We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, but problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Ranked #20 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Routine motel and it really does have 24 hour pickup and delivery to the terminals in only five minutes. (If being picked up, do not go the area marked "shuttles", but rather go to the main curbside.)

but...

Internet access is expensive, but (according to their provider with whom I spoke) they didn't buy sufficient access to support their customers so that it effectively doesn't function during the evening. At 3:30 AM in the morning, it's acceptable, but even then only 512k at best, which is not acceptable to those who need to transfer files.

The dining facilities are too small for the demand. They recommend making a reservation, as often there is no room. The alternate is room service which isn't great, as the food is cool and soggy by the time it is delivered.

There are motels that must offer better service.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacWilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,818)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,680 - 1,686 of 1,818 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2009

great hotel everything we needed was here clean , roomy , safe

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brettamportmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Having to get a plane at 6.30am is not the best thing in the world - and I won't do it again. However because I was doing it, I needed somewhere close to the airport as I had to check in by 5am !

Finding the hotel was not a problem and the free shuttle only takes a couple of minutes. Check-in was fine and the staff friendly. The room was average and consisted of two single beds, modern bathroom, tea/coffee making facilites. It overlooked the main road to the airport.

The hotel restaurant is the only one out that way - so you are a captive audience. The menu isn't all that imaginative and the prices (for a steak anyway) are very high. We opted to get the bus from outside the front door and went to downtown Christchurch where we found a great restaurant in Columbo Street.

The main problem with the Sudima is that there is no sound-proofing between the rooms, so when people thunder down the hallway chatting and laughing at 12.30am, you get to hear the conversation. When they enter their room (next to yours) and carry on chatting until 2am, you get to hear that too ! Add to that the non-stop sound of a leaking/running water system somewhere and you will get the picture. Not a pleasant night at all with very little sleep !

Not a memorable stay - well at least not for the right reasons.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HS300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Great location but definately no frills. We were picked up from the airport promptly and dropped back in the morning to get our car. Service was good but the desk couldnt find our booking even after giving him our reservation number. We stayed upstairs and the porter was helpful. The room was very basic but had a decent bed, a heater and a wide screen tv. The bathroom was decent and clean. The noise from the airport was minimal. The hotel looks like another old hospital and the decor was quite outdated. We didnt have time to eat but it looked busy. The outdoor area looked nice.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank th3bRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

It's clean, comfortable, basic, big. I overnighted here twice following a late arrival from Australia on route to Queenstown early the next morning and ditto for the return. You wouldn't stay here for a holiday - it is a transit hotel and it does this well. Twenty-four hour mini-bus transfers to the airport - which you could walk to in 10 minutes; efficient staff churning through the bulk plane arrivals and reliable early morning calls. This is the closest accommodation to Christchurch International. While our flights left too early to take in breakfast, looked like they had a good restaurant. If I had to overnight in Christchurch I would stay here again (but bring on direct flights to Queenstown - that's where I want to be)!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clearair21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

I loved the hotel Sudima. After an 11 hour bus journey from Te Anau, getting here was a dream with a $17 shuttle bus from the city. You can go in and out of the city via bus should you need it, with the bus stopping right outside the front of the hotel.

Service was wonderful, I was checked in promptly and the staff were friendly and warm, helped me with my onward travel and other information. Room service was prompt and cheap (and delicious!). The only thing I would say about the restaurant is if you are a vegetarian, there aren't many options.

I was upgraded for free because I stayed here 3 nights, which I found a generous and lovely gesture. My room was enormous with a flat screen TV, comfortable bed, huge spotless bathroom and free complimentary newspaper in the morning. Tea and coffee facilities and broadband internet were available.

It was very quiet and I had no trouble sleeping despite being so close to the airport. The free shuttle transfer at 3am was very handy for catching my onward flight. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank endilwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

I read the reviews on here and expected this could be a bad choice but we came in a midnight and left at 7am so I figured location was more important than features. I was actually relieved that it was all OK. The place is a bit old and tired but so am I!
Clean and tidy rather than stylish and they even had a porter to help us in the middle of the night.
It is what it is - an airport hotel for a overnight stopover. Use it as that and it is fine.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrisbaneCanyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
5.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,017 reviews
4.1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
5.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
690 reviews
1 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 146 in Christchurch
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Address: 550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £77 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the completion of the redevelopment and refurbishment programmes, Sudima is now a 4.5 star Qualmark rated Hotel located right at the doorstep of the Christchurch International Airport. With 246 well-appointed guestrooms, the Acheron Restaurant & Bar, this Hotel is the perfect place to stay for the start or end of your journey through the stunning South Island of New Zealand. The Spitfire Shopping Square and the Antarctic Centre are just next door so there are lots to do without having to travel afar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudima Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing