We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colombo in the City
Ranked #9 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome week”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We spent a wonderful week at Columbo in the City. The central location was excellent for exploring the city, on foot or by car. The motel was unbelievably quiet, clean and well serviced every day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    93
    21
    6
    1
See reviews for
70
185
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very close to the heart of Christchurch, this property is ideal for corporate customers but it's also handy to shopping and dining options in the city. Modern and beautifully maintained, it is also very quiet, especially given its proximity to a busy thoroughfare. Affable hosts complete the package, can recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteM289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tapanui
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights while in christchurch for ellie goulding concert lovely comfortable room nice and tidy. the only place I have ever stayed that has milo in the complimentary tea/coffee box!! Only thing I disliked was being unable bto connect to the wifi in my room other than that was a great place to stay. Staff were very polite and helpful thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamz_Sargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were fortunate enough to visit Christchurch and experience the aftermath of a significant earthquake. Fortunate enough, yes, because we got to experience the resilience of its people
and their fortitude. You walk around a flattened cityscape in awe and need at the end of the day to have time to relax, contemplate and digest what you have seen. Colombo provided that comfort and quiet and normality. Thank-you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Staying here for business trip. Very impressed. Staff very friendly and helpful, recommended a great restaurant, they even called ahead and got us a reservation even though the restaurant was booked up. Also lent us umbrellas for the walk. Rooms are a good size, heaters and electric blankets were pre-heated for us upon arrival, and really clean. Great # of tv channels, free wifi, good kitchen, biscuits and mints a nice touch. Well priced as well.
Central location. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alimac78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here in a studio unit for one night at the conclusion of our holiday. Being a studio unit, the room wasn't huge, but it was very clean, furnished to a high standard and nice and modern.

Compact but everything we needed was included.

I do remember that the toiletries were also premium products , which was nice.

Walked into Christchurch easily from the motel, so good location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassidy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kawasaki, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

At first glance from the street this looked like an unimpressive motel, but it quickly became apparent that my first impression was incorrect. The rooms are fantastic and spacious - our room came with a nice kitchen area, a comfortable sofa, a new television with a multitude of channels, a clean and modern shower/toilet, and a staircase leading to a second floor with two excellent beds and an ample supply of pillows.

The staff was friendly, and the man at reception gave us an annotated map to help orient us and then offered some recommendations for a walking tour of the city. The motel is only a few blocks away from the city center, and at first it was eerie walking through the quiet streets past damaged and demolished buildings... but the spirit and vibrancy of the city are very much alive and there are signs of rebirth along with plenty of interesting artwork to behold.

I'm not sure what the public transit connections are like in the area, but it is easy enough to get from the motel to points beyond the city center by car.

The only quibble I have is that even though our room was set back from the street, there was still quite a lot of noise from passing traffic and I had trouble falling asleep... until I realized that one of the windows was cracked open. It was fine with the window shut.

Unfortunately we only had one night here at the end of our tour of the South Island, but I certainly wish we could have extended our trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 144 in Christchurch
1,778 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 144 in Christchurch
404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
619 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,315 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo in the City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo in the City

Property: Colombo in the City
Address: 863 Colombo Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#10 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#16 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colombo in the City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Russell & Henri welcome you to Colombo in the City Christchurch Motel and Apartments, Christchurch. This quiet, modern and 5 star complex is centrally situated in the Garden City. Colombo in the City is the ultimate place to stay, extremely close to Christchurch Centre, the Town Hall and Casino. Only a few minutes walk to Cathedral Square the hub of this vibrant and beautiful city which offers fantastic attractions, visit our re-start shops and see the rebuild of our city plus quality restaurants and cafes You will be spoiled for choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Colombo in the City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombo In The City Hotel Christchurch
Colombo In The City Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing