We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How about a visit to Grandma's?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chester Street Backpackers
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Well - here we are at Chester Street Backpackers in Christchurch. What a delightful place! There is a ginger cat called Vinnie, comfortable living room with sink- in chairs and sofas. The house is on a quiet street - painted in reds and oranges. The kitchen has an in credible selection of herbs and spices as well as other condiments available for all to use.
If you want to feel cosy and at home - then this is your place

I love this place! Very nice vibe - and an amazing cafe just around the corner - The Beat Cafe - excellent breakfast

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinpasangmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

A cute cosy hostel, with nice big rooms, felt very homely we stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay, kitchen and bathrooms were clean and tidy. There was parking out the front and was on a quiet Road. The only thing it lacked was an atmosphere, everyone kept themselves to themselves so it wasn't as friendly and easy to chat to others as it has been in other hostels. But we enjoyed our stay and would definitely return if back in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg-NZmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Chester St Backpackers is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. It is clean, quiet and very cozy. The staff is friendly and helps you with anything. The facilities are spacious and nicely done up. There is herb garden with heaps of herbs to choose from.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Over the course of the last couple of weeks I have stayed at Chester St Backpackers three times - I'm starting to feel like a piece of the furniture.

Wonderfully situated in a quiet street (roadworks excepted but you can't blame them for the ongoing work happening in Christchurch), the hostel is just 10 minutes walk from the centre of the city. Well, what remains of the city anyway.

Some might think that the hostel looks a little tired, but if you had lived through major earthquakes and were battling insurance companies to get back up to pre-earthquake condition you'd be tired too. But if you look past this and appreciate Christchurch as a city on the mend then you will embrace this hostel as a city oasis.

Most city hostels can be a little bland and soulless. Not so here, where you will find a pleasant, friendly and relaxed atmosphere which is more akin to small hostels you will find in more rural areas.

All of the facilities are clean and the beds are comfy so a good night's sleep is guaranteed. There's a lovely front lounge for relaxing and getting to know your fellow travellers and the staff.

However, like many places, it's the people who make it special. Due to Christchurch's sad state, I really wasn't looking forward to spending time in the city and used my stays here to get to other places in Canterbury like Hanmer Springs and Mt Cook. Yet having been here for a few days now and having gotten to know the staff (and the city better), I now find myself sad to leave tomorrow.

So, a massive thanks to Emma, Anthony, Laureen, Vinnie and especially to Laura for their kindness and for making me feel so welcome. You guys are the best.

p.s. Christchurch is always really busy so if you wish to stay here, and you really should, book ahead.

p.p.s. Don't feed Vinnie.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I've stayed at Chester Street numerous times and I always enjoy coming back here. The hostel is clean and quiet and away from the bustle of the city yet close enough for the necessities. Beds are comfy and the kitchen is well appointed. The staff is always helpful and welcoming. If you are beginning your NZ journey or ending it, Chester Street is always a great place to be. Thanks folks!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I was only here for one night before renting a campervan. Chester Street is clean, cozy, and quiet nestled on neighborhood streets near the city center. It isn't the friendliest place but has a very homey feel and is a great place to unwind. Easy to get to from the airport with the bus and a short walk. The kitchen and gardens are charming. Christchurch is still devastated from the 2010 earthquake but make sure you check out the fill the gap projects throughout the city which are an incredible creative community effort towards restoration.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brittany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Nice little place near the town center. Stayed there a few times now, hoping to see fire breathing dragons(being a big fantasy fan)…still waiting :(
Staff is friendly and interacting.

Good place to be!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wim1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#10 of 108 in Christchurch
246 reviews
2 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 108 in Christchurch
505 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Countryhouse
The Old Countryhouse
#20 of 108 in Christchurch
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Haka Lodge Christchurch
Haka Lodge Christchurch
#4 of 108 in Christchurch
203 reviews
1 mi away
KIWI basecamp
KIWI basecamp
#16 of 108 in Christchurch
156 reviews
0.9 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 108 in Christchurch
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester Street Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester Street Backpackers

Address: 148 Chester Street East, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chester Street. We are a small 15 person hostel set up for the true independent traveler in a lovely old colorful kiwi villa. No bus groups here! Less than 10 minutes walk from Cathedral Square along the tree lined Avon River. Budget sleeper vans & cars also available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing