We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasent staff Good facilites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Ranked #21 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasent staff Good facilites”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Close to airport with friendly staff on hand to pickup at 1am in the morning and to bookin . Comfortable rooms and great value for money.

Room Tip: If arriving late see if you can get a ground level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    744
    398
    125
    55
See reviews for
302
707
165
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

I arrived 9pm after booking online a week earlier and securing with a credit card number.on check in I was told I had to pay for the room on check in as that was company policy. I explained I had never had to do this in the many hotels I have stayed in and got the same line from the cold uninterested receptionist. She then advised I had to prepay for my breakfast. After I reluctantly agreed she then advised I had to pay a 3.5% fee to pay by credit card which I have also never experienced, again I was told it was company policy. My vehicle was also almost towed away as the receptionist failed to advise that if I didn't have a car park ticket I would be towed away, I was advised this by another guest. The breakfast that I was forced to prepay was cold and horrible. Trust me stay at "the copthorne commodore hotel" it's another 30 second drive and much better. When I complained the next day the receptionist was uninterested and said the same thing about the company policy. DON'T STAY HERE!

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Adam N

Thank you for your feedback. I am concerned about a number of the comments you have made.

The only way you would have been asked to prepay for breakfast was if you had in fact ordered it as a part of your on line accommodation booking.

On this basis it becomes part of a package with breakfast at a discounted rate. Unless you have a pre-arranged chargeback arrangements in place we do require guests to prepay their accommodation package.

If you had brought your dissatisfaction with your breakfast to our attention then we would have gladly refunded the cost to you and I am still happy to do this if you would like to contact me directly.

Payment by credit card attracts a surcharge of 1.5% not 3.5% as you have claimed.

Your car was certainly not 'almost towed away' as you have stated - we do this as a very last resort however the requirement for you to obtain a parking permit is well sign posted and usually reinforced by the receptionist on check-in - my apologies if this did not occur on this occasion. I am disappointed you didn't receive the warm and friendly service that we frequently receive positive feedback for, from our front office team, and we have discussed ways of better handling the issues of pre payment and credit card surcharge for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Arrived 1am from long flight. Room freezing cold, only one blanket no spares. Very old run down hotel, expensive compared to other places around NZ. Only 1 soap and 1 shampoo in bathroom for 2 people. Heater could not be adjusted. Was too tired to do anything at that time of the night. Told reception next day, just said you should have called us. Not good enough, this is a disgrace to the tourist industry, especially Christchurch where they have had a hard time and need to have hotels that look after their guests. Only stayed here as it was closest to airport, guess they know this is a selling point and most people only stay 1 night. Very expensive for a shabby old room. Thankfully moved onto a lovely warm welcoming Hotel for the next few nights elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GVH232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear GVH232

Thank you for your comments.

Please contact me directly so we can discuss the points you have raised more fully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

Close to airport with 24 hour shuttle from airport. Clean, warm but expect a walk to get to room as mostly on one level. Great value for money transit hotel.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Ozstars

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased you found the hotel convenient and also value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
284 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Everything from when I arrived until I left after an overnight stay was a pleasant experience. My check-in was friendly and efficient, my room welcoming and comfortable, The ambiance in the bar and restaurant is positive.

Room Tip: Sorry, no idea. Allocated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerlinBlaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Merlin Blaise

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased you found staying with us a pleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Stayed here for one night due to our flight being cancelled. Great pick up/ drop off service. The room was a bit smelly due to it not being used or not aired. Great location to airport, check in very good only one night, so we can not give too many other details.

Room Tip: Great location for air port could not get better,700 mtrs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dicke-nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear dicke-nz

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased you found our location convenient and you appreciated our 24 hour free courtesy shuttle. Hopefully you left details about the room smell with our housekeeping team so they could investigate the cause.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comet, Qld
Level Contributor
261 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This was a bit of a shock to the system after 3 weeks of staying with friends and in Youth Hostels where you get to meet and talk to people from all over the place. Definitely not our sort of place. It was recommended by a travel agent and I can understand why. It is spitting distance to the airport and runs a courtesy bus to an from there as required.
No complaints about the staff, they were fantastic. It's just the impersonal nature of large hotels that we don't really like.
We ended up staying 2 nights instead of one so we could visit a cousin in Christchurch. I'm not sure what the staff thought when we left the room as we were finishing our food and wine and had a lot of rubbish to dump before taking our flight home. Perhaps they are used to that but maybe they don't have a lot of self caterers so they might have been wondering just how hungover we were.
Needless to say, since we had all the leftovers, we didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food there.
Summary: A convenient location with cheerful and helpful staff but not an intimate atmosphere.

Room Tip: I can't imagine that any of them are very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goannas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Goannas

Thank you for your interesting comments. I am pleased you found our location convenient and our staff cheerful and helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
5.5 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#26 of 144 in Christchurch
1,681 reviews
0.9 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 144 in Christchurch
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
#8 of 103 in Christchurch
174 reviews
1.0 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
712 reviews
1.0 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Property: Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Address: 550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Hotel located next to golf course & recreation center, adjacent to airport (free transfer) & 10 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudima Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing