We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sudima”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Ranked #21 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
“Sudima”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Great airport location and pick up was punctual, but very expensive for what you get. Had to carry my own bag quite a long way and up stairs with no trolley available. It is very dated and old fashioned.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    725
    393
    124
    55
See reviews for
298
690
164
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed here for one night, needing to be near the airport for early transfer, having previously stayed at the Auckland Sudima. No comparison - this building was old and tired and badly in need of a full upgrade. Old-fashioned CRT TV, tea-making and fridge need replacing, and everything had an 80's look about it. The young staff were courteous and helpful, and are doing their best with what they've got, but it needs a refit. Had the Umbrella Package, but definitely not good value for money when compared with other hotels in the group charging the same price. Would not recommend this hotel if you are staying near the airport. Has a quality price but gives budget accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnwroden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IftiHussain, Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear John,

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments with us and it is with sincere regret to read that your stay with us was mixed and your expectations were not met.

While we are glad to know that the service provided by our staff were to your liking alongside having a memorable experience with our sister property at Auckland Airport; we are embarrassed that we didn’t farewell you at satisfactory level from our Christchurch property. Kindly, please accept our sincere apologies about the same.

We agree that our Standard Rooms are outdated. However, on the same note we would like to inform your that we have started our $25 million redevelopment project which will offer new Executive Rooms with nifty features, modern décor throughout the hotel and plenty more alongside us being moving forward to Qualmark rated 4.5 star property from current 3.5 star rating.

We truly apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during the event. Our team is in a constant pursuit to learn from our guest feedbacks and enhance our services to be more personalized and renewing and would promise that once the redevelopment project is completed you won’t be disappointed with our product on offer.

Best Regards,
Milind Patil | Sudima Chc Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dannevirke, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Haven't got anything good to say. Booked it on the net purely based on location. Right from the beginning my experience was bad - poor signage, car parks were full and rude reception staff. When I got to my room, it was too hot and there is no individual air con adjustment. TV was a 21 inch CRT screen. My room was next to the stairs, so suitcases were being dragged down all night because they had no lifts. Beds were uncomfortable. No power points - literally one point in a ridiculous place. And all that for a ridiculous price of $180 per night. Don't bother staying here.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank timhU3159AF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IftiHussain, Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments with us and I am extremely embarrassed to read about the experience you had and cannot apologise enough for same.

We would like to take this opportunity to inform that we have started our $25 million redevelopment project which will offer new Executive Rooms with nifty features, modern décor throughout the hotel and plenty more alongside us being moving forward to Qualmark rated 4.5 star property from current 3.5 star rating.

Moreover, the service issues you encountered have been addressed with staff members and we can assure you that we take complaints of this nature very seriously. Kindly please accept our sincere apologies for the shortfalls. We hope that you will leave this experience of yours in isolation and present us with another opportunity to not just meeting but exceeding your expectations.

With this thought, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to this garden city and thank you for allowing us the opportunity to serve you at this occasion.

Best Regards,
Milind Patil | Sudima Chc Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is only a 3 and a half hotel so I won't rant on too much about it. The duty manager Rowan who checked us in was attentive and looked after us. I believe the rooms could of been alot cleaner. Still hair on the bathroom room ect. Fittings from the stone age. Cheap Internet which was great.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IftiHussain, Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

While we are glad to know that service rendered by our Duty Manager Rowan and location of the hotel was to your liking; we are perturbed to read that your stay with us was mixed and some of your expectations were not met.

We have addressed your concerns to respective department head and can assure you that we take complaints of this nature very seriously. On the same note, I have shared your compliments with Rowan which has served as great source of motivation to her.

We truly apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during the event. We hope that you will leave this experience of yours in isolation and present us with another opportunity to not just meeting but exceeding your expectations.

Best Regards,
Milind Patil | Sudima Chc Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We arrived early and had cleared customs at 1am. This hotel is actually walking distance from the airport but due to the time and as well as all the construction around the airport we called for the shuttle. There is a courtesy phone for all hotels by the exit doors at Christchurch airport. Within 5mins of the call and going outside the bus was there to pick us up. The hotel itself is nice but is getting renovated at the moment on one side so to enter the actually reception you go through a shipping container!
Room was nice and clean, and we would stay there again if we had an early flight.
Even though there is renovations happening we could not hear any noise in our room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pip_fanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IftiHussain, Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

The entire team at the Sudima Christchurch Hotel is delighted by your comments and it is indeed a pleasure to read this wonderful review of yours on Trip Advisor.

With this encouraging note, we will continue to strive for guest service excellence and would be delighted to welcome you again to the hotel, should your travel brings you back to the beautiful garden city in times ahead.

Best Regards,

Milind Patil | Sudima Chc Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Arrive at the airport at 5 am and clear immigration, get out at 6 am and directly go to this hotel for a nap is quite good. having breakfast and check out around 10 am. Not sure how was the hotel but it just really close to the airport. Good choice for people that need to be at the airport for morning flight.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InlyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IftiHussain, Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you at our hotel and receive a positive review.

Our team is glad to know that we not only met but exceeded your expectations and would promise you same on your next visit to Sudima Christchurch Airport Hotel.

Best Regards,
Milind Patil | Sudima Chc Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little River, Banks Peninsula
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

On leaving or entrying the airport Christchurch one of the first sites you see is the sign for this hotel, with a large clock. It is rather embarrassing to see the time on the clock is continuously wrong- not a great start or finish to your trip in NZ, and especially frightening if you are to catch a flight. You would think it is a simple thing to get right- the correct time on your one piece of marketing. It does not bode well to service or punctuality.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleRiverCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IftiHussain, Manager at Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your feedback.

Same as you, we too are immensely concerned about your comments subsequent to reading that our main clock at the front entrance is depicting wrong time.

The clock machine is electric powered via different channel as to hotel functions; and as you would see, our property is undergoing major redevelopment where the constructers have to shutdown the power at various intervals which is affecting the clock time.

Our engineering department has been instructed to critically look into the issue and appropriate steps are being taken (by installing a UPS power back-up) to rectify the shortfall whilst we are confident that upon your next visit to airport precinct you will see first hand that the clock time is accurate.

Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we have seriously taken your comments into consideration as we strive to improve on each front. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during the event and we look forward to welcome you back to Sudima Christchurch Hotel.

Best Regards,

Milind Patil | Sudima Chc Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
5.5 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#30 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
0.1 mi away
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
#8 of 102 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
1.0 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.0 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Property: Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Address: 550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Hotel located next to golf course & recreation center, adjacent to airport (free transfer) & 10 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudima Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing