We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good as you are next to the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Ranked #21 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“very good as you are next to the airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

we stayed here as we had a flight from christchurch airport so we wanted to stay close by.
it was so close, just a 5min walk over the road.
it is a nice hotel, the rooms are a good size and the bathroom was nice and clean.
they have a laundry room to do it yourself, at $2 per machine.
they have a 24hr reception so we had no problem checking out at 4am

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    725
    393
    124
    55
See reviews for
298
690
164
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malacca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

It was our last day back to Christchurch on 10/3/2014. We were to leave Christchurch on 11/3/14 6.00 am flight. After checking in at 4 pm, we need to take one big round to get our luggage from the car park to our room upstairs. The room is a bit out dated and everything looks old but still reasonably clean. There is nothing much we can get from the surrounding area. The only good point was we can reach the airport in five minutes time. They provide shuttles bus to the airport any time when we check out.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kklMalacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Highly recommended for those wanting accommodation close to the airport.

Firstly, the accommodation offers a pick up service from the airport, and they also offer a drop off to motor home hire companies.

They also have scales available for luggage weighing, something a visitor would appreciated.

The food was great, room was comfy and surprisingly extremely quiet - could not hear any overhead planes. Stayed in a twin room - they were two double beds - and they were extremely comfortable.

The antarctic centre is 2 minutes walk away, so make sure you also pop in their for a visit, ask the staff for a $5 voucher off the antarctic centre entry fee.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellski6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
196 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We stay 2 times in Christchurch as we have the flight a 6 am to Australia was very convenient but the hotel by itself nothing .. basic just good for sleeping and take shower .. for the rest we dont test but dont want to. If back in same condition will do the same as center city is not so good also ...

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank superstar0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Australia
Level Contributor
279 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We arrived at Christchurch Airport at 5 am after an international flight, so had a 6 hour stay at the hotel before driving to Nelson.

The walk to the hotel was mainly under a covered walkway. The outside of the hotel looks dated, but the hotel was better inside. Because of the late arrival, we were happy the hotel was flexible with the check-out time. Check-in and out was friendly and efficient.

We were surprised with the quietness of the hotel. The corridors are carpeted, we did not hear other guests or cleaning staff. The room was clean and more up to date than it looks from outside. Curtains were blockout quality. The sheets and towels were clean, but the doona was without a cover (sheet under and bedspread over) and smelt of the bed's last occupants, which was unfortunate - doonas should only be used with covers, which are then washed between guests.

In summary, not great, somewhat overpriced for what you get, but ok for a single night if needed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, USA
Level Contributor
712 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

There's nothing particularly special about this property 700 meters from CHC airport.The rooms are clean and not too tired despite being around for awhile --thankfully compared to the devastation of down-town Christchurch! Sigh! Argh! --but thankfully, there appears to be more rebuilding than knocking down -- what a long haul it has been and kudos the Cantabrians for
sticking with it to rebuild, reboot and restart their lives after such disaster, upheaval and heartbreak.

However,there were a couple of really nice things at Sudima's CHC airport hotel -- 1st -- the staff was very attentive and really nice. I arrived early for 1 day here and my room was ready and available by 10am. GREAT! Plus, Internet was $10 for 24 hours and it worked consistently w/o fail or having to resign on. The BIG minus is -- everywhere else in Canterbury is at least a $30 taxi ride. I spent as much on my overnight stay as I did on taxi fare and I only took 3 taxi rides.

The best feature -- 6am wake up call and easy-peasy to CHC for check in for 7am departure.
The proximity to my gate and flight out was greatly appreciated at that early hour.

Room Tip: This hotel is spread out -- I think even all on ground level -- so if you are loathe to wander throu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaljoHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Puke, New Zealand
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

If you want cheap hotel or motel accommodation, don't head for Christchurch yet... if you do have to bite the bullet, and you have an earliesh flight - this actually isn't a bad place to stop.
It looks average to awful from the outside, but the bar area has some ambiance and the rooms have mostly been refurbished so are smart, comfortable and spacious.
For eating - the restaurant meals are surprisingly good, despite the complete lack of atmosphere due to it's corridor like location!! However, the breakfast's - as in so many NZ hotels is a ridiculous expense - head into a cafe in town or to the airport for something more reasonable!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palmytaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
5.5 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#30 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
0.1 mi away
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
#8 of 102 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.0 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Property: Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Address: 550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Hotel located next to golf course & recreation center, adjacent to airport (free transfer) & 10 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudima Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing