We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the worst backpacker in nz”
Review of Foley Towers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Foley Towers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2013

we spend a night here, without sleeping, it was so noisy, party in the guarden until 2 on the morning, the hostel in close to the firemen and every time they leave they wake you up with the truck and the bell....
We try the kitchen and our feet get stuck on the floor because of the oil,and other food rest...
we had a double room, they are outdoor and if you need to go to the bathroom you have to cross the garden that is not so nice in winter

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juju r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foley T, Owner at Foley Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Dear Juju r

I am so sorry to hear that you had such an unpleasant experience at Foley Towers last year in July 2012.

We care very much about both the quality of our guests' sleep and the cleanliness of all our facilities. Our kitchens are thoroughly cleaned twice a day and our managers do their very best to keep night time noise to a minimum.

We had a very difficult situation last winter with a group of long termers who were working in Christchurch helping with the re-build. Although from overseas they were not our typical guests and had little respect for the cleanliness or quiet at Foley Towers. We now limit the number of people staying and working in Christchurch.

We hope that should you come back to Christchurch you might try Foley Towers again and find it a good place to stay.

Kind regards,
Janet Foley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

I stayed 1 night in a 3 bed rooms at Foley on a Saturday night. The room was big enough and the bedding was great with really comfortable beds. However, there were no light bulbs in the showers, so it was really hard to shower at night. Kitchen was ok but a bit small. Unless you speak german, it's hard to talk to anyone, perhaps I was just unlucky...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex231187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This hostel has several buildings around a garden. What is great to relax, having dinner or do a barbecue. The rooms were fine, a little too dark, but clean. The only downside is that many of the rooms (not all) open onto the garden and you have to go outside to use the bathroom. The two kitchens and two living rooms don't look like a hotel, are very cozy and really make the place a home away from home. The owners and staff are very friendly and you can tell they enjoy what they do. Easy parking on the street and they have a private parking too. I recommend this place for either young backpackers and travelers over.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoihe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

friendly staff , calm environment and very nice garden.A pity that we couldn't visit Christchurch cathedral and several other old buildings but we understand this because of the earthquake of 2011.parking before the building.

Room Tip: book rooms at the opposite of the building and garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erwin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We just enjoyed our second stay at Foley Towers on 28 March 2013 - we last stayed there in July 2012.
We returned as it is excellent value for an en-suite room in central Christchurch. Its basic, but quite adequate!
Staff were very friendly and helpful ...& we heard them looking after a backpacker who arrived very late at night without a booking.
After a 5 day roadtrip around the south island we had collected a lot of rubbish & utilised their excellent recycling facilities.
Thanks again guys!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bodmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I stayed at Foley Towers in late May and thought it was awesome. The staff are friendly and helpful and the place is clearly really well looked after and run with a good deal of pride. It's obvious that the owners really love the place. The kitchens are really good - clean and well-equipped, with a few extras that really help when backpackers are trying to scratch up a meal (like a nice supply of spices). They have good recycling facilities too, which are often lacking in other places. The dining and lounge areas are also nice - comfortable, inviting, and very cozy.

The bedroom and bathroom was also very good. They were kind of old and slightly dark, with furniture from the 70s BUT immaculately clean, which makes all the difference. The bed was comfortable too and there was very good underfloor heating, so I was really happy with the room. And the nice thing is that the room opened out onto a garden / courtyard area, where there is also seating for a fine day. In fact as far as I could tell, all of the rooms open out onto this area (and another similar one on the other side of the building). So this gives the whole place a nice communal, relaxed feeling.

The only reason I haven't give this 4 stars was that it could benefit from slightly nicer furniture in the bedrooms, and there was no soap or towels in the bathroom - you often don't get towels in a hostel, but I would have expected some information at check-in (or perhaps posted in the room) about whether they are available for hire. I would also prefer that there is an additional blanket in the room - they were happy to supply me with one, but you might not find out you need it until it is too late at night to ask.

These are all very minor points though. I'd thoroughly recommend the hostel, and won't hesitate to go back if I am in Christchurch again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghCat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I stayed at Foley Towers for two nights at the beginning of April. I found the reception staff extremely friendly, helpful and efficient. There was lots of travel booklets and information in the reception area, a book exchange, an area for backpackers to leave items they no longer wanted, 2 kitchens, a dining area and 2 lounges. There was a friendly atmosphere and it felt like a 'purposeful' hostel - I didn't see many travellers lounging around all day doing nothing.

I was in a 3 bed share room. There was a sink in the room and there was enough space for all our backpacks. Each bed had an individual reading light and a bedside table. My bed was warm and comfortable. The pillow was great!There was a useful drying line running past the rooms and clean kitchens.

However I did find the room itself and the shower room cold. There were signs up saying underfloor heating was used but I couldn't feel it. The rooms didn't have lockers and there was no free wi fi at the hostel. There was also no supermarket close by if that's important to your stay.

All in all I had a good stay at this friendly hostel and would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homeward2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.9 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#4 of 111 in Christchurch
506 reviews
2.5 mi away
Haka Lodge Christchurch
Haka Lodge Christchurch
#3 of 111 in Christchurch
205 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#10 of 111 in Christchurch
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,116 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.8 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#133 of 146 in Christchurch
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foley Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foley Towers

Address: 208 Kilmore Street, Christchurch, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: £17 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First try Foley Towers! Fabulously friendly, finest facilities and fantastic value for independent travellers - we just charge less. Gorgeous gardens. Underfloor heating, lashings of hot water, loads of space. Off-street parking and free luggage storage. Bunks in dorm rooms only. Free WiFi. Wonderful winter specials. No loud parties, no backpacker bus crowds or hard sell. Check in after 9pm by arrangement. You can usually extend your stay before 10am if you're too relaxed to move on. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Foley Towers Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing