We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hostel”
Review of Christchurch YMCA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Christchurch YMCA
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Average hostel”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

The hostel is ok, the rooms are fairly big if you are in a 6 bed room and there are plenty of showers and toilets. The staff were not overly helpful when I stayed there and the place could have been cleaner.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TippElle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    160
    102
    32
    26
See reviews for
41
104
108
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
525 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 828 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

YMCA is a massive hostel and I had a single room but I had to share the bathrooms, this was not a problem as there were many bathrooms. Bathrooms did look a bit run down but the showers were great, which was more important to me. My room had a balcony with a nice view and It was cosy in a quiet area, the hostel is v centrally located and I went to the kitchen to make coffee which was v busy with people cooking from scratch. I just used the hot water from the geezer to make coffee and I went to lounge to watch bit of TV, I got talking to some ladies (3 generations) who were very friendly and they gave me excellent advice/ tips for my trip. I enjoyed staying at hostel as it is more fun and I had no problem getting shower in morning,my bus pick up was at 7.00 am from Rolleston Avenue which was 3 mins walk from the hostel.
I stayed in the same hostel room after my tour which was nice as my room was clean and comfortable also good value for money.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Smeets P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We only stayed one night. We arrived late from the airport. The rooms and bathrooms have been clean, staff was very friendly . We had a great sleep and ready for a 1 day sightseeing in Christchurch. Good value for money! Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 800georgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

After arriving on kiwi bus we were made to wait half an hour at the reception desk before getting served although we had been at the front of the queue, the staff continued to check in others who had arrived in their direct line. After pointing out that we had been waiting a lot longer than anyone else she quickly said they're going as fast as they can and proceeded to check us in. No apology. At an obviously busy time which they experience every other day you would think they would have more than 2 members of staff on. Additionally, there seemed to be problems with key deposits they were taking them on card and in cash... However come the morning when we were checking out... problems occurred getting the cash back because staff yesterday had not made proper notes, however she did apologise this time.
On the bright side, The room we stayed in was nice, bright and clean which i was happy about. The kitchen is small but well equipped with cooker, grill and dishes. The location of the hostel is good not far from centre.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling District, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a single room. Room is bare bones but understandable for the price that I am paying. Shared bathrooms are clean and plenty. Good thing about them is the fact that they are self contained, ie. both the toilet as well as shower is in their respective rooms

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank owaief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juelsminde, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

4 bed dorm mixed, share bathroom with 1-2 other rooms. The barhrooms was a bit dirty in the corners. Nice rooms with space on the floor, and clean. The kitchen was a little bit small, and not that much room in the fridges. Good location the city.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank VikiSarah2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in a private room with ensuite. Excellent quality, even had a balcony along with a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities.

Great location, next to the park and 5 mins from the centre.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank IceZebra99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 145 in Christchurch
1,330 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Classic Villa
The Classic Villa
#28 of 145 in Christchurch
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#34 of 145 in Christchurch
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 145 in Christchurch
1,846 reviews
0.6 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 145 in Christchurch
1,827 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#3 of 103 in Christchurch
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christchurch YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christchurch YMCA

Property: Christchurch YMCA
Address: 12 Hereford Street | Canterbury, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Christchurch YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the most fantastic Central City location opposite the Arts Centre & Botanical Gardens. The extensive range of accommodation is low cost and you will be impressed by the high standards of presentation. From Standard Rooms with shared bathroom, Deluxe Rooms with ensuite bathroom, to Apartments with full kitchen facilities, the YMCA caters for all needs & budgets. The YMCA Christchurch offers free on-site parking. All guests have access to extensive on-site facilities for a small additional fee. These include wifi, health and fitness centre, laundry room & conference room. WE OFFER 24 HOUR RECEPTION!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Christchurch YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christchurch Ymca Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing