We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced and stuffy room, poor location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colombo in the City
Ranked #14 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Unfortunately due to earthquake the surrounding area still resembles a bit of a bomb site and it is a good fifteen to twenty minute walk into the main city or what is left of it. Small room with no air con did not justify the price. I would not recommend as we stayed at much better motels in New Zealand which cost less and had air con.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

This is a great option for a place to stay in christchurch. Close to city centre, friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, parking, good wifi. A little on the pricier side for what you get, but it's not offensive. The bathroom is a little small, and not the motels fault at all but if you are unaware, Colombo st was the worst hit in the earthquakes, so Colombo st itself is a nightmare. Making it a one way street and thus a little more difficult to find. I would recommend this motel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Devin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Friendly reception and well located near the center. Owners helped us out with places to go, restaurants and transport. Clean nice room. Bed with a good mattress. Really enjoyed our stay there. Whe you have the chance go on the bike tour!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MattheusAlto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a long weekend. It was everything we had heard about and more. Sparkling clean, close to town, and the owners were so helpful pointing out the best places to eat and things to do.
We stayed in a large room on the ground floor, really comfy bed, black leather sofas and flat screen tv too!
Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Good location, close to town, with free parking. Really warm welcome, with lots of information given about area. Room was bright and clean had everything you need. We has tried to book a hostel without any luck but glad we ended up staying here instead.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madge79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stay here two nights and enjoyed the quiet comfort of the room. Good wifi coverage and a comfortable bed, small but adequate bathroom. Good off street parking. A very well run motel with friendly people

Room Tip: The are probably all OK at the moment with the bridge closed and not much taffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We spent our first night in New Zealand at the Colombo in the City and had an excellent stay. The owners were fantastic and gave us a clear guide on where to go in the city. The accommodation was very spacious and clean. I would definitely recommend it as it is not far from the airport and within walking distance of the centre.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,016 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
689 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#15 of 146 in Christchurch
431 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#33 of 146 in Christchurch
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo in the City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo in the City

Address: 863 Colombo Street | City Centre, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#16 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £74 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colombo in the City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Colombo in the City Christchurch Motel and Apartments, Christchurch. This quiet, modern and 5 star complex is centrally situated in the Garden City. Colombo in the City is the ultimate place to stay, extremely close to Christchurch Center, the Town Hall and Casino. Only a few minutes walk to Cathedral Square the hub of this vibrant and beautiful city which offers fantastic attractions, visit our re-start shops and see the rebuild of our city plus quality restaurants and cafes You will be spoiled for choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Colombo in the City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombo In The City Hotel Christchurch
Colombo In The City Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing