We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Breakfast - Pleasant Environment”

Procope Coffee House
Ranked #10 of 46 Coffee & Tea in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Procope is an iconic Christchurch cafe. We are now in a new building on Fendalton Rd (on the way to the airport from the city). Our coffee is roasted locally at Hummingbird and we have 6 varieties to take home. We have a range of cabinet food which changes daily as well as a breakfast and lunch menu. We are licensed with a focus on local beer, cider and wine.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
129 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast - Pleasant Environment”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a modern cafe with cabinet food and also a great breakfast and lunch menu. I had Eggs Benedict which was the best I have had for some time. One person had Mushroom scramble Egg with gluten free bread. The other had the Banana and Bacon Panckes. They were all very happy with their breakfast. Everyone left feeling very full. Very good coffee. Excellent service.

Go upstairs - very roomy and sunny with a bit of a view. The sun streamed in. There were blinds that took care of the glare. This looks very new and fresh.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    27
    5
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
394 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Have been here few times and each time have had great coffee. The baristas know what they are doing and it shows! Our last visit however, we came for lunch and although they have a great selection of cabinet food, I again had the beautiful middle eastern lamb salad. It is surely the pomegranate dressing that really make this and it is a divine marriage of texture and taste. As always, great service and great taste. Plenty of space, with seating upstairs and downstairs.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buckoinchch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
142 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Enjoyed this”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Nice quiet coffee on a Saturday morning while the girls were next door. Very pleasant surroundings and a warm welcome. Do they have scented menu's? Couldn't quite work it out?

Helpful?
Thank ViralPoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Coffee”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I wasn't sure if this would be as good as their origanal cafe in Victoria St. Excellent staff. Great coffee and food. Very well priced.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank wayne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“gem in the west”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We found this small coffee house on the corner of Fendalton and Clyde Rd's quite by chance.

The premises are small but very comfortable. Service is far above average and for this reason alone we had snacks and coffee on a number of occasions.

The staff looked after customers exceedingly well and next time we are in Christchurch, Procope's will be our " morning cappu" hangout.

Anna and david

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Procope Coffee House also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Procope Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing