We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms, very handy for airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Ranked #21 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Large rooms, very handy for airport”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

With many of the major hotels in Christchurch now closed, I stayed for a 2 night business trip. The hotel is adjacent to the airport, though a little too far to walk with bags. But I called the free shuttle from the terminal which arrived within 5 minutes. Check in was smooth and efficient and I was pleasantly surprised to get 24 hour WiFi at $10, which is cheap by NZ standards. The WiFi speed is good BTW.

The room is pleasantly large with 2 queen beds, a small writing table and chair and other furniture. Room temperature was fine, though not sure how easily adjustable it is. The bathroom is quite reasonable with both bath and over-bath shower, both with reasonable water pressure and adequate water temperature controls.

Ate in the on-siter restaurant both nights, food was good and reasonably priced and service attentive and professional.

Overall I was very pleased with the hotel. Its a little dated (probably built in the 1970's) and lacks facilities such as a gym (there is an outdoor pool but given this is Christchurch its probably usable about 20 days a year), but the rooms are large, well appointed and the staff are efficient and friendly.

Just be aware it basically a long way out from the city. Its convenient to the airport and the next door Antartic Centre, but the CBD and most attractions in Christchurch are a fair distance away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing inwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Mark D

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We have recently announced a substantial refurbishment and upgrade programme which will take place over the next two years to minimise the impact on our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    749
    402
    125
    55
See reviews for
303
714
168
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I use this Hotel when i Travel overseas Twice a year as it is so Handy to the airport,free shuttle 24hours,i can park my car there for 4weeks and stay 1 night for $200,so cheap,cant beat it...The rooms are clean, the beds are nice and firm,nice bathrooms,staff always friendly and heipfull.see you again in August.....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear pipersg

Thank you for your comments. Nice to hear from a happy guest. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Whilst this hotel is nice and convenient to the airport it is and old building with some flaws. Firstly you can hear into the rooms next to you. Not just a few small noises but you can hear whole conversations and the television. Secondly, if you are on a street facing side you will likely have truck noise all night. Suggest you ask for an interior room, or take earplugs! We did get a $25 food voucher as part of our booking, so we used this for 2 continental breakfasts and paid the $10 difference. Given that we only had to pay $10 for breakfast we thought the selection was quite ok. I would only recommend staying here if you have an early flight, otherwise there are better hotels/motels only slightly further from the airport.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelB_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Arrived from KUL thru soon-to-be-ended airasia flight at 10.30pm. Has a flight to Queenstown the next day so we decided to book the Premium Family Room as 'we' consist of 4 adult and 2 child.The room was big enough for all of us with 2 queen size beds and 2 single beds. Choices on the telly was great but cant enjoy it much due to fatigueness. Excellent selection of complimentary coffee & tea. Toilet was clean and sufficient. The hotels' luggage room was very useful and the check out time is 10am.

Another best thing about the hotel is it just a quick 3minutes walk to the International Antarctic Centre- great place for the kids and the cafe has nice fish & chips.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanyALGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The Sudima is a courtesy coach ride or a 5-6 minute walk from Christchurch International Terminal. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Ideal for early flights out of Christchurch. Just across the road is the Antarctic Centre. A must see if you are visiting Christchurch. The room we had was a tad on the small side but the bed was quite comfortable. We had a choice of a buffet dinner or a la carte. You were able to check out the buffet before making your decision which we thought was a good idea. We went with the buffet which we really enjoyed. We didn't have breakfast at the motel as we had an early flight. All in all it was an enjoyable overnight stay

Room Tip: Gound floor rooms have a patio with table and chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FJB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

Very nice, friendly staff and good amenities. Nice food. Excellent shuttle service.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hogg1es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I booked the Sudima for its location right on the airport doorstep as I was arriving lateish for a very early flight the following morning. The rooms are clean and comfortable, perhaps at the same standard as a run of the mill motor inn. I found the air conditioner / heater in my room rattled a little and I couldn't really turn it off. Not enough of an issue for me to ask staff for assistance though. There was also quite a bit of plumbing noise from the other rooms so if you're a light sleeper and have to be up early you might find it difficult while listening to everyone else's showers and toilets.

My room rate included a voucher for a meal in the restaurant. I used it for dinner which was extremely underwhelming. After a long day travelling I was looking forward to a tasty meal, nothing fancy. I ordered the pasta of the day and the portion size was very large but the food was bland and to be honest I could have made it better myself at home. Bread was cold with a side dish of frozen butter. Didn't help.

Big ticks for service. Check in was quick, directions to my room very clear. Restaurant service also great. There is an express check out service and free shuttle to airport terminals available on demand 24 hrs. For the level of service and standard of rooms with a free meal thrown in it was good value. It's a typical airport hotel - a great place to rest your head while in transit and that's about it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mseleanorabernathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
5.5 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#25 of 144 in Christchurch
1,752 reviews
5.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 144 in Christchurch
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 144 in Christchurch
1,264 reviews
0.1 mi away
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
#8 of 105 in Christchurch
182 reviews
1.0 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#2 of 144 in Christchurch
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Property: Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Address: 550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Hotel located next to golf course & recreation center, adjacent to airport (free transfer) & 10 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudima Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing