We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean nice rooms, staff below average.”
Review of Christchurch YMCA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Christchurch YMCA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Clean nice rooms, staff below average.”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

After arriving on kiwi bus we were made to wait half an hour at the reception desk before getting served although we had been at the front of the queue, the staff continued to check in others who had arrived in their direct line. After pointing out that we had been waiting a lot longer than anyone else she quickly said they're going as fast as they can and proceeded to check us in. No apology. At an obviously busy time which they experience every other day you would think they would have more than 2 members of staff on. Additionally, there seemed to be problems with key deposits they were taking them on card and in cash... However come the morning when we were checking out... problems occurred getting the cash back because staff yesterday had not made proper notes, however she did apologise this time.
On the bright side, The room we stayed in was nice, bright and clean which i was happy about. The kitchen is small but well equipped with cooker, grill and dishes. The location of the hostel is good not far from centre.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    157
    102
    32
    26
See reviews for
40
103
108
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Petaling District, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a single room. Room is bare bones but understandable for the price that I am paying. Shared bathrooms are clean and plenty. Good thing about them is the fact that they are self contained, ie. both the toilet as well as shower is in their respective rooms

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank owaief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juelsminde, Denmark
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

4 bed dorm mixed, share bathroom with 1-2 other rooms. The barhrooms was a bit dirty in the corners. Nice rooms with space on the floor, and clean. The kitchen was a little bit small, and not that much room in the fridges. Good location the city.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank VikiSarah2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in a private room with ensuite. Excellent quality, even had a balcony along with a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities.

Great location, next to the park and 5 mins from the centre.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank IceZebra99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

For the price we paid we felt it was an average stay for a 3 bed unit. Shared Kitchen was small and shared bathroom was a bit dirty. The room did get really hot at night and opening the window didnt help much. The beds were comfortable and the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Good location as well. Felt like we can stay in a motel by paying slightly more.
We did try the rrestaurant downstairs and the prices were on the high side. However the food was good and the service excellent so I did feel it was worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wreckoftheday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Had the best stay at YMCA Christchurch. I got upgraded from a big dorm to a 4 bed dorm! Well worth doing if you can! It was really clean and tidy. The staff really helpful and friendly! It is close to the bus stops and not that far away from town, however there is not a lot around for something to eat. Fantastic stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calcarie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Overall we felt the hostel was a good value for the money: $80 for the night included a private double bed, corner room which had plenty of room for our bags, and multiple single bathrooms along the hallway so we never had to wait for a shower and toilet. There are restaurant facilities in the building which we did not trial. The parking lot seemed to have plenty of spots when we were there and the building was located right on the park so the section of town seemed nice. Only problem was the internet service, which was $1 for 10 minutes. After putting in our money the time ticked down and never loaded our page so we had to ask for a refund at the desk.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AlsoLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
634 reviews
0.6 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#25 of 144 in Christchurch
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#36 of 144 in Christchurch
903 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Classic Villa
The Classic Villa
#28 of 144 in Christchurch
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 103 in Christchurch
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christchurch YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christchurch YMCA

Property: Christchurch YMCA
Address: 12 Hereford Street | Canterbury, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Christchurch YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the most fantastic Central City location opposite the Arts Centre & Botanical Gardens. The extensive range of accommodation is low cost and you will be impressed by the high standards of presentation. From Standard Rooms with shared bathroom, Deluxe Rooms with ensuite bathroom, to Apartments with full kitchen facilities, the YMCA caters for all needs & budgets. The YMCA Christchurch offers free on-site parking. All guests have access to extensive on-site facilities for a small additional fee. These include wifi, health and fitness centre, laundry room & conference room. WE OFFER 24 HOUR RECEPTION!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Christchurch YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christchurch Ymca Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing