We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget accommodation in town”
Review of Christchurch YMCA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Christchurch YMCA
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great budget accommodation in town”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed in a standard twin room. The room was clean, had a heater and electronic blanket on each bed, towel and soaps. There is plenty of free on-site parking. It's pretty much adjacent to Hagley Park South. The bathroom was ok, although the shower was had very little water pressure and it was hard to get it to a comfortable water temperature. Overall, it was a decent budget accommodation experience and would recommend the YMCA to all budget travellers.

The only complaint would be that the front doors on each of the rooms makes a lot of noise when opening and closing and it can be quite hard trying to sleep through irregular backpacker hours of showering / arriving / leaving times, which is all associated with loud door closing sounds.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not next to a shared bathroom - this way you won't get waken up by your fellow tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zigletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    160
    102
    32
    26
See reviews for
41
104
108
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at YMCA Christchurch on 2 separate occasions. 10-11 March and 23-24 March 2012 (1 night each). Checking in was very easy both times. We booked a standard twin/double on both stays (no ensuite bathroom). For the second stay we were upgraded to a deluxe triple with ensuite bathroom cos they had run out of standard double rooms. Fantastic. But even without an ensuite bathroom, we found the shared bathroom to be very clean and well-maintained. Don't have to worry about that. Quite impressed by the cleanliness.

We had the fry up $15 breakfast at the cafeteria on our first stay, pretty good value with free-flow toast, cereal and coffee/tea.

It was also really nice that the YMCA is right next to the botanic gardens. We enjoyed a very long walk at the gardens during our 2nd stay at YMCA. A number of eateries are available within walking distance too, making it convenient. The nearest supermarket is a bit of a walk away, but manageable.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are bigger, of course, and with ensuite bathroom. But if you're not too particu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaphneMaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Great position, friendly helpful staff, quiet, secure, good car parking, reasonable breakfasts, comfortable bed, clean amenities

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Overall we were very happy with our two night stay at the YMCA Christchurch. Great service and clean rooms with good value wifi available. However we really did not anticipate just how out of bounds the city centre of Christchurch is so therefore we had to walk a good 20 minutes in order to find some nightlife and eatery places. But a good effort by this establishment and we still really enjoyed this beautiful little city. There are very good bus services around Christchurch and we recommend to go out to Sumner (about 20 minutes) for a stunning coastal view and some nice little pubs and cafes

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We booked this place (by phone) last minute before departing Dunedin for Christchurch. The reception lady told me that the only room available to fit 5 people would be the apartment unit that cost $220/night. Split that among 5 persons & its $44/person. Quite steep for budget travelers but we were only going to stay there for a night before heading to Kiwi Basecamp, Christchurch.

We checked in about 830pm cause Nakedbus departed Dunedin quite late. It was a blessing that we boarded Nakedbus instead of Intercity or Atomic cause Nakedbus drops off at Canterbury Museum which is just a 50m walk to YMCA Christchurch (located @ Hereford Street). Hence didn't have to call a cab. YMCA Christchurch is a rather big complex with the gyms, clinics & also accommodation located closeby each other.

Reception was not as friendly (but efficient) as the other lodges/backpackers we've stayed before. The lounge/reception area was big, clean & well maintained. The pathway leading to the apartment was basic but clean. The door to the apartment was just like the other rooms, one wouldn't know that it's an apartment unit from the outside.

Upon entering the apartment we noticed how clean, modern & classy it was. This apartment was 2 storeys, ground floor was the kitchen (comes with cooking stove/over, microwave, pots, utensils, chocolate/tea/coffee drink sachet), 1 twin bedroom, toilet, dining table & living room. Upstairs was the 2nd queen bedroom (something like an open concept attic). The only drawback was the single toilet/bathroom. But its acceptable. The $220 paid was well spent!

As there was only 2 twins & 1 queen (fitting 4), I had to sleep on the sofa/couch which was very comfortable (watch tv to sleep). Sleep was good as it's really quiet at night. Privacy was good too & the view from the top floor was good overseeing the surrounding area, the museum & art gallery. There's a cafe/restaurant below offering breakfast, lunch & dinner.

Wished we could have stayed another night. This place is tip top. The only feedback I could think of is to train/hire friendly reception personnel. Please maintain your quality. I look forward to stay here in the future (in the apartment of course) & recommend family travelers to consider staying here when in Christchurch. It's worth your bucks!

Room Tip: Ask for the apartment. There's only 2 units if I'm not mistaken.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlzev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 145 in Christchurch
1,329 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Classic Villa
The Classic Villa
#28 of 145 in Christchurch
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#34 of 145 in Christchurch
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 145 in Christchurch
1,846 reviews
0.6 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 145 in Christchurch
1,827 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#3 of 103 in Christchurch
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christchurch YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christchurch YMCA

Property: Christchurch YMCA
Address: 12 Hereford Street | Canterbury, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Christchurch YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the most fantastic Central City location opposite the Arts Centre & Botanical Gardens. The extensive range of accommodation is low cost and you will be impressed by the high standards of presentation. From Standard Rooms with shared bathroom, Deluxe Rooms with ensuite bathroom, to Apartments with full kitchen facilities, the YMCA caters for all needs & budgets. The YMCA Christchurch offers free on-site parking. All guests have access to extensive on-site facilities for a small additional fee. These include wifi, health and fitness centre, laundry room & conference room. WE OFFER 24 HOUR RECEPTION!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Christchurch YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christchurch Ymca Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing