We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location...will stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Ranked #21 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Excellent Location...will stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

I arrived just after midnight and rang the hotel for the shuttle pickup
Within two minutes it arrived and two minutes later arrived at hotel.
The hotel is of an older design but updated and very comfortable.
Being a weekend I scored a $25 food and beveridge voucher which I used for an excellent hot buffet brekfast.
The hotel is tastefully furnished throughout
The menu and meals were excellent , staff fiendly and professional
I would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    725
    393
    124
    55
See reviews for
298
690
164
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
129 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

I booked this motel because of it's proximity to the Christchurch Airport. I had an evening function in town and a 6:30 am flight to Sydney, so I wanted to get to the airport quickly in the morning.

Check in at 11pm, all good, friendly and no problem. The motel in spacious and only 2 levels as most remaining motels in Christchurch are. The restuarant was closing but the bar seemed quite lively.

All I needed was a good nights sleep (even if it was only 4 hours or so). Room was OK and big enough and importantly quiet. I checked out at 4:30 with no delay. Rather than wait a few moments for the shuttle bus I chose to walk the 7 mins into the airport and got there about the same time as the bus. So for convenience to the airport this motel is the best.

It is actually also a pleasant place to stay, not 5 star but I will use it again. Cost was NZ$155 room only for a last min booking.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicnzsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temuka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
141 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

After the late night arrival flight ideal if you then have a long drive ahead to stay overnight.
If you do this you can park your car there on your departure saving on Airport Parking Fees.
Rooms basic but clean, the bathrooms certainly need updated...also be nice of the roof had some soundproofing in it, the rain kept me awake! quite noisey.
Excellent shuttle service, nice guy was waiting to collect me and only a 2minute ride to the
Sudima Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor as in my room which seemed a mile hike away from Reception and NO lift to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
965 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,319 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed at the Sudima as most of hotels in city centre are closed. This is a good basic hotel within walking distance to airport or they provide a courtesy airport shuttle bus every 30 mins..
The rooms are basic but clean, beds comfortable, bathrooms small.
The hotel does have a bar and restaurant so you don't have to go far for a drink or a meal.
Good option close to airport.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindakthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Close to airport with friendly staff on hand to pickup at 1am in the morning and to bookin . Comfortable rooms and great value for money.

Room Tip: If arriving late see if you can get a ground level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

I arrived 9pm after booking online a week earlier and securing with a credit card number.on check in I was told I had to pay for the room on check in as that was company policy. I explained I had never had to do this in the many hotels I have stayed in and got the same line from the cold uninterested receptionist. She then advised I had to prepay for my breakfast. After I reluctantly agreed she then advised I had to pay a 3.5% fee to pay by credit card which I have also never experienced, again I was told it was company policy. My vehicle was also almost towed away as the receptionist failed to advise that if I didn't have a car park ticket I would be towed away, I was advised this by another guest. The breakfast that I was forced to prepay was cold and horrible. Trust me stay at "the copthorne commodore hotel" it's another 30 second drive and much better. When I complained the next day the receptionist was uninterested and said the same thing about the company policy. DON'T STAY HERE!

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Adam N

Thank you for your feedback. I am concerned about a number of the comments you have made.

The only way you would have been asked to prepay for breakfast was if you had in fact ordered it as a part of your on line accommodation booking.

On this basis it becomes part of a package with breakfast at a discounted rate. Unless you have a pre-arranged chargeback arrangements in place we do require guests to prepay their accommodation package.

If you had brought your dissatisfaction with your breakfast to our attention then we would have gladly refunded the cost to you and I am still happy to do this if you would like to contact me directly.

Payment by credit card attracts a surcharge of 1.5% not 3.5% as you have claimed.

Your car was certainly not 'almost towed away' as you have stated - we do this as a very last resort however the requirement for you to obtain a parking permit is well sign posted and usually reinforced by the receptionist on check-in - my apologies if this did not occur on this occasion. I am disappointed you didn't receive the warm and friendly service that we frequently receive positive feedback for, from our front office team, and we have discussed ways of better handling the issues of pre payment and credit card surcharge for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Arrived 1am from long flight. Room freezing cold, only one blanket no spares. Very old run down hotel, expensive compared to other places around NZ. Only 1 soap and 1 shampoo in bathroom for 2 people. Heater could not be adjusted. Was too tired to do anything at that time of the night. Told reception next day, just said you should have called us. Not good enough, this is a disgrace to the tourist industry, especially Christchurch where they have had a hard time and need to have hotels that look after their guests. Only stayed here as it was closest to airport, guess they know this is a selling point and most people only stay 1 night. Very expensive for a shabby old room. Thankfully moved onto a lovely warm welcoming Hotel for the next few nights elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GVH232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear GVH232

Thank you for your comments.

Please contact me directly so we can discuss the points you have raised more fully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
5.5 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#30 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
0.1 mi away
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
#8 of 102 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
1.0 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.0 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Property: Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Address: 550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Hotel located next to golf course & recreation center, adjacent to airport (free transfer) & 10 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudima Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing