We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient.”
Review of Aloha Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aloha Motel
Ranked #137 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Perfect for a short stay, clean and well appointed.
Would recommend, would stay again. Close to airport., manager waited up for us to arrive after a late flight, which was a nice touch.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
4  Thank Liamri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2011

excellent motel with great staff the manager was very helpful and really looked after us very clean accommodation and spa bath and free internet was a plus

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mwallis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

It was a very busy weekend in Christchurch, so do didn't have much choice really. The motel was reasonably well appointed and clean enough. The location is OK. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nztraveller6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

We stayed at Aloha, based on a good experience the last time we came to Christchurch and used them. Sadly most the motels in this area look like they were squeezed out of the same mould..so you can be excused for not finding it , first attempt!
After searching up and down streets, we found this the cheapest in its price bracket.Most others were charging $175 for a family of 4. Far too much, when we had just come back from Bali...this felt like a years salary in comparison to what we paid over there!
We liked the security features...you get an entry card to unlock the door, which also activates the power and lights in the room! Good, if you can be sure to keep it safe while out shopping! It is around the size of a key fob.
The rooms are pleasant enough.Carpeted floors, mini , well stocked kitchen , with fridge, microwave and a plug in cooker.there is also a oven top.The supermarket is not far away, so you can heat and eat any thing you like! Or in our case, we heated take out Indian, and the kids had Mc donalds...also not far away.
The bathroom has a shower and large bath with spa option..BRILLIANT, a hit with all of us, even though the kids were the only one to use this feature. The shower is in the same large bath, you just adjust a knob and you have a shower than can be detached from the wall.
There is a hairdryer .
Forgot to mention...you can have access to laundry which has a free computer to use, with internet going , play area in back for the kids .We were able to get international plug for my gadgets that needed charging from BAli...free of charge to use this. They also allowed me to plug in a cable and use the internet from your room.They give you a password.
This room we got had a dining table by the kitchen...small but excellant to have it self contained.
The living area has a pull down sofa bed, comfy as a sofa, but a little creaky as an adult...yes, the kids were meant to sleep here! sigh!
There is a large wall mounted tv which has many channels, just not sure what they were on the sky channel as the numbers did not match!
The staff changed towels daily, and they were always warm and soft.
The seperate room was good with blanket box, wardrobe and queen sized bed and bedside tables and lamps.all tidy.

Only faults... we think the hairdryer is very unsafe being mounted above the toilet and beside the hand basin.......chances of someone getting electrocuted are very high!
.............................................. The bed underlay is looking a little worse for wear, fight with the lawnmower comes to mind!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onefabknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

When we were looking at the motel on the internet we thought wow!!! this looks wonderful and the price is great... but i was wrong. For starters all of the Cuttlery, Glasses, Plates and Cups were all dirty. There was lipstick on one glass and food on the cuttlery. The bath had someone elses hair in it and the toilet looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months not to mension the broken toilet seat. The "so called" spa bath was loud when it was turned on and had dirt and grime all around the edges. Also the "so called" Queen size bed was actually 2 singles pushed to gether and was the worse sleep myself and my husband had ever had.

I am a receptionest for one of the finest Motels on The West Coast and I know what to expect from a standered Motel Room. And this place was far from it. How hard is it to make sure the dishes are washed properly???

Not Happy!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShiningStarHokitika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2006

The hotel is vey conveniently located and is clean well equiped. The rooms are a bit small but comfortable. Parking is right outside the rooms which can be a bit problematic at times as the front door and panels are glass.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Mulays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
3.8 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,995 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
3.8 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#135 of 146 in Christchurch
73 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 108 in Christchurch
499 reviews
2.6 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Motel

Address: 68 Main South Road | Upper Riccarton, Christchurch 8042, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £69 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aloha Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing