We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Family”
Review of Sumner Re Treat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sumner Re Treat
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My wife made the booking and we enjoyed the whole time staying here with our 2.5-yr-old and my in-laws. Underground car park and the lift is very convenient for us as we have so many stuff to move from the car to the upstairs apartment, and the home-made muffins by Chris were nice. My mother in-law cooked for us during our two-day stay, and really enjoyed the kitchen facilities, our daughter played the toys and we read her children books Chris offered. Unfortunately this place is all booked out, otherwise we'd love to stay here again when we come back from our driving trip…

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexanderyuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Manager at Sumner Re Treat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Good morning,
Sorry it's taken so long to respond. We certainly value your great review and are so pleased you and your family enjoyed staying with us at Sumner Re Treat. It's lovely to have families here. It put a great feel in the place. Maybe we will see you again in the future.
Regards
Chris and Roydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

We chose the Re Treat because of the photos of the clean, modern furniture and décor of these apartments--a style we seek out and love. The reality did not disappoint! But what we couldn't have known until our two stays there, broken by a number of days travel to another NZ location, was the extent of Chris and her husband Roydon's exceptional hospitality. This not only included their cordial welcome and continuing concern for our comfort but picking us up and taking us back to the Christchurch airport at very late and very early hours. When we expressed an interest in the progress of the earthquake rebuilding now going on in Christchurch, on the trip to Sumner, Roydon took us for a ride through the central business district, and we found his commentary, as a native of the city, especially insightful. Most hosts wouldn't have met us at the airport at this late an late hour or, if they had, would have taken us directly to the apartments.

Honestly, we hated to leave--both because of the excellence of the apartment, but equally because of the warm hospitality of Chris and Roydon. From our experience as Americans who travel a good deal, this is a pretty rare combination! We could not recommend the Re Treat more enthusiastically!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Manager at Sumner Re Treat, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Hi Don and Dottie, Thank you so much for the wonderful review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Maybe one day we will get over your side of the world and have a look around.
Take care, Chris and Roydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Comfortable, luxurious and spotlessly clean apartment in a beach village, central to everywhere in the Canterbury region.
The apartments are well positioned and short walks to restaurants, cafes, shops & beach.
Hosts and owners Chris and Roydon are so hospitable and provide exceptional service and attention to detail.
We enjoyed our last days in New Zealand enjoying time as a family in comfort with the sounds of the surf. It was a highlight of our trip in the South Island.
Thank you so very much, the King Family.

Room Tip: The apartment block from the secure underground carpark, the soundproof apartments to the roof top p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NKZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Manager at Sumner Re Treat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Good afternoon Neil and family,
Thank you for the great review, it is very much appreciated. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and you arrived home safely.
Maybe one day we may see you back in Christchurch.
Take care
Chris and Roydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My two biggest disappointments about this luxury suite were that I don't live there full time and that I only got to experience the suite for about 12 hours since I had an early morning trip planned. Other than that, the place was amazing. First off, a big Thank You to Chris who as extremely welcoming. She showed us into the suite and we were all blown away. Totally modern, beautifully decorated and the kind of place that would find a place in a high end interior design magazine. There was a bottle of wine on the counter along with some very yummy pieces of cake and some food in the refrigerator (yogurt, milk, orange juice). King size bed in one room, two single beds in the other room. Two full bathrooms, full sized washer and dryer and fully kitchen. Place was just perfect. We did not get to visit the area much but there were about half a dozen restaurants in the area. Keep in mind that Sumner is about a 15 minute drive from the center of Christchurch and the road is a bit windy and under construction in some parts. Too bad it was such a short stay but if you want to relax in luxury, this has to be a place for you to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveleasier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Manager at Sumner Re Treat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Good Morning Jeffery and family,
What a lovely surprise to read your wonderful review, thank you so much.
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, yes it was a shame it was so short. I hope you had a great balloon flight, I was watching the weather and it would of been a perfect flight.
Enjoy the rest of your holiday and we wish you a safe and enjoyable trip home.
Chris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

When Chirs - the owner/manager - opened the doors to our apartment - we couldn't believe our spectacular it was. The decor was exquisite, it was spotlessly clean and Chris has thought of everything to make your vacation memorable. She had even baked muffins for us for breakfast! You feel like you are staying in pure luxury! We had perfect weather and walked acrooss the street to the beach, it is such a nice little beachside town i didn't even know existed. With the devistation left in the wake of the earthquake in Christchurch, Sumner was a nice escape. Thanks again Chris!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lainey555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Owner at Sumner Re Treat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Good Morning Lainey,

WOW, what a fantastic review, thank you so much. We are really pleased you enjoyed your time here with us at Sumner Re Treat. We aim to give every guest the very best of us and our property.
Sumner is a beautiful little village, especially having the beach only a few minutes away.

Maybe we will see you again in the future.

Thank you again. Have a happy life.
Chris and Roydon Smart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

You walk in and don't want to leave. It is so nice, so well set up. Full kitchen, laundry, lovely shower and surround sound. Breakfast in the fridge and lovely hosts. A welcome sight too for our Aussie bridesmaid and flower girl who got in at midnight!! Definitely would come back again. We stayed in 4 places in Christchurch just cause we didn't know the places well and this was a stand out. It is a bit away from the airport, but worth it. The beach is just round the corner and plenty of takeaway shops and a small supermarket too. Very handy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sologirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Manager at Sumner Re Treat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

Thank you for your review. They are always valuable to us.
Regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We had a wonderful time in this very lovely Hotel the modern kitchen bathrooms and bedrooms
were very enjoyable and well equiped
The hosts are a fantastic couple nothing being a problem
Everyday was a pleasure staying at The Sumner Retreat
Would highly reccomend these units

Ian & Robyn

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iannrobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G, Manager at Sumner Re Treat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

Thank you for your review.
Regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
8.7 mi away
175 Metropolitan Executive Motel on Riccarton
6.3 mi away
Southwark Apartments
Southwark Apartments
#13 of 108 in Christchurch
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Petit Hotel Sumner
Le Petit Hotel Sumner
#12 of 141 in Christchurch
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sumner Bay Motel
Sumner Bay Motel
#70 of 146 in Christchurch
41 reviews
11 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
786 reviews
6.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sumner Re Treat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sumner Re Treat

Address: 1 Wakefield Avenue | Corner of Wakefield Avenue and Marriner Street., Christchurch 8081, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: £63 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sumner Re Treat 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sumner Re Treat is a privately owned and operated business. We pride ourselves on excellent service, excellent quality of our 5 apartments. We have an exceptionally high standard of chattels and decor and cleanliness and have everything the traveler and holiday maker requires to enjoy their stay. Our apartments have been renovated in August 2017. The apartments have sound proof walls, ducted heating and cooling system. The kitchens are fully self contained. There is a full laundry. We offer a "Baby Package", cot, highchair etc for your baby. We have a solar heated swimming pool and a heated spa on the top deck (3rd Floor). Sumner Re Treat is located a 5 minute walk from Christchurch's best beach area. There are many restaurants and cafes in the village. A movie theatre, library, supermarket, pharmacy. Beautiful view from the top deck of the surrounding area. Come and let Roydon and Chris host your stay, we look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Sumner Re Treat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing