We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently close to airport but average hotel and rooms are not soundproof.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Ranked #22 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Conveniently close to airport but average hotel and rooms are not soundproof.”
Reviewed 11 January 2010

The good: very close to airport, a 24 hour hour shuttle service to and from the airport, late check in and early check out options.
The bad: average rooms, a bit outdated, was expecting it to be a bit nicer. The main problem is that the walls are so thin that normally spoken conversations can be heard at night from your neighbors rooms, as can the televisions, so if other people check in late and you need to be up early its impossible to get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaychicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    749
    402
    125
    55
See reviews for
303
714
168
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SoCal
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2009

Needing an airport hotel room for one night? Then this hotel fits the bill. It was the least expensive of all we priced (at $135); however, internet was $20 for only 200megs. Maybe our fault because we're just not used to watching usage (as Americans). Room was clean, apportioned, comfortable, and felt safe. Ordered sandwich and fries via room service and it arrived hot and the taste and price was fine. The hotel is utilitarian, nothing fancy, gets the job done. Room is large enough, bathroom clean and relatively modern. Internet speed is decent - just can't stay on too long! Staff was very friendly. Free airport shuttle.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danthatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Room wasn't particularly cheap at $135 standard type of room, but this was compensated by the excellent airport shuttle, and was next door to the Antartic Centre - we should have parked at the motel instead of paying the fee next door. There was a restaurant at the motel, although not many shops nearby except at the airport. As it was our last day in Christchurch, we lucked out on having our room available early. To save money, I would recommend car hire from Jucy which is about 500m from the motel, as we had to return the car during business hours. The other positive was if you stayed at the motel you could park your car there while you were away on some package. As most flights to Australia are at 6am or 7am, the Sudima eliminates the stress about getting to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BalwynCalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney,
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Hotel was quite nice, attractive decor, decent facilities. Free shuttle to and from airport. Drivers were very nice. Room service wasn't bad as well. Prices were average. Walking distance to international antarctic centre and to airport as well but why walk when you have a courtesy shuttle as part of your rate (especially if you're carrying heavy luggage). Gentleman that checked us in wasn't very friendly. By no means was he rude either, but service with a smile was definately not his forte (that night anyway). We asked for a second blanket that night and after about an hour and it still hadn't arrived we called back and one was sent within minutes. No biggy. The older lady that checked us out was also of similar attitude, not rude but not particularly friendly, seemed slightly abrupt when she'd processed out credit card and asked for us to press in our pin number and we told her we didn't have a pin and that it was a sign method, we kind of got "the sigh". We asked her where we could find an ATM and she didn't seem very enthusiastic in helping. The younger lady however at the desk was very lovely and much more helpful. Everyone else was lovely. Not close to shops or food (apart from those in the airport and hotel) so without a car it may be slightly inconvenient. However, overall quite a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JewelzSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

Had booked this hotel before leaving Australia as had to be at airport at 5am! Our friends live outside Christchurch & I didn't expect them to get up at 3.30am to get us there on time. I was very worried as to how the hotel would be after reading so may negative TA reports. I found the hotel to be pleasant & comfortable....was advised by friends to ask for a room at the back which was not a problem (no areoplane noise)...reception were very obliging & the room was newly renovated. I could understand why some would not be happy as half the hotel hasn't been refurbished & that half looked dated....just ask for a new room they are lovely.  The hotel is very close to the terminals, we actually walked to the hotel just across carpark after returning our hire car the hotel has a 24hr shuttle service to the terminal so getting to your plane on time is not a problem. Didn't eat in the restaurant but looked fine, had a drink in the bar which was a hive of activity they also have a lounge area where you can sit by the fire which has a flat screen TV above...I would say because of the perfect location for flying this would be one busy hotel, there were a lot of business people staying there. All in all a great stopover hotel & once renovations completed even better.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Debdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2009

The staff were helpful, friendly and polite on check in. The room (standard king) was of a reasonable size but could have been cleaner... There was a noticeable blood? stain on the quit cover and the bathroom had obviously just had a quick wipe over.

My biggest complaint would be of the mattresses - they desperately need replacing. There was a dip so large in my single mattress (standard hotel practice of pushing 2 singles together to produce a king) you could have hidden Mt Cook in it. That made for a sleepless night and a rather unpleasant trip home the following morning.

You can book airport shuttles from the city hotels and if we went back again I would probably rather stay in a nice hotel and get up half an hour earlier to get to the airport. If you're not a fussy sleeper however, apart from the mattress (and of course it's possible that other rooms are fine) it was ok as a transit hotel. Would not recommend staying here unless you have an early flight.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2009

If your only overnighting in Christchurch then is probably your best option. Don't expect too much, its old. The main area's have been upgraded, but the rooms look like nothing has been spent on them since the 70's. Our fridge was so loud, clicking on and off, that I had to unplug it at 1am....but for the price its ok.

Staff were pleasant....didn't look excited to be there, can't blame them really.

Hotel is only 2 min from the Terminal, and offers free shuttle rides, so easy option.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonNaggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
5.5 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 144 in Christchurch
1,754 reviews
5.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 144 in Christchurch
1,265 reviews
0.1 mi away
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
#8 of 105 in Christchurch
182 reviews
1.0 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport

Property: Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Address: 550 Memorial Avenue | PO Box 14-043, Christchurch, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Hotel located next to golf course & recreation center, adjacent to airport (free transfer) & 10 km from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudima Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing