We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai,Great Spice and Flavours”
Review of Thai Container

Thai Container
Ranked #25 of 1,004 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$12
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Description: We are a relocated restaurant from the city due to the earthquakes. After the Earthquakes we managed to start up again this time as a takeaway with outdoor seating and making great use of a 40ft container which we converted to a 40ft Kitchen, Our Chefs are still serving restaurant quality food, at takeaway prices. We have a busy little spot so wait times can average between 5-15mins for your meal , txt orders are a good way to go on a wet day ... We look forward to seeing you here. Just remember when placing feedback ..If you have had a problem let us know straight away so we can resolve it, it's hard to be given a opportunity to fix things if you don't tell us.
Christchurch
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Thai,Great Spice and Flavours”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Rocking up here and seeing lots of people is always a good sign,and the food didn't dissapoint with lots of flavour and spice a really good wee thai caravan.The best thai I have had in Christchurch for a long time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MontyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    115
    39
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“*heavy breathing* taste sensation!!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Besides the food, thai container has the best customer service in ChCh. Couldn't fault a single dish i've had!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Spectacular takeaway Thai ”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Wow! Who would have thought that I could sit on a picnic bench on the side of Beoley Ave, watching the cars go by while eating out of a styro container with a plastic spork, on a cool but pleasant evening and have one of the most spectacular takeaway dishes I've ever had.

Bonus points for feeding and watering 3 of us for $50. Wifeys 1st Thai, but we'll definitely be making the trip in again.

Helpful?
1 Thank ViralPoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Its alright”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I went to this place for a quick lunch and had they're laksa and it was okay and not spectacular as I expected from other reviewers. It's a bit on the pricier side for Thai takeaway in my opinion

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Super freshly cooked Thai food. Service was really slick and this place is obviously very popular. Would highly recommend it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Container also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Thai Container? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing