We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money”
Review of Christchurch YMCA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Christchurch YMCA
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

This place is dingy, smelly, very noisy in the middle of the night. Great location across from a gorgeous park and Botanical Gardens, but that is the only positive thing I can say about it. There seemed to be a lot of motels on the way in. Do yourself a favour and spend your $80NZ on one of those.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PeggyHarry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    157
    102
    32
    26
See reviews for
40
103
108
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

we stayed in a number of different hostels hotels and various other lodging while travelling around austrailia new zealand and beijing and this was my least favourite,the bathrooms and shower areas were at times not clean,toilets not flushing properly and cup and saucers left in bathroom sinks along with people leaving towels and toiletries in the bathroom areas.the kitchen was also very dated and small.the ymca does have a cafe next door to it and thay have cheap lovely food.another thing they do not allow alcohol to be drunk in the communal sitting room areas so if you want to have a glass of wine and watch tv forget about it.they also dont have tvs in the rooms.we didnt stay her long and to be honest i was would not consider it an option again.it has the location but needs a bit of a renovation.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugTipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Christchurch hotels

Wellington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

We booked a triple room and were on the 4th floor. Outside our door was the bathroom so a bit noisy as other lodgers were coming and going using the facilities. the room just had the bed, linen, towel, soap, and a table. Only one power point, so we were all lining up to charge our devices up, take a double adapter. Couldn't find the kitchen or tv room, no signs up anywhere. Location is great as it's a short walk to everything. great bar next street over, other side of Arts College, Astrolab I think it's called, worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

I was given a double room on the 2nd floor facing the cathedral.

Good - Room was pretty spacious and the bed was very comfortable. There is also a big wardrobe & hooks behind the door for you to hang your clothes. Located near the i-site, museum & the park. Cafe at the 1st floor serves good breakfast (though it's pretty expensive)

AFIs - Shared bathroom could have been cleaner. No free wifi, exorbitant charges for Internet. That one lady at reception desk could have been more polite. We had walked for an hour plus along the cordon-off red zone area and we wanted to find out the nearest breakfast place to avoid making long detours. That lady gave us an irritated look and rolled her eyes, before pointing to one diirection and told us to head that way. It turned out that area only had bars & restaurants and they do not serve breakfast. My only unpleasant experience in YMCA was with this lady, the rest of the staff were fantastic - good service in checking us in and helping us to store our luggage for the day.

This place is good for a night stay. The ChC city area cordoned off so there probably isn't a need to stay too long.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joankoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

The rooms were clean and spacious, and the staff were helpful. The excellent coffee shop chain Robert Harris in the foyer was an added bonus, and the towels in the double rooms were a nice touch.

Had no issues with the showers, and the place was kept very clean. However, the kitchen was absolutely tiny and ill-equipped. For such a large hostel this is a poor show. Eat out!

Location is good by the i-site and central park; also has a gym onsite

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jm661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level Contributor
124 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

If this place knew whether it was a hostel, a low-end hotel or what it might help. The room (double) was consistent with the best of hostels: spacious, heaters, storage, very clean. The bath was also conveniently located and very clean, no problems with hot water. The laundry wasn't bad.

But they might as well not have the kitchen. There is no way that number of rooms/beds can use the one small kitchen effectively and cleanly. If they want to be a hostel I'd suggest converting one room on each floor to a kitchen.

The front desk staff is ok if they exist mainly to provide housing for hospital outpatients/visitors of which there are many. But if they want to serve the tourist/backpacker market they badly need to ramp up customer service training.

All in all, til there are more options available in central Christchurch it offers a good room at a good price in a central location - but Christchurch being in the shape its in, a central location isn't necessarily an advantage.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,303 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
636 reviews
0.6 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#25 of 144 in Christchurch
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 144 in Christchurch
1,737 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#36 of 144 in Christchurch
904 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#4 of 103 in Christchurch
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christchurch YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christchurch YMCA

Property: Christchurch YMCA
Address: 12 Hereford Street | Canterbury, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Christchurch YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the most fantastic Central City location opposite the Arts Centre & Botanical Gardens. The extensive range of accommodation is low cost and you will be impressed by the high standards of presentation. From Standard Rooms with shared bathroom, Deluxe Rooms with ensuite bathroom, to Apartments with full kitchen facilities, the YMCA caters for all needs & budgets. The YMCA Christchurch offers free on-site parking. All guests have access to extensive on-site facilities for a small additional fee. These include wifi, health and fitness centre, laundry room & conference room. WE OFFER 24 HOUR RECEPTION!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Christchurch YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christchurch Ymca Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing