We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice & Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colombo in the City
Ranked #11 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Almere, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Nice & Clean”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The staff is very friendly and explain very well where you can go around the city. Sadly Christchurch is still not what it used to be. But there's still a lot of interesting things to see, even seeing the city being renovated.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    89
    21
    6
    1
See reviews for
70
177
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keynsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed in this Motel in January 2014. Accommodation is still in short supply in the city after the earthquake in 2011. They are just starting to rebuild. The location, just outside the red zone was great as we were able to get around the centre of Christchurch without needing a car.

The owners were very helpful with tips on where to go and where to buy provisions. They also had a great accessible room on the ground floor and as we were on a flight that arrived early in the morning they allowed us to sign in and occupy the accommodation in the morning at no extra charge which was really kind.

There is a well designed kitchenette, free WiFi and car parking so it is a good package. Support Christchurch there is still a lot to see in the area.

Room Tip: If you are able ask for an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheelchairmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Colombo in the City in Christchurch! The staff were very friendly and accommodating and were able to assist us with our very late check in. We were provided with good tips on what to do in the local area and how to get around without spending a fortune!

The rooms were comfortable and very clean. The kitchenette was very handy too! The free Wi-Fi worked very well and the free car parking was another added extra which made our trip easier and more comfortable.

We would recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs which was nice as we had an elevated view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I travel to Christchurch on business often, following the earthquake all the main hotels were closed or destroyed so I choose this motel. I stayed regularly for about 18 months. The motel is very clean and well appointed, the owners are lovely. The price is probably a little high but with the lack of accommodation in Christchurch you have to expect that, especially so close to the city. I would recommend CIC to business and family travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The photos on the website don't do this hotel any justice, it is much nicer than it looks. We had one of the upstairs rooms which had the bedroom up a flight of stairs which was really nice. Had everything we needed, the bathroom is a touch on the small side as others have mentioned but it is perfectly adequate. All of the consturction work meant we had an early start due to the road being dug up outside but these things happen and it didn't ruin the stay at all.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 101ED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Very comfortable and clean rooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the motel is within walking distance to the city center. Wifi is free and works fine. All in all it was above our expectations and would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisi_S73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Everything to like. Large rooms, fully equipped; the facilities were above our expectations. Cosy, relaxing rooms and porches. Walking distance to city. Highly recommended.
......................................................................

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanLaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.5 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo in the City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo in the City

Property: Colombo in the City
Address: 863 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#16 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colombo in the City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Russell & Henri welcome you to Colombo in the City Christchurch Motel and Apartments, Christchurch. This quiet, modern and 5 star complex is centrally situated in the Garden City. Colombo in the City is the ultimate place to stay, extremely close to Christchurch Centre, the Town Hall and Casino. Only a few minutes walk to Cathedral Square the hub of this vibrant and beautiful city which offers fantastic attractions, visit our re-start shops and see the rebuild of our city plus quality restaurants and cafes You will be spoiled for choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Colombo in the City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombo In The City Hotel Christchurch
Colombo In The City Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing