We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the price but needs a bit of maintenance from its owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester Street Backpackers
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed at Chester street for 4 nights and enjoyed the stay there over all. What could be a great backpackers is only an average one due to lack of maintenance. Hot water ran out in the kitchen everyday by lunch time,bathroom sink hot taps leaked, maybe this was the reason there was a lake of hot water. Also the double room outside had french doors opening out to the backyard which could not be locked. Electicity kept going off in the kitchen and the microwave didnt always start and required you to turn it off then back on to get it going. Most of the bad revolves around the kitchen which had limited bench space and a rubbish bin smaller than most houses would have. It was obvious this was ran by backpackers not the owners.The good side was the it was warm in a good location and the staff were friendly and kept the place clean.

Room Tip: one double room is outside its big but requires you to walk through the back yard to the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

The helper was very friendly. The kitchen could use more cleaning, but did the job.
The room was sizey and comfortable, as was the common room. It's in a good location for all the sights when the city is finally rebuilt.
The free local calls were very useful when we were trying to get a rental car, although we had to say no thanks to the owner trying to sell us one of his cars.
Overall a decent enough place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deaduncleted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Do
- decorated house
- big kitchen
- staff friendly
- cute cat
- warm bed
- Quiet
Don't
- a little far from central
- No hair dryer

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eakkapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

Its an ok hostel but dont, for the love of god, buy a van from the guy who runs the hostel.
He sold me and my partner an absolute lemon. The staff told us that he only sold reliable vans and like total chumps we believed them. He's a liar and he obviously gets his staff to perpetate his lies. When i went to get it WOFed 6 months later i was told by the mechanic that it had a dodgy Wof and that it was a death trap. Ive read other reviews saying the same about other vans hes sold so dont, whatever you do, buy a van from this conman. He seems to be one of these people who thinks the lives of travellers are less valuble the lives of Kiwis.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Manny05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Xabe001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen L, Owner at Chester Street Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank BellaMargot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen L, Owner at Chester Street Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#10 of 108 in Christchurch
246 reviews
2 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 108 in Christchurch
505 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Countryhouse
The Old Countryhouse
#20 of 108 in Christchurch
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Haka Lodge Christchurch
Haka Lodge Christchurch
#4 of 108 in Christchurch
203 reviews
1 mi away
KIWI basecamp
KIWI basecamp
#16 of 108 in Christchurch
156 reviews
0.9 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 108 in Christchurch
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Street Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Street Backpackers

Address: 148 Chester Street East, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chester Street. We are a small 15 person hostel set up for the true independent traveler in a lovely old colorful kiwi villa. No bus groups here! Less than 10 minutes walk from Cathedral Square along the tree lined Avon River. Budget sleeper vans & cars also available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing