sofa, luggage racks, efficient heater, kitchenette with coffee making facilities, milk on the fridge, dishes and utensils, dishwashing liquid, toiletries and efficient water heater. The windows front the Main Street, and right next to the Canterbury Museum and the Royal Botanical Gardens. Also in front is the tram stop though this is not recommended.

Beds are very comfortable, sheets and towels are clean. It's also value for money as it costs the same as three people getting separate beds in a dorm room.

Kitchen is like any YHA - well equipped. Reception very helpful.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank tan_del_MNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Christchurch Rolleston House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear tan del MNL

Thank you for taking time to write a review about the hostel.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at YHA Rolleston House. We like to make sure that the guests have a good time and it helps to have all the facilities to make your stay go smoothly.

As you mentioned we are in a great location close to some of the city’s best tourist attractions. The tram has a limited route at this point of time due to the Christchurch rebuild. Once the city progresses with the rebuild the tram company will be able to open up more of the tracks. This will make the tram ride a lot longer than it is now. It is great to have the tram as it brings something back to the city which has had some hard times of late.

Best of luck with the rest of your holiday.

Kind Regards,

Chris Dumicich, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for YHA Christchurch Rolleston House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights in the 6bed female dorm. Was a clean room and tidy. Bathrooms and kitchen also quite clean. Cute heritage building means bathrooms and facilities are downstairs. Staff were friendly and the location of the hostel is excellent - a 10min walk to everything. Very comfortable stay for a hostel. Would recommend it and stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deebee313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Had a lovely stay at the YHA in Christchurch. It is not a 5 star hotel but compared to the price and the fact that it is a backpacker hostel it was awesome! I recommend this to everybody :) The staff were friendly and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaF2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Not only was the staff friendly and helpful, they had an elevator and the room was very clean. It was really quiet and the beds were so soft and comfy. Being it was centered in town, we were able to walk everywhere. I only wish we could have stayed there another night.

Room Tip: try to get a private bath
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank otter94037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

A great central place to stay and very welcoming staff. However there are a few things which would make such a difference and could be achieved so easily. When we arrived the hostel was not full but even so, there were so few saucepans we had to wait until someone had finished using theirs. The supplying of non-stick pans is not good in any hostel - they are abused and possibly a health risk. Why should Rolleston House be so short of stainless pans? - other hostels have plenty! And PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE can ALL hostels have somewhere to put your soap when having a shower - the lack of a soap rack is so annoying, costs so little, and seems to be almost a universal problem! Solve these problems, maybe improve the door fitting so sounds and light ingress are reduced (and maybe a spot of oil on hinges?), and a full 5 star rating would result.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nelsonkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is generally speaking a good hostel if you expect to get hostel quality: cleanliness is not perfect, rooms are not amazing but you have a good location and it is quiet. As of most YHA in New Zealand you get free wifi if you have a YHA membership. It definitely sweeten the deal.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mounir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I would not recommend this hostel at all, it was for sure the dirtiest YHA hostel that we haved stayed in 3 weeks on the south island.
We decided to pay a little more to get the comfort of having a private room. However, the bedsheets were covered with long black hair and short curly hair, it was disgusting. I had to change the sheets around midnight, no way I would have slept a single second in these bed sheets, so be careful.

Also, the showers are limited (3 for girls in the entire hostel) and they were not clean either. Also the kitchen looked like a big mess and cooking in these conditions were not fun at all.

If you like to sleep in a clean bed and use clean facilities, better choose a different hostel!

Also, it was impossible to find a email address of the hostel, and since we had to leave very early and complaints are inpossible to make!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cornelia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA N, Manager at YHA Christchurch Rolleston House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Cornelia,

Thank you for taking time to review our hostel and for your comments. Cleanliness of the hostel is very important to us and I’m disappointed to hear that your room, the kitchen and showers didn’t meet your expectations, especially with the bed sheets.

We haven’t had this problem before but I have spoken with our cleaning staff who will now double check all bedding once the beds of been changed. We change sheets after each guest so bedding is clean and ready for every new guest.

Because our hostel is 100% full every day, the kitchen is in constant use. Since your stay with us, we have increased our kitchen cleans to four times a day so that present and future guests will find it tidy and ready for cooking.

Our hostel does have three female showers. YHA Christchurch Rolleston House is a heritage building and we are unable to make any major renovations or additions. We do, however, have an additional shower which is our disabled shower. This can be used by all guests. Our shower to guest ratio is appropriate to the hostel’s Qualmark star rating. Again, I have discussed the cleanliness of the showers with our cleaning staff and we plan to begin cleaning the showers more often.

In addition, our reception staff monitor all of these issues daily and throughout the day to ensure YHA Christchurch Rolleston House maintains a high standard of cleanliness, a standard that you expect at all YHAs.

Hostel contact information can be found on our website at www.yha.co.nz, this includes phone numbers and email addresses of each hostel as well as our central Customer Services contact phone number.

I hope you enjoy the rest of your trip

Kind regards,

Chris Dumicich, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.0 mi away
The Classic Villa
The Classic Villa
#27 of 146 in Christchurch
252 reviews
0.8 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 146 in Christchurch
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#4 of 105 in Christchurch
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Christchurch YMCA
Christchurch YMCA
#17 of 105 in Christchurch
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#1 of 135 in Christchurch
847 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orari Bed & Breakfast
Orari Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 135 in Christchurch
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Christchurch Rolleston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Christchurch Rolleston House

Address: 5 Worcester Street, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: £16 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Christchurch Rolleston House 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Christchurch, Rolleston House is centrally located opposite the Christchurch Arts Centre with its colourful weekend art and craft market and along the famous Christchurch tram route. Rolleston House is a gorgeous character home which has been converted into a comfortable hostel offering multi-share, double and twin rooms. Facilities include a TV room, self-catering kitchen, internet access and library exchange. The hostel provides late night entry for pre-bookings arriving on late flights and buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your YHA Christchurch Rolleston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rolleston House Yha Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing