We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearest to the Terminal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Ranked #21 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nearest to the Terminal”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Early morning flight, so looked for the nearest hotel so I could walk to the terminal if needed. As it was the hotel minibus was waiting as I left and he got me there in less than a minute. It is close and its easy to walk if you have to. The departure experience was probably the best I can say about the hotel. its functional. Food in the restaurant buffet is average as is the hotel. It was ok, if I had another early morning flight out of Christchurch and had a need to stay, I would, but not one of life's enjoyable experiences. Functional for sure.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a big difference to recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    744
    398
    125
    55
See reviews for
302
707
165
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

It's an airport hotel which does exactly that. A clean room close to the airport for an early flight. It's basic but does the job. The free shuttle is handy for the early flights or its close enough to walk if you are in need if stretching your legs and getting some fresh air

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yonnamalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren B, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. Exactly what it says on the tin - a three and a half star hotel.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I had a late-arriving flight (aren't they all) from Australia and an early departure. It was great having the hotel within walking distance, particularly as it was raining when I arrived. I could also have called and they would have collected me. So service and location-wise, the hotel rates a '5'.

The room was functional, clearly from another era (1950's?) although being unable to get to sleep, I appreciated the little television with Sky. There was no aircraft or traffic noise (possibly due to the time). I will have no hesitation staying here again because it will always be as a 1-2 night stopover.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ballytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren B, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.
Yes, the hotel is very handy to the airport, being 700 metres from the terminal and certainly within walking distance so it is not surprising that a lot of our guests at this time of year take the opportunity to stretch their legs after a flight.
As you are aware we do provide a courtesy shuttle and this can be arranged by contacting the hotel on arrival by using the freephone at the accommodation directory board adjacent to the Info desk.
The hotel opened in 1965 and has had 2 further wings added since then along with various refurbishments. It is about to undergo a major upgrade in 2013.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

So close to the airport you could fall out of bed and land at your check-in desk! Word of warning - take your earplugs with you if you want a good nights sleep. People are checking in and out all night long and not everyone is very considerate. I was even woken up by a member of staff walking past my room at 3am with their walkie-talkie blaring out. I liked the complimentary newspaper delivered to my room in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJB186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren B, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies for being woken up by one of our Night Staff's loud walkie talkie. The staff member concerned has been counselled accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

From the outside, the Sudima looks a bit ropey, but the inside was better than other airport hotels I have stayed in. Room was fine with a powerful shower. Breakfast was good. Quite a long way out from Christchurch town centre. Having to pay for wi-fi always annoys me.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiddlebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Yep it's Midnight and you are off the Flight at Christchurch Airport. It is quite mild weather so I take the stroll to the Sudima Airport Hotel in Christchurch. I find the couple fresh from the Far North Queensland experience who are from The UK. They are not lost just looking for The Sudima Hotel.
We arrive tin a walking convoy at The Reception. Welcome is warm and check-in swift. Up to my room which is clean and well appointed. Sleep is on the agenda after text message's home for confirmation of safe arrival and no shaking of buildings. Breakfast should not be missed at this place. Good spread, Coffee about waht you would expect from a Self Serve Machine, freshly delivered morning paper to enable a quick update on local issues. Service is excellent in New Zealand but The Sudima at Christchurch deliver it with the politeness only KIWI's can do. Parking for Visitors is plentiful and free. If you are doing business in Christchurch then I suggest the late night flight as you can relax and be ready for a big day.

Room Tip: Don't forget that you can use the free phone in the Arrivals to ring The Bus to pick you up if i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spartacus1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Given how few hotels have been left standing after the tragic earthquakes, one would think the Sudima would up their game and make some effort to offer even modest levels of service. Many airport hotels acquire a bad reputation, but none more deserving than this hell hole. It is like a zoo. The standard rooms, and the premium rooms are dumps. There are some adequate newly refurbished rooms with air con but getting these is a lottery and their website is wholly misleading. Don't fall for the trap we did in booking and paying for a premium twin bedded room. We were given a disgusting old room, with no air con. The hotel manager on duty was rude, and the general manager has written to tell me it was a premium room. According to him, If I had wanted the newly refurbished rooms I should have requested a premium bureau room. The website is wholly misleading and gives you no option to book a twin bedded premium bureau room. In the end O had to pay for 2 queen bedded rooms just to get rooms with air conditioning on a stifling night. The common parts of the hotel are horrible beyond belief. Maybe staying overnight laying on the airport floor would be preferable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HotelDoc60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren B, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Reviewer

As you are aware I have explained the nuances of booking our various room types on our website and apologised for the confusion that arose to you directly. I am pleased to advise that we have made immediate changes to our website as a result.

Although the hotel is about to undergo an extensive renovation during 2013 we have never claimed to be more than a Qualmark rated 31/2 star hotel. I have to take issue with the emotive descriptions you have used in your review - as they say don't let the facts get in the way of a good story.

Our many regular & returning guests can attest that the hotel is not a zoo nor a hell hole, the rooms whilst not luxurious are not dumps and the common parts of the hotel are not horrible beyond belief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
5.5 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#26 of 144 in Christchurch
1,681 reviews
0.9 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 144 in Christchurch
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
#8 of 103 in Christchurch
174 reviews
1.0 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
712 reviews
1.0 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Property: Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Address: 550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Hotel located next to golf course & recreation center, adjacent to airport (free transfer) & 10 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudima Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing