We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close enough to walk from airport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Ranked #20 of 147 Hotels in Christchurch
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Close enough to walk from airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Arrived in Chc too late to continue my other Air New Zealand flight so needed a room for one night.
Phoned this hotel and van was there to pick me up in about 2 minutes. Realised later that I could have walked to the hotel! Staff were friendly and efficient and they even kept he bar open for me as I had arrived close to 11.00 pm on a Sunday night. Room was comfortable and clean as was the bed. The only concern I have is there was a "surcharge" for the use of a credit card upon checkout. This was surprising to me as I have never come across this before when paying for accommodations. The few dollars extra I paid to stay here was worth not having to get a cab and allow extra time (and money)for all that would involve.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwisteve57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    715
    387
    122
    54
See reviews for
297
678
163
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Although we spent only 8hrs in this hotel, I loved the hotel and its staff. Me and my wife arrived at around 2AM to airport. The free shuttle picked us up right on time. The check-in process was smooth. We had booked a standard room. I am not sure if they upgraded us for free. But if that was the standard room... Nice!
Had a wonderful sleep. The continental breakfast was also good. It was bit expensive though. But we used the $25 food & beverage voucher that was included in our online booking. So it turned out cheap for us.
Location: The location is really good if you want quick stay over near airport. We were planning to visit the Antarctic Center in the morning and then start drive to Arthur Pass National Park. So it perfectly fit our plan.
The only issue we had was drinking water. There was a small bottle of water in the room. So at night after check-in, when I asked at the reception where can I fill up water bottle, the gentleman was kind enough to fill in 3 bottles for us. Similarly while checking out the pregnant lady at the reception again filled our 3 bottles. However I felt really bad. If you can please have some water filling stations that will be great (sorry if I missed those during my limited stay).

Room Tip: Choose any room. As far as I know there is a lift as well. We were staying on the ground floor (turn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prm2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrinsville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Needed a hotel handy to airport for a business trip. Booked the Sudima as reasonably priced and only staying 1 night. Upon arrival was somewhat concerned as first impression not great. Situated at a busy roundabout, significant building works adjacent and exterior was very dated and in need of a facelift. I was gaining the impression I going to be in for a cheep and nasty sleepless night. I was plesantly suprised to find the inside was quite a different story. Friendly helpful staff, quick and painless checkin. Room I stayed in had been refurbished and had a modern clean feel. Not the comfyest bed, but got a pretty decent sleep all the same as it was very quiet - didnt hear a peep from neighbour rooms, airport or traffic. For 1 night I think this is a good option. Also dined in - venison main and dessert were quite filling.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aidsnang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWitt, New York
Level Contributor
534 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

If you need a place for a night close to the airport, the Sudima will do okay. But I have to believe that there are better choices in the Christchurch area, if you need something more than just a convenient place for quick one-night stop.

The toilet in our room was arranged in a very peculiar fashion, with the "throne" wedged into a tight corner with very little clearance facing a wall. A tall or large person would find this a significant inconvenience.

The television was an old, relatively small screen picture tube type set, not a modern flat screen LCD.

There is no elevator to reach the upper floor, and if you have heavy luggage and cannot or don't want to heavy it up the stairs, get the front desk to have one of the hotel staff strain their backs instead of you.

Finding your room is also an adventure, because the rooms are numbered in a method completely devoid of logic.

The staff, however, were very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor unless you don't have heavy luggage, because there is no eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We just took a room for catching a flight next day but let me tell you its the most pathetic hotel i have ever stayed even tough is a budget hotel . 1st of all the price of room is very expensive you can get a good hotel in this price..2ndly .. after a long jouney from mt cook ..trying to sleep in afternoon but a lot disturbance in the room ..room almost vibrating and hotel staff not ready to move us ..3rdly ordered food in the room ... ordered plain rice.. not evn a 3 yr old kid would be able to eat and full his stomach .. charging a very high price..food prices are like matching a 4 to 5 star hotel ..
Very very bad and disappointing .. 1st and last night in my life in this hotel ever...

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rushil1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed here last night as we had an early flight out this morning. We arrived thinking it would be the most basic of Hotels as is expected with a lot of airport places. I have to say that even with my high standards in regards to service, we were extremely impressed. The staff were lovely on arrival and even proactively suggested the time etc for a wake up call for our flight. Then we had dinner in the restaurant, which again considering my high standards was a great surprise as well, those pea and haloumi fritters were awesome! Really big, clean room and great shower, and the shuttle was there in about 30 seconds from asking for it this morning. Sudima, you could really teach other more highly rated hotels some great lessons in service and value. Thank you!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artybetty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

This hotel appears to has unfairly taken advantage of the lack of accommodation post earthquake. Refurbishing is underway. Rooms are Ok but very dated , there are a lot of bus trips stopping over . The Bar area and dining spills to the Foyer.
The breakfast is way too expensive and not nice. Mass produced ,boiled ham everything tastes the same.
Agree 2star at 4 star prices.

Room Tip: Go some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1.0 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 147 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
1.0 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#3 of 147 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
2.1 mi away
Airways Motel
Airways Motel
#11 of 147 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.0 mi away
M&Y Guest House (Christchurch Airport)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Property: Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Address: 550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Hotel located next to golf course & recreation center, adjacent to airport (free transfer) & 10 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudima Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing