We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced rip off compared to ymca akld”
Review of Christchurch YMCA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Christchurch YMCA
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

single room rate 60 a night too high and a rip off.
in akld ymca it is 44 a night in a much bigger city
15 dollar dinner is another rip off with tiny servings.
No restaurants nearby and if no car, can go hungry in this place at night due to extremely overpriced food

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sudhir_Rajagopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd S, Manager at Christchurch YMCA, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

The YMCA Auckland and YMCA Christchurch are proud of the accommodation facilties we provide to a large range of individuals. Our tarrifs reflect market conditions and are clearly justified by the facilities we provide. The YMCA Christchurch is much more than just a bed as it boasts a cafe, bar & restaurant, health & fitness centre, squash courts and an indoor climbing wall. The rooms are equipped with full bedding, electric blankets and heaters which highlight the affordable rates we provide.
Thanks for your feedback as without your opinion we would not know any different.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Our double room was nice and a good size with a heater. There are a lot of bathrooms which are generally clean but many don't have a working lock. The kitchen is terrible! It's about the same size as you'd find in an average apartment and it's a nightmare when it's busy. The kitchen is always filthy - nobody cleans up after themself. We couldn't even find a single fork! With the amount of people and the mess that's left it's almost a health & safety risk.
The on-site cafe is far too expensive.
Some of the reception staff are quite rude but we were given a late check out when asked.
The wifi had a terrible signal in our room.
If you can cope without cooking then the place isn't too bad but we've stayed in better places in Christchurch.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank katie-a-r-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd S, Manager at Christchurch YMCA, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thanks for the feedback Katie.
I find it concerning to learn online that locks on the bathrooms do not work. As we have an onsite maintenance manager then regular checks are completed and any guest feedback is actioned promptly.
Unfortunately controlling the behaviour and dishonesty of other guests in the kitchen is a major concern. We constantly buy replacement cutlery/crockery/utensils/pots etc to ensure guests have the necessary equipment for standard cooking. However I can inform you that we have installed new waste facilities and have looked at a tighter cleaning schedule. So watch this space.
As I write this I am happy to inform you that a considerable figure has been spent on upgrading the wifi system to ensure guests get what they pay for so any connectivity issues will be a thing of the past.
Once again thanks kindly for your feedback and as you can see we take it seriously and action accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Had a room with own ensuite... Was in a great location, room was great, but the staff weren't that helpful and if anything a bit stand offish. Was pretty central to everything. Towel was provided for the room

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taz-phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Centrally located and on the pick&drop route of the airport shuttle (super shuttle), this place has excellent connectivity for all needs.
The centre and the malls are a walk away while the Canterbury museum, botanical garden and I-site are less than 100m away.
The first floor has a kitchen and the rooms are basic and clean. Wifi is available on payment.
Washrooms are adequate and four on a floor, with the triple room having one right outside the door.
A Robber Harris Cafe is located on the ground floor (open till 5 pm - surprisingly, quite a few cafes, including all at the South City Mall closed by 6 pm anyway!) as also counters for booking of various tours and activities.
Highly recommended for all except those eyeing luxury!! You could try for a room facing the road, which also means, the Botanical Garden!

Room Tip: Road facing (implies garden facing) rooms recommended. Check out the electric plugs of NZ, which ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shyamnambiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed twice at YMCA christchurch during our holiday in christchurch, 1 night at double room and 1 night at family room (1 king bed and 2 twin beds). The shared bathroom is clean and big. toiletries and towel is provided for both room types. Free shuttle from YMCA to Scenic train station can be arrange and book at the receiption counter. lift in the building so no problem if you arrieve with a big luggage bag.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liawht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The hostel is ok, the rooms are fairly big if you are in a 6 bed room and there are plenty of showers and toilets. The staff were not overly helpful when I stayed there and the place could have been cleaner.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank TippElle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

YMCA is a massive hostel and I had a single room but I had to share the bathrooms, this was not a problem as there were many bathrooms. Bathrooms did look a bit run down but the showers were great, which was more important to me. My room had a balcony with a nice view and It was cosy in a quiet area, the hostel is v centrally located and I went to the kitchen to make coffee which was v busy with people cooking from scratch. I just used the hot water from the geezer to make coffee and I went to lounge to watch bit of TV, I got talking to some ladies (3 generations) who were very friendly and they gave me excellent advice/ tips for my trip. I enjoyed staying at hostel as it is more fun and I had no problem getting shower in morning,my bus pick up was at 7.00 am from Rolleston Avenue which was 3 mins walk from the hostel.
I stayed in the same hostel room after my tour which was nice as my room was clean and comfortable also good value for money.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Smeets P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 146 in Christchurch
2,087 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 108 in Christchurch
209 reviews
1 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 108 in Christchurch
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#10 of 108 in Christchurch
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Christchurch Rolleston House
YHA Christchurch Rolleston House
#24 of 108 in Christchurch
101 reviews
3.2 mi away
Haka Lodge Christchurch
Haka Lodge Christchurch
#3 of 108 in Christchurch
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christchurch YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christchurch YMCA

Address: 12 Hereford Street | Canterbury, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: £17 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Christchurch YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the most fantastic Central City location opposite the Arts Centre & Botanical Gardens. The extensive range of accommodation is low cost and you will be impressed by the high standards of presentation. From Standard Rooms with shared bathroom, Deluxe Rooms with ensuite bathroom, to Apartments with full kitchen facilities, the YMCA caters for all needs & budgets. The YMCA Christchurch offers free on-site parking. All guests have access to extensive on-site facilities for a small additional fee. These include wifi, health and fitness centre, laundry room & conference room. WE OFFER 24 HOUR RECEPTION!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Christchurch YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christchurch Ymca Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing