We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Countryhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I just stay 2 nights in this hostel but I found the place peaceful and cozy.
The room are comfortables, they just need more electrical plugs (only 2 plugs for 4 peoples).
The Old Countryhouse team was welcoming and help me to organize a taxi to Christchurch's airport. They also gave me a lot of informations about Christchurch.
Finally, everything was great : staffs, rooms and peoples.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frenchhomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

It's a very nice hostel. It kind of makes you feel like home. Especially because of the well furnurished kitchens. The whole hostel is very clean and it has nice colours. The location is a bit further away from the city centre but I used that walk as the exercise of the day. I can definately recommand this hostel to everyone!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The house is quite clean and organized. And i could can enjoy some nice old style stuff with wood. But double room with ensuite was little bit expensive i think. Cause room was tidy and Should share kitchen. $130 is not good in my view..
But thanks for friendly staffs:)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minzynalja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Hi there,

Thankyou for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us, especially the facilities and that you had some good conversations with our friendly team. We are sorry you found us a bit too pricey, we think we are resonably priced compared to other simular places in Christchurch. However we will keep that in mind.

We hope your time in Christchurch was memorable!

Kind Regards

The Old Countryhouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Some hostels stand out from others and when you have been on the road for a long time, it is the little things that can make all the difference.
The Old Countryhouse was welcoming, uncluttered and clean.
I stayed in House II, a self contained building which has the effect of making it seem smaller and more friendly. The kitchen was well equipped and well maintained.
I only stayed one night and so did not take advantage of the hot tub. Would have been happy to stay longer. The bus stop into the city is right outside and it is only a short journey.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolButterflyRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We spent a perfectly pleasant week in Christchurch with plenty to explore, historic sights, hills offering fantastic views over Christchurch, good beaches to relax on, and good food. We like staying somewhere outside the city center this hostel fitted the bill perfectly. It is 20 minute by foot from the buzz in the city center but has two cozy cafés nearby as well as a supermarket, some restaurants and some pubs. We loved the garden with all the little seating areas, and the Sauna is very much appreciated this time of the year…

We went to Akaroa which was well worth a visit for anyone who enjoys wandering around in a pretty harbour setting. We did the harbour cruise with Akaroa Dophins which was very informative and well worth the money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This was a recommendation from travellers we met on our trip. It's an independent travelers' favorite and we were lucky to find this hoste land to be able to stary. We recommend to book in advance. Bathrooms are plentiful and very clean. The shaded garden lures you into a world with it's own charm, where you can relax with a glass of wine at the end of the day. It's a little off the tourist circuit, but it's still possible to walk to most city sights and the bus stops outside the hostel.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

This place was a great find: kind and welcoming staff, a lovely big doofa dog and the hostel was well presented with a good setup and well organised. A gang of cleaners turn up polishing the place every morning, and it shows!

The guest house was freshly painted in bright colours. They made the beds and furniture in their own workshop and I wish all hostels would buy their beds, they are just so comfortable and sturdy.

Special thanks to the receptionitsts who gave me a comprehensive list of places where to buy my car and helped me organise cheap insurance for it.

I can only say good things about this hostel and its people and look forward to pop in again over the next few months.

See you soon!

Room Tip: Forget the local information centre in town, just ask the girls at the desk. They really know the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maddison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.5 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#12 of 108 in Christchurch
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#32 of 108 in Christchurch
69 reviews
1.4 mi away
YHA Christchurch Rolleston House
YHA Christchurch Rolleston House
#25 of 108 in Christchurch
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#11 of 108 in Christchurch
129 reviews
1.4 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 108 in Christchurch
210 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#3 of 108 in Christchurch
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Countryhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Countryhouse

Address: 437 Gloucester Street, Christchurch 8062, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: £19 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Old Countryhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well loved,upmarket and Multi Award Winning Backpackers Hostel in Christchurch. We welcome guests from all over the world since 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Old Countryhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Countryhouse Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing