We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An inviting clean and friendly place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Countryhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The family room at this hostel were simple and small, but very clean. The service and namely the friendlyness of the team make this hostel a very nice place to stay over a few days as we did. We will certainly come back.
Very good value for an affordable price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthias L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights last month.I got a 4 shared room, quite small.Clean bathroom and kitchen. It's close to supermarket, fish n chips place, and Subway. The only thing I don't like about this hostel is it is too far from main road.Its about 3km away from Intercity bus stop at Bealey Avenue

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2016

Hi there,

Thankyou for your review of our hostel. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and all of our facilities. We are sorry that our location is not ideal, however intercity terminal has since changed its location and is now at the main bus station. Easily accessed from the public bus service that ges straight past our hostel!

We hope your time in Christchurch was memorable.

Kind Regards

The Old Countryhouse tem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is definitely one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. It is well organised, clean and with lots of personal touches, one of them being lovely big Max, the resident dog.

The large garden and the carpark is a real bonus for a city location and the spa and sauna is definitely and extra treat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I only stayed here for 1 night before my ridiculously early flight back to Sydney (6:00!) So I chose a single room to get a proper sleep. So bear in mind that I wasn't at the hostel that long.

But my impressions where that it was pretty crowded. In the little house at the bank they somehow fit 8-10 rooms. So I wouldn't be surprised if that was 40 or so people. So noise is a little bit of an issue. Having said that, the place is nicely painted, has a nice TV room and kitchen looked pretty decent.

Location is a bit out of the centre, but to be honest you probably do not want to stay in CBD these days *(still 2 years of construction left). Supermarket and fish and chips shops just accross the Rd.

The hostel looses a few points for service for me because
a) Credit card surcharge of $3
b) Incorrect information on booking my airport transfer (they do not take credit card when I was assured that they would) was a tiny bit frustrating as I had to stop at an ATM to withdraw $20 ($5 bank fee too)
c) they take a credit card imprint for a key deposit.

But still... service was ok

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2016

Hi there,

Thankyou for your review of our hostel. We are sorry that noise was an issue during your stay with us, we do ask guests to be considerate of their fellow guests however we unfortunately can never guarentee this. The credit card surcharge is identified in our confirmation emails and our $20 key deposit is important for us considering the cost to replace keys and it means our guests are more vigilliant in returning the keys to reception. We are deeply sorry that we had given you incorrect information for the airport shuttle company, the system for these bookings have since changed, and (hopefully) now easier for our guests.

We are glad you enjoyed the look of our hostel, and the work we have put in to it. We hope your time in Christchurch was a memorable one.

Kind Regards

The Old Countryhouse team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We loved this place when we came here 7 years ago. It was a fantastic hostel back then but they now have taken backpacking to a whole new level. The gardens are nicely established, and they have added a spa area with a sauna and spa pool, what a treat in a hostel.

Everything is well maintained, the kitchen and the bathrooms look like they have just been put in and the villas are well presented. Still the same owners and you can tell they care about the guests and their staff is just as passionate as they are.

For us, there is no other place in Christchurch. We know we found the best, so why go elsewhere and be disappointed?

Room Tip: No matter what room you book, they are all bright and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Very helpful, very clean and quiet. Also, very informative with suggestions about where to go and how to get there. The shower in our rooms (we stayed 2 different times, 2 different rooms). were very clean, great water pressure and temperature for the shower. Also a nice clean laundry room and the dryers actually get the clothes dry. :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I just love this place. superfriendly staff, they really care about the place nd ther customers, not too far from town. It is cute, clean and has a lovely atmosphere.

If you are thinking of staying, I would highly recommend to book as it fills up very quicky.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanessa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.9 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 146 in Christchurch
1,969 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#31 of 146 in Christchurch
938 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 107 in Christchurch
496 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#10 of 107 in Christchurch
237 reviews
1.4 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 107 in Christchurch
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Countryhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Countryhouse

Address: 437 Gloucester Street, Christchurch 8062, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: £13 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Old Countryhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well loved,upmarket and Multi Award Winning Backpackers Hostel in Christchurch. We welcome guests from all over the world since 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Old Countryhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Countryhouse Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing