We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and clean hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foley Towers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Foley Towers
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely and clean hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Unfortunately we stayed only one night in this backpacker - if we'd known earlier that it would be so clean and the kitchen so lovely equipped we would have stayed longer in Christchurch. The staff is friendly and the rooms very comfortable and quite. A great place to reload energy after travelling through a lot of not so nice accomodations.

Room Tip: No bunks, only shared rooms so you can only get a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Knute88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    37
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
6
39
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed at Foley Towers for about a week, and simply loved the place. The gardens are beautiful and even though the hostel beds quite a few people, it still has a very relaxed atmosphere. The rooms are clean, as are the common bathrooms and kitchens. There's lounges to hang out in and guitars to borrow, and we had quite a few jam sessions with random people, lots of fun. The staff is very helpful and super friendly, and the town center is only a 10 minute walk away. I would stay there anytime, felt very welcome and comfortable - not to speak of the heaps of free stuff other backpackers can drop off in the hostel's free bin, very handy.

Room Tip: The dorms are the cheapest option, but I liked the shares a lot - more space, single beds, less peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzin_anywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Foley Towers for 4 nights on our last days in New Zealand. We wanted place to relax, get clean and repack after living out of a car for several months. Foley Towers was the place to go! Close enough to the city to explore, but far enough away to be quiet and private. We got a double ensuite private room, which was clean, comfy and had our own shower!
The staff were friendly, the facilities cleaned much more than normal hostels (if people only cleaned up after themselves...) and the gardens were beautiful. Very highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NadiaH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leh, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

stayed in this hostel for a couple of nights. very clean, comfortable room, well equipped kitchens, . nice garden set up. friendly and helpful staff. all that for reasonable prices. not for the party crowd i guess, so you get a quiet night sleep. would definetely come back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank galaktikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

This was our first bbh hostel in nz. The room was tiny, the carpet& curtains were old and pretty gross. The bed sheets were disgusting, we slept in our sleeping bags.

The receptionists (a german couple) were unplesent and I constantly felt like I was bothering them if I had any questions. But I belive they already left by now

What wascreally nice about the hostel is the garden.
But overall its poor value for the money. Weve had much better hostels in new zealand.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank talrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

I spent a couple of weeks in this hostel and enjoyed my stay. There is a choice between dorm rooms with comfortable bunk beds, triple rooms with single beds and twin and double rooms. All rooms come with a sink. There are two kitchens, serveral bathrooms and showers and a big garden to chill out and meet other people. All facilities are kept very clean. Wifi internet is available but quiet expensive. The library with free internet access is in walking distance though. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danimaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We were welcomed by friendly easy-going staff. It was a Christmas time and a large Christmas tree in the living room made the place smell wonderful. Our double room was spacious, clean, and quiet. Showers and toilets were clean, as was the kitchen and dining room. There was a composting and recycling system set up in the kitchen.

A few niggles that were largely inconsequential - no towels were provided (we had our own, but it's nice to not have to carry wet towels away with you), the bed mattress springs were a bit tired, and off-street parking was limited (although there is plenty of on-street parking in Christchurch city at the moment).

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.5 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#8 of 111 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
All Stars Inn on Bealey
All Stars Inn on Bealey
#10 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.9 mi away
YHA Christchurch Rolleston House
YHA Christchurch Rolleston House
#23 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.8 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foley Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foley Towers

Property: Foley Towers
Address: 208 Kilmore St, Christchurch, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First try Foley Towers! Fabulously friendly, finest facilities and fantastic value for independent travellers - we just charge less. Gorgeous gardens. Underfloor heating, lashings of hot water, loads of space. Off-street parking and free luggage storage. Bunks in dorm rooms only. Free WiFi. Wonderful winter specials. No loud parties, no backpacker bus crowds or hard sell. Check in after 9pm by arrangement. You can usually extend your stay before 10am if you're too relaxed to move on. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Foley Towers Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing