We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Nearby Hotels
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Quest Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Argyle on the Park(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pavilions Hotel(Christchurch)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,916)
Filter reviews
1,916 results
Traveller rating
479
823
426
130
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
479
823
426
130
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschristchurch airportnew winginternational antarctic centreon demandfree shuttlean early flightshuttle servicehire carlast nightnew zealandafter midnightnext morningshopping centreone night staybed was comfortablethe ground floorshort stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,607 - 1,612 of 1,916 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I was on a late flight back from Australia, there van picks you up and takes you to Sudima, which was probably the best thing about this hotel. The night staff on the 24th of June were over friendly which came across as fake. They made it a bit uncomfortable. I was hungry after my flight and wanted to get room service they only have microwave meals which are over priced. The only reason I would stay again would be I could not get a flight on the same day and it a fantastic location by the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Dear Aimee H

Thank you for your comments. I am disappointed you found our night staff 'over friendly' making you feel uncomfortable. We regularly receive great feedback about our friendly and helpful team and the down to earth service offered to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed here recently, not usually our choice when staying in NZ but due to airline changes of our flight departure time it seemed to be the best option for a early morning flight. Our evening was pleasant and the resturant good although they do need to train wait staff a little better in the art of waiting upon patrons, that aside it was value for money and pleasant surroundings. We checked out at 3.30am for our flight , their shuttle bus making the dash across the road easy on a cold morning. We found out at checkin that our flight had now been delayed by 7 hours and would not leave until mid afternoon. We decided to not wait in a cold airport for that length of time, so we walked across back to the Sudima to see if we could wait in their lounge until at least until day light. We could indeed , not only could we do this but they offered us back our room we had checked out of and extended the check out time due to the fact that our flight was delayed. Cold and tired from our early rise we were able to go back to bed and catch a few more hours sleep until lunch time. We discovered then we were to be delayed until 7pm a further 4 hours. They stored our hand luggage to enable us to go out for awhile rather than sit at the airport. Upon returning we were given a courtesy life back to the airport. This great serviced turned what could have been a miserable 13 hour delay into an extra day in Christchurch. We think that we will be using them again when we need to fly in and out of Christchurch.!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vondyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Dear VondyH

Thank you for your comments. Delayed flights make for stressful times and I am pleased we were able to make your day less miserable. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Stayed here the as we had an early morning flight. We booked a Premium Bureau Room which was nice and modern. Had a view of the pool area. You can hear the rooms around you (bathrooms and a bit of the tv).

Ate at the restaurant, the food was very nice. They forgot our main meals so had to wait for them as we saw everyone who came in after us get theirs. We had to ask where ours were, only to be told they were coming shortly, 15 mins later they arrived with no apology.

But in all, a great location wise motel for those late night/early morning flights.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itsmebarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Dear itsmebarbs

Thank you for your comments. Please accept my apologies for the delay you experienced in receiving your meals. I am pleased you found Sudima Christchurch a great location for your early morning departure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

With many of the major hotels in Christchurch now closed, I stayed for a 2 night business trip. The hotel is adjacent to the airport, though a little too far to walk with bags. But I called the free shuttle from the terminal which arrived within 5 minutes. Check in was smooth and efficient and I was pleasantly surprised to get 24 hour WiFi at $10, which is cheap by NZ standards. The WiFi speed is good BTW.

The room is pleasantly large with 2 queen beds, a small writing table and chair and other furniture. Room temperature was fine, though not sure how easily adjustable it is. The bathroom is quite reasonable with both bath and over-bath shower, both with reasonable water pressure and adequate water temperature controls.

Ate in the on-siter restaurant both nights, food was good and reasonably priced and service attentive and professional.

Overall I was very pleased with the hotel. Its a little dated (probably built in the 1970's) and lacks facilities such as a gym (there is an outdoor pool but given this is Christchurch its probably usable about 20 days a year), but the rooms are large, well appointed and the staff are efficient and friendly.

Just be aware it basically a long way out from the city. Its convenient to the airport and the next door Antartic Centre, but the CBD and most attractions in Christchurch are a fair distance away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing inwards
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Dear Mark D

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We have recently announced a substantial refurbishment and upgrade programme which will take place over the next two years to minimise the impact on our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I use this Hotel when i Travel overseas Twice a year as it is so Handy to the airport,free shuttle 24hours,i can park my car there for 4weeks and stay 1 night for $200,so cheap,cant beat it...The rooms are clean, the beds are nice and firm,nice bathrooms,staff always friendly and heipfull.see you again in August.....

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Dear pipersg

Thank you for your comments. Nice to hear from a happy guest. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews