We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but a little outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Ranked #21 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location but a little outdated”
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Great location but definately no frills. We were picked up from the airport promptly and dropped back in the morning to get our car. Service was good but the desk couldnt find our booking even after giving him our reservation number. We stayed upstairs and the porter was helpful. The room was very basic but had a decent bed, a heater and a wide screen tv. The bathroom was decent and clean. The noise from the airport was minimal. The hotel looks like another old hospital and the decor was quite outdated. We didnt have time to eat but it looked busy. The outdoor area looked nice.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank th3bRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    738
    397
    124
    55
See reviews for
301
702
165
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Tasmania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

It's clean, comfortable, basic, big. I overnighted here twice following a late arrival from Australia on route to Queenstown early the next morning and ditto for the return. You wouldn't stay here for a holiday - it is a transit hotel and it does this well. Twenty-four hour mini-bus transfers to the airport - which you could walk to in 10 minutes; efficient staff churning through the bulk plane arrivals and reliable early morning calls. This is the closest accommodation to Christchurch International. While our flights left too early to take in breakfast, looked like they had a good restaurant. If I had to overnight in Christchurch I would stay here again (but bring on direct flights to Queenstown - that's where I want to be)!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clearair21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelling NZ/Aus
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

I loved the hotel Sudima. After an 11 hour bus journey from Te Anau, getting here was a dream with a $17 shuttle bus from the city. You can go in and out of the city via bus should you need it, with the bus stopping right outside the front of the hotel.

Service was wonderful, I was checked in promptly and the staff were friendly and warm, helped me with my onward travel and other information. Room service was prompt and cheap (and delicious!). The only thing I would say about the restaurant is if you are a vegetarian, there aren't many options.

I was upgraded for free because I stayed here 3 nights, which I found a generous and lovely gesture. My room was enormous with a flat screen TV, comfortable bed, huge spotless bathroom and free complimentary newspaper in the morning. Tea and coffee facilities and broadband internet were available.

It was very quiet and I had no trouble sleeping despite being so close to the airport. The free shuttle transfer at 3am was very handy for catching my onward flight. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank endilwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

I read the reviews on here and expected this could be a bad choice but we came in a midnight and left at 7am so I figured location was more important than features. I was actually relieved that it was all OK. The place is a bit old and tired but so am I!
Clean and tidy rather than stylish and they even had a porter to help us in the middle of the night.
It is what it is - an airport hotel for a overnight stopover. Use it as that and it is fine.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisbaneCanyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Two nights at the Sudima Hotel, one at the start and one at the end of our holiday has lead me to the following.

The beds are a little on the hard side
The blankets are a little on the thin side
the family room is just a little too small.
The staff are very accomodating and friendly. The hotel is a part of the airport complex so is really convenient. Check in was friendly and quick, even at 2am and checkout was also good at 4am
They keep the awful hours that Australian Flights seem to run at. They provide a friendly service to and from the airport at those same horrible hours.
The food and room service is excellent.
If they could provide some thicker blankets or put spares in the room, I think it would make a huge difference to the room.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToowoombaBilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

What a huge and depressing disappointment to start and finish my recent holiday to Thailand at the Sudima. The priciest of all the hotels I stayed in during my three-week trip by a margin, the Sudima offered the worst value for money as well as the shabbiest accommodation by far. How awful to think that this may be the first (or final) experience of New Zealand that overseas visitors get to endure.

Come on Sudima - if you were charging $80-90 per night and classing yourself firmly in the budget market there'd be no grumble here. However, at $139 per night (at 'discounted' rate with Wotif.com), both rooms we were offered were far worse than what one might expect from other international budget hotel chains and barely above 'backpacker' standard. From the depressing poorly-furnished 'cheap motel' corridor to the absolutely bog-standard fittings and fixtures in the room, it is clear that the hotel rooms and public areas are in absolutely desperate need of renovation (even something as basic as a hair-dryer in the room would have been a welcome addition). I have rarely seen such a cheap and poorly-fitted grimy bathroom (it reminded me of a cross between a remand centre for disaffected youth and a poorly-run state home for the elderly).

Arriving from a late flight, it was also amazing how little the hotel had to offer in terms of providing food for weary travellers. Given that I heard one of your reception staff state quite clearly that the nearest shop was '3.5 km away', I would expect the hotel to offer a little more in terms of out-of-hours services.

The Sudima clearly believes that it can justify such room charges based on location alone. Whilst I agree that the hotel's location is convenient, I sincerely hope that someone has the initiative to open a rival hotel in the area offering greater value for money. The Sudima is currently a relic of the 1980s and I urge the hotele's management to realise that sophisticated travellers of 2009 expect more from their hard-earned dollar.

In future, I would prefer to pay the additional taxi fare to the airport from a central Christchurch hotel in order to avoid this blatant rip-off.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CallistoWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2009

The hotel is right beside the airport, and their is a convenient free shuttle bus that runs to the hotel. We paid $155 NZ for a room that had seen far better days. As has been said before this place is very tired, but the beds had certainly seen better days. I woke up with a sore back. Only stay here if you have to be at the airport early and there is no other option

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
5.5 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
0.1 mi away
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
#8 of 103 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
1.0 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
1.0 mi away
Airport Christchurch Luxury Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Property: Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Address: 550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Hotel located next to golf course & recreation center, adjacent to airport (free transfer) & 10 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudima Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing