We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perhaps in a transitional phase” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Ranked #20 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perhaps in a transitional phase”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Whilst the public areas were smart, our room was rather tired looking. It was of a reasonable size but lacked air-conditioning and a room safe. Internal sound-proofing was poor or our neighbours were very loud. I should point out, in fairness, that a refurbishment is imminent, however that does not excuse understaffing. Service was good when it was there but, on two occasions, there was no service at the bar because the barman had to help elsewhere.
Location is good if you are using the airport and you are very close to the Antarctic Experience which provides a good couple of hours distraction if you have time to spare before your flight.

Room Tip: If it's warm, get hold of a fan from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart Rhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    715
    387
    122
    55
See reviews for
297
678
163
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I gave this a very good rating on the strength of their restaurant. A busy night, only a couple of staff for the whole dining room but they worked fantastically. Plenty of mains but the apple strudel dessert ran out pretty quickly. However it was replentished smartly.
Room nothing special. Obviously designed for one night stays before flying out. Can't comment about bed quality as I was leaving early and could not sleep soundly anyway. Staff efficient and friendly.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GreyNomad65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
370 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Only stopped here one night as we arrived in Christchurch and were picking the camper van up the following day. Walked here from the airport as could not see the shuttle bus, but it was only 8 minutes away. It was clean and adequate for our needs. It was also only 5 minutes walk away from the Camper van hire depot. We got a taxi into the centre for a meal and it was rush hour and very slow it cost over $50 but it was a nightmare to get a taxi back - no taxis at the taxi rank!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DJinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
206 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel about 5 years ago for the same reason--easy access for flight. I flew in from AKL at night just to pick up my flight back to US the next day from CHC. Last time I walked to the hotel, but this time my wheeled bag was deteriorating, so I used the courtesy phone to ask for the shuttle that promptly responded.

I had asked for a quiet location for my premium (air conditioned) prepaid room. I was given a room at the far end of the hotel that looked at the entrance area, but had no noise whatsoever. It may be one of the refurbished ones. The a/c worked. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The bathroom was large (shower only). Tea kettle worked. Pretty nice.

The only downsides were paid wifi (worked well though--much better than the other hotels during my stay) and the unwanted 6am wakeup call. How did that happen? Up until then I had the best sleep of my trip.

On demand shuttle back to airport was prompt and easy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Metwo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Just arrived in Christchurch and when we entered the hotel, it was pleasent. The problems started with the room. There is NO air conditioning nor fans to circulate the air. DO NOT PLAN ON SLEEP the sound proofing is horrible and the aircraft noise is bad. In every other hotel we stayed in this trip they gave you 1 hour of free internet service. here the minimum package was $10.00NZ.

This hotell is not a 3star hotel and it is under construction, they are benefiting from the earthquake that destroyed parts of this city and rushed this hotel into service to take advantage of the travellers.

The staff is not professional and service is poor.

Room Tip: Do not stay here if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EUGENE9224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
647 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

A shuttle was waiting for us at Christchurch Railway Station, and at a modest price took us to the hotel.

Reception? - friendly, helpful, quick.

The room? - really good. Light, clean, modern, good storage. Everything OK.

The shower? We could write a book on hotel showers! This one was simple to use and more than adequate.

Internet - no Internet for iPads in our room. We would have to use them in the lounge and obtain a code from reception first.

Restaurant. Loved the large succulent prawns in the prawn and avocado salad. The salmon - excellent. The service was good too.

Next time in Christchurch, at the airport, we will stay here at the Sudima.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Barrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
177 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed in the Sudima, Christchurch for one night after travelling to New Zealand from Sydney Australia. We arrived quite late in the evening. Check in was prompt and smooth; we were given an excellent room which appeared to be newly refurbished. Huge bed, good clean room and bathroom.
Took breakfast the following morning, very helpful and pleasant staff - choice of breakfasts, therefore you got what you paid for.
Helpful Airport transfers - they took us back to the Airport the following morning to collect our hire car; although the Airport was certainly close enough to walk.
Lots of parking close to the hotel.
I had e-mailed earlier to check on the car collection and whether we could get transport, the person responding to my e-mail was prompt and accurate in the information provided, she gave me confidence that all would be well - and it was.
A great beginning to a wonderful trip to New Zealand.

Room Tip: Choose a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1.0 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
1.0 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#3 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
2.1 mi away
Airways Motel
Airways Motel
#12 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
1.0 mi away
M&Y Guest House (Christchurch Airport)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Property: Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Address: 550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Hotel located next to golf course & recreation center, adjacent to airport (free transfer) & 10 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudima Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing