We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colombo in the City
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pavilions Hotel(Christchurch)
Free cancellation until 31/05
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Palms Motel(Christchurch)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)
Free cancellation until 01/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Argyle on the Park(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/06
US$289
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveller rating
265
110
24
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
110
24
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskitchenette areaspa bathexcellent motelsky tvstudio roomnew zealandwithin walking distancedvd playercathedral squareplace to stayrecommend staying hereminute walksized bedtwo nightsfree wifismall kitchenenjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 406 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The staff is very friendly and explain very well where you can go around the city. Sadly Christchurch is still not what it used to be. But there's still a lot of interesting things to see, even seeing the city being renovated.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed in this Motel in January 2014. Accommodation is still in short supply in the city after the earthquake in 2011. They are just starting to rebuild. The location, just outside the red zone was great as we were able to get around the centre of Christchurch without needing a car.

The owners were very helpful with tips on where to go and where to buy provisions. They also had a great accessible room on the ground floor and as we were on a flight that arrived early in the morning they allowed us to sign in and occupy the accommodation in the morning at no extra charge which was really kind.

There is a well designed kitchenette, free WiFi and car parking so it is a good package. Support Christchurch there is still a lot to see in the area.

Room Tip: If you are able ask for an upstairs room
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wheelchairmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Colombo in the City in Christchurch! The staff were very friendly and accommodating and were able to assist us with our very late check in. We were provided with good tips on what to do in the local area and how to get around without spending a fortune!

The rooms were comfortable and very clean. The kitchenette was very handy too! The free Wi-Fi worked very well and the free car parking was another added extra which made our trip easier and more comfortable.

We would recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs which was nice as we had an elevated view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I travel to Christchurch on business often, following the earthquake all the main hotels were closed or destroyed so I choose this motel. I stayed regularly for about 18 months. The motel is very clean and well appointed, the owners are lovely. The price is probably a little high but with the lack of accommodation in Christchurch you have to expect that, especially so close to the city. I would recommend CIC to business and family travellers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The photos on the website don't do this hotel any justice, it is much nicer than it looks. We had one of the upstairs rooms which had the bedroom up a flight of stairs which was really nice. Had everything we needed, the bathroom is a touch on the small side as others have mentioned but it is perfectly adequate. All of the consturction work meant we had an early start due to the road being dug up outside but these things happen and it didn't ruin the stay at all.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank 101ED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews