We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 minute walk from Christchurch Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Ranked #21 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“5 minute walk from Christchurch Airport”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I have just stayed overnight at the Sudima hotel and have found it to be a great place to stay and only 5 minutes walk to the hotel from the Airport no taxi required. The hotel is a single story and has been refurbished to a very good standard I found the staff to be friendly and helpful, there is a comfortable bar and great restaurant which have very good quality meals.
Then rooms are a good size with all the bells and whistles. The pool area is currently under construction as this appears to getting a face lift. I will be returning to this hotel as it fits a lot of the criteria for me

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Warrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    738
    397
    124
    55
See reviews for
301
702
165
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Comet, Qld
Level Contributor
261 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Our flight arrived at 11.30pm so all we were looking for was a bed. As we'd stayed here before we knew what to expect. It's proximity to the airport and the fact that they have their own 24 hour shuttle were deciding factors. Also the reasons we decided to stay again on our way home before our early morning flight. We also had a nice dinner in the restaurant on our last night.
The refurb will improve the quality of the rooms which are rather old and tired but serve the purpose. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goannas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

we stayed in the sudima for one night after arriving in Christchurch prior to picking up our motorhome we coud have quite easily stayed longer. the rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast selection was very good and okay the swimming pool was fenced off but building work has to be done sometime!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Now this hotel is getting a badly needed refurb but my review is for now and not what may be in the future.
Reception efficient, bus driver and service great. Location to airport great and I suspect this would be the main/only reason most people use this hotel, simply an overnighter before early flight or late arrival.
Maccas is a 5 min walk away which is good, but current roadworks send you on a bit of an extra trek.
Now the room.. Too dear for what it is, and definitely charging because of the airport location. Old, people smoking somewhere which drifted into the room, a heater which was difficult to turn completely off on a warm night, no a/c, the most archaic tv ever..why not put flat screens in? They can go into the new rooms and would help these sad rooms a tad in the meantime.
Bathroom old, toilet in weird place but hot water and pressure was good. Bit smelly with oldness.
Orange bedspreads..yuk, pillows lumpy sad little things, saggy bed.
Restaurant for dinner was very busy, main meals very nice but no service after for sweets or coffee, simply forgotten. Our amusement was the couple who sent the steak back 4 times to try and get it to somewhere more than mooing..poor souls gave up in the end, as each time the steak came back cut from 2 initial nice looking fillets to basically cubes..
So would I stay here again? Not until the total refurb has been done, but somehow I suspect the price will skyrocket, as it's dear enough now for such a basic offering.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kezCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on our first day arriving to NZ from the US. I have to say even after a 14 hour flight this place didn't look appealing. When we got to our room it was on the far wing near the back parking lot. It looked old as we were traveling through the hallways, then as we entered the room it was pretty awful. The room was dark the with minimal lighting, the bed was super uncomfortable, and the bathroom was something out of the 70s. The pool had a large chain femme going around it with tall weeds growing around it. Really the hotel in all looked like it should have been condemned. We stayed a second night after traveling the country and they put us in the"newer" portion of the hotel. It's not an upgraded tv if there's not a flat screen. Still pretty crappy overall

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheMillPigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
149 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Lets get started on a good footing... I have stayed here several times before and its always been acceptable but this stay has changed my mind.

For the first time I stayed in the older part of the hotel. When I saw the first room it was hot and stuff but the worse thing was the room itself. I instantly asked to move rooms and all I was offered was similar standard room.

The second room was similar. The furnishings were tired and room could have doen with remodelling. It just looked like it was from the 1970s. The matteress on the bed was so old it was saging even before I lay on it, it was just way to soft, probabiy just worn out.

There was no aircon so i had to open the windows which doesnt do much for sound proofing close to an airport.

The consequence of all this = 2 hours sleep (=$90 per hour).

When I check out the staff asked If I had a good stay and when I said no and explained I got the impression that it wasn't the first time they has heard it.

The worst things was the cost $180 for a room that should have cost of that at most. Considering the hotel is a prefered supplier to my compnay I would have thought they would have made more of effort!

Room Tip: If you have to stay, insist on aroom in the new section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
5.5 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
0.1 mi away
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
#8 of 103 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
1.0 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
1.0 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Property: Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Address: 550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Hotel located next to golf course & recreation center, adjacent to airport (free transfer) & 10 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudima Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing